$171 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Andrew Pinckney Inn

4 stars
40 Pinckney Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
80 reviews
Best hotel in town

This hotel is in the perfect location. To one side you have the Charleston Museum and King Street... See full review

  • Just MeMyselfandI
  • May 14, 2014
great hotel

loved this hotel, great location, nice breakfast on terrace. Very helpful reception See full review

  • jabtw
  • Aug 27, 2013
West Indies style in Charleston boutique hotel
The Andrew Pinckney Inn offers many different types of rooms, each with its own character. The 37 rooms and four suites are decorated West Indies style. The hotel has free wireless Internet access, a state-of-the-art business center and a free continental breakfast served on the rooftop terrace. The three townhouse suites are two floors and have refrigerators. All rooms have flat-screen TVs. Many tours pick up guests right from the Andrew Pinckney Inn's lobby.
Highlights
  • Located in downtown historic district; walking distance to many attractions
  • Three-story, plant-filled atrium
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms
  • St. Philips Suite has a view of the church through the suite's arched glass doors, private balcony and Jacuzzi
Rooms
Rooms at the Andrew Pinckney Inn are decorated in the West Indies style and all have 32-inch flat-screen TVs. The townhouse suites are two stories and the St. Philips Suite has a view of church steeple, a private balcony and a double Jacuzzi tub.

 

Features
Taxi, carriage and rickshaw tours pick up guests right outside the Andrew Pinckney Inn, which has an outdoor courtyard with a lion's head fountain. Guests have complimentary access to Eco Fitness (0.3 mi/0.5 km). There is off-street parking (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
  • Amtrak station (8 mi/12.9 km)

 

Attractions
  • Charleston Visitor Center (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Fort Sumter and Dinner Cruise (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Patriots Point Park (including USS Yorktown) (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • Charleston Area Convention Center (9.5 mi/15.3 km)
  • Magnolia Plantation and Gardens (17 mi/27.4 km)

Business
Business center with high speed internet access, computer, copier and fax

Policies and fees
Smoke-free facility. No pets allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7824 -79.93
Area served
Charleston
Nearby airports
CHS
Area description
Located in close proximity to many of Charleston's attractions. Within a mile of the hotel is the IMAX Theatre, SC Aquarium, Powder Magazine,Old Exchange and Provost Dungeon, Gibbes Museum of Art, Charleston Museum, Confederate Museum and the Nathaniel Russell House.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Andrew Pinckney Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Andrew Pinckney Inn Rooms

Queen Guestroom (Accessible)
You will find our beautifully appointed Queen Guestrooms located in the Church Street Building. These modest sized Charleston accommodations reflect a traditional British West Indies style in a soothing palette of blues and greens accompanied by modern amenities and plush queen bed. All complemented by lovely views of the magnolia-and-hibiscus charm on Church Street or into our three story atrium. Queen Guestroom baths are highlighted with Italian Travertine porcelain tile, granite countertops, and spa quality Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities.
Traditional Guestroom (Double Beds)
Decorated in tasteful hues and furnishings, our spacious Traditional Guestrooms offer a relaxing retreat for guests. Boasting plush bedding and duvet, these Charleston accommodations feature two double beds. The Traditional Guestrooms are outfitted with modern in-room comforts, Italian Travertine porcelain tile and granite countertop bathrooms, and Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities.
Traditional Guestroom (King)
Decorated in tasteful hues and furnishings, our spacious Traditional Guestrooms offer a relaxing retreat for guests. Boasting plush bedding and duvet, these Charleston accommodations feature one king bed. The Traditional Guestrooms are outfitted with modern in-room comforts, Italian Travertine porcelain tile and granite countertop bathrooms, and Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities.
Junior Suite
Our spacious Junior Suites are beautifully appointed with an oversized sitting area complete with sleeper sofa, writing desk, and plush king bed. Located in the three story atrium of the Church Street Building, these Charleston accommodations feature a colorful birds eye view of the rooftops of Charleston. Each Junior Suite is appointed with modern in-room conveniences and Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities.
Cotesworth Suite
The Cotesworth Suite features a king bed and expansive sitting area boasting a comfortable sleeper sofa and chairs. Additional rich wood furnishings, including a separate wring desk, complement the traditional British West Indies color palate of light blues and soothing greens. Sun drenched windows fill the suite with an abundance of natural light and afford views overlooking historic Pinckney Street. The bathroom features a whirlpool tub, granite countertop, and spa quality Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities.
St. Philips Suite
This St. Philips Suite features magnificent views of the Market Street area and St. Philips steeple from the arched glass doors and Juliet balcony. Wrapped in the soothing light blues, sage greens and accented with exposed brick, the one-of-a-kind St. Philips suite abundantly provides both historic and romantic charm. The luxurious bathroom is enhanced with hand-laid Italian Travertine tile, granite countertops, Kohler bath fixtures, and a soaking tub with spa-like shower combination. The suite offers premium in-room comforts and Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities.
Townhouse Suite
Our two story Townhouse Suites feature a downstairs separate living area which boasts a comfortable pullout sleeper sofa, half bath, and wet bar area - complete with mini-refrigerator and microwave. The upstairs master bedroom offers a king size bed and sitting area with writing desk. The full size bath, encased in hand-laid Italian Travertine porcelain tile, features granite countertops, Kohler bath fixtures and spa quality Gilchrist & Soames amenities. The Townhouse Suites are outfitted with a host of modern in-room comforts and amenities.
Queen Guestroom
You will find our beautifully appointed Queen Guestrooms located in the Church Street Building. These modest sized Charleston accommodations reflect a traditional British West Indies style in a soothing palette of blues and greens accompanied by modern amenities and plush queen bed. All complemented by lovely views of the magnolia-and-hibiscus charm on Church Street or into our three story atrium. Queen Guestroom baths are highlighted with Italian Travertine porcelain tile, granite countertops, and spa quality Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • The Black Fedora: 0.1 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Theater99: 0.2 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.3 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.3 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.3 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.4 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.4 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.4 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.5 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.6 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.1 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Theater99: 0.2 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.3 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.3 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.3 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.4 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.4 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.4 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.5 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.6 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.7 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.7 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 0.7 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 1.1 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 1.2 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.7 mi
  • The Citadel: 2 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 2.7 mi
  • American Military Museum: 5.9 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 6.2 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 10.7 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 11.5 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (80)

