$189 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Andrew Pinckney Inn

4 stars
View map of 40 Pinckney Street, Charleston, SC 29401

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Andrew Pinckney Inn

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 92
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
dallas, pa
Jul 13, 2009

comfortable stay

Room was very nice clean quiet comfortable we liked the location and enjoyed sitting at the outside restaurant for breakfast. The continental breakfast was very good, nice selection. Loved the use of glass dinner plates, not plastic or paper. Very enjoyable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

large selections. Hanks was right around to corner and the food was delicious

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jul 6, 2009

Nice, but street noise.

The hotel has a good location in the historic district. The only downside was hearing street noise - not just people walking by, but a bar(?) dumping class periodically through the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
Jun 4, 2009

Nice Location But Poor Service

The hotel (we were in the four-story building across the street from registration) was quiet...probably because few people were staying there. We won't stay there again, nor recommend it to anyone. Our room was casually maintained and visited by ants and palmetto bugs. BIG palmetto bugs. But, worse, the room smelled like fish for the entire three days we were there. When I mentioned that to the day manager he replied, "Huh. I haven't heard THAT one before." He did not investigate the smell at all...and I wasn't asking for any compensation for the inconvenience. But it sounded like he'd already been hearing complaints from other guests. Our flight on check-out day was at 5:55am, so we tried to set the alarm on the clock radio. It didn't work. When I mentioned THAT to the front desk, the reply was, "Well, you can request an automated wake-up call." I did, and, because we couldn't afford to miss our plane, I requested a human call at 3:30am to make sure. I was assured the night manager would do so, and I was assured we'd have a statement under our door by the time we checked out at 4am. Not only was there no bill (apparently we don't need one if we've prepaid through Orbitz...which the night manager didn't know), but the night manager forgot to make that wake-up call. (Fortunately I had an alarm program on my laptop.) When I entered the lobby to check out, the night manager looked up and said, "Oh, I was a bad person. I forgot to call you." Speaking of computers, the free WiFi is fine...if you can work with dial-up speed. It was slow enough to be useless for anything but short emails. We were only two blocks from Meeting Street or the marketplace, which was great, so I guess we were paying the high price for location and not for service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The town shuts down after 6pm, so shop early or get a good meal. Stickey BBQ is as good as Colbert says. Don't miss the first and only MoonPie General Store.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mission Viejo, Ca.
May 27, 2009

Ambiance reflective of the City

Very nice rooms that gave good feel of the City

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Carriage ride

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
May 9, 2009

I can't wait to go back

Fantastic location. Walk to famous attractions, shops, and restaurants. Close to carriage tour station. Rooftop terrace where breakfast is served has view of the cruise ship harbor. Beds were exceptionally comfortable. We had to leave at 5:15 am to catch our plane, and even then,the lobby had fresh hot coffee in disposable travel cups available for us. Efficient and effective air conditioning with individual room controls. We appreciated the small business center with on-line service which we used to print boarding passes for our return flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
May 9, 2009

I can't wait to go back

Fantastic location. Walk to famous attractions, shops, and restaurants. Close to carriage tour station. Rooftop terrace where breakfast is served has view of the cruise ship harbor. Beds were exceptionally comfortable. We had to leave at 5:15 am to catch our plane, and even then,the lobby had fresh hot coffee in disposable travel cups available for us. Efficient and effective air conditioning with individual room controls. We appreciated the small business center with on-line service which we used to print boarding passes for our return flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 22, 2008

Perfect colours

To bad there where 3 airco's on top of the roof (above my room).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Market & historic district

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 15, 2008

Ideal Place to Stay

Our visit included 2 adults. The room was small but very, very romantic. However, there were larger rooms available for a larger group of people. We had just enough room for what we needed. The room was beautiful with antique like furniture, very clean, including the bath room. It included all the amentities that we needed. The location was awesome, within walking condition from the Market Place, stores for shopping, fast food, fine restaurants and the Medical University. The hotel staff was very friendly and so were the people at the restaurant and on the street. We experienced the best southern hospitality ever! The cost for the room was very inexpensive for a winter visit around the holidays. Within 1 week from our first visit, we found out that we need to return to Charleston for medical reasons. We have already booked the next visit at the same place. I would strongly recommend this place to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to find a place where you can park your car and walk to anywhere for eating and site seeing, this hotel is the place to stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Plano
Sep 19, 2008

WONDERFUL!!!.

VERY FRIENDLY STAFF. ROOMS WERE EXTREMELY COMFORTABLE (SLEPT LIKE A BABY!!) AND NICELY DECORATED. GREAT LOCATION-WITHIN WALKING DISTANCE TO ALL OF THE SITES!! I HIGHLY RECOMMENDED THE ANDREW PINCKNEY FOR ANYONE WHO PLANS ON STAYING IN CHARLESTON.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

KING STREET, WITH IT'S VAST ARRAY OF STORES AND ANTIQUES IS WITHIN A SHORT WALKING DISTANCE.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 24, 2008

My review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

AP was well located. Great rooftop deck. Breakfast too lacking and crowded. Dio not have enough seating. The toilet was so tight that I kept knocking the Tpaper in the bowl.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top