Ratings and reviews for Andrew Pinckney Inn

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 80
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wish we were there
Atlanta, GA, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Christmas in Charleston

We really enjoyed our stay! The rooms/bed were comfortable and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The location is perfect for enjoying historic Charleston. The dining experience could have been improved as the rooftop breakfast was too cold to be enjoyed and the 2nd floor alternative was outside of guest rooms which was not optimal. The breakfasts were not as good as other B and Bs. But, the free access to EcoFitness and Blue Turtle Yoga was awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Georgia
Jul 25, 2011

Charleston Visit

Great hotel. Very close to market area and dining. Enjoyed the breakfast on the hotel balcony.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First timer to Charleston
Massachusetts
Mar 21, 2011

Fantastic location, gracious inn!

The inn was just lovely. We arrived early and tired and were greeted by two very gracious and friendly clerks. They could not check us in due to our early arrival, but offered us a place to freshen up and held our bags for us. We were given a map and recommendations of what to visit and how to get there. Everything was in walking distance of the inn! Our room was simple, charming and clean. The rooftop sitting area where the continental breakfast (but plenty of food was served) was like sitting in a garden that overlooks the ocean in the distance. I would definitely go back to the Andrew Pickney Inn!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Aiken SC
Dec 20, 2010

Graduation Weekend !!

We loved the Andrew Pinkney Inn ! The beds were the most comfortable we've slept in away from home .Breakfast was wonderful, coffee right outside the rooms on the 2nd floor , the Balcony was beautiful . The Inn employees were very friendly and always willing to help .Thank you we had a great visit , with hopes of returning again soon .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Mercato's was excellent !

Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Aug 31, 2009

Charming Inn

My family (2 adults, 2 children) stayed at Andrew Pinckney Inn for 2 nights in the end of August. We stayed in the building across the street from where the reception is. We liked the location, the interior of the hotel, and the room we had. It's charming, with historical details, and high ceilings, while having all of the modern amenities (elevators, business center). On the negative side there was no safe in the room and it would have been great if the 2 beds were wider. The breakfast was adequate, but not excellent. It is set up on the veranda on the roof. All in all, we were happy with this lodging choice and would recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't bother looking for on-street overnight parking: all parking is either metered or only for residents with permits. Hotel provides parking at $14 per night.

Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Richmond, Virginia
Aug 17, 2009

PRO'S AND CON'S ANDREW PINCKNEY INN

Reading all the reviews about the Pinkney Inn I arrived anxiously. The small lobby looks just like the picture-furniture a bit worn. Parking is available next door in parking garage. Luckily I was given a larger room with two double beds so our room was larger than others. I would have not wanted any of the smaller rooms. The decor was very basic but charming. Upon arrival our room really smelt musty but once we turned on a/c air quality improved. I don't think I would stay there again-there are other choices within same price range. The location was really good but for that area I would recommend The Double Tree which is next door. I would imagine the cleanliness would be a bit more thorough at the Double Tree being a chain hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hanks-delicious, great food, nice atmosphere, delicious peanut butter pie-make reservations ahead of time

Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Morris trip
Savannah GA
Aug 6, 2009

College shopping overnighter

The location was excellent! We were within walking distance from everything we wanted to do. Will definitely stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tennessee
Aug 1, 2009

Great lcation for visiting on foot

We had to have a roll away bed brought into the room for our child which was fine, but made the room way too crowded. We had to climb over her to get to the bathroom while the bed was out. Other than that the stay was fine. The continential breakfast was good for a small a.m. snack. Graeat location for walking around historic Charleston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Folly Beach is a short drive to visit a quiet spot on the ocean.

Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
dallas, pa
Jul 13, 2009

comfortable stay

Room was very nice clean quiet comfortable we liked the location and enjoyed sitting at the outside restaurant for breakfast. The continental breakfast was very good, nice selection. Loved the use of glass dinner plates, not plastic or paper. Very enjoyable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

large selections. Hanks was right around to corner and the food was delicious

Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Plano
Sep 19, 2008

WONDERFUL!!!.

VERY FRIENDLY STAFF. ROOMS WERE EXTREMELY COMFORTABLE (SLEPT LIKE A BABY!!) AND NICELY DECORATED. GREAT LOCATION-WITHIN WALKING DISTANCE TO ALL OF THE SITES!! I HIGHLY RECOMMENDED THE ANDREW PINCKNEY FOR ANYONE WHO PLANS ON STAYING IN CHARLESTON.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

KING STREET, WITH IT'S VAST ARRAY OF STORES AND ANTIQUES IS WITHIN A SHORT WALKING DISTANCE.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search