$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 2, 2015

Andrew Pinckney Inn

4 stars
View map of 40 Pinckney Street, Charleston, SC 29401

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Andrew Pinckney Inn

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jumpint
Business
North Carolina
Jan 27, 2010

Wonderful location and filling breakfast

A great place to stay. We parked the car and it never moved until we left Charleston. Breakfast on the terrace saved us money from eating out every morning. This is a comfortable place to stay. It is welcoming and more casual than others like Frances Marion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Toast on Meeting St. We dined there twice for lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
w_riter
Business
Savannah, GA
Jan 9, 2010

Comfortable

This hotel was perfectly located. It was right around the corner from FIG and a ten minute walk from a perfect French bistro we visited twice during our stay. The staff was very accommodating, allowing us to switch rooms to be farther away from the elevator. The room was clean with very comfortable bedding and better than average towels and bath products. There was no view to speak of from our room but we were only there for one night so it wasn't necessarily a drawback. Unfortunately, we could hear people coming and going from their rooms because the doors to the rooms were pretty loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ORMA '92
Business
Sanford, NC
Dec 14, 2009

Excellent vacation spot

This is a great place to stay. It is situated within blocks of numerous attractions, restaurants, and shops. The only downside was that they have a lack of space for guests to park which leaves you to park in a parking deck nearby. Regardless of where you park, the Inn charges you $14 per day for parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Forget the tour of Fort Sumter. For the amount of money it costs, you could easily drive across the bridge and down to Fort Moultrie. Moultrie is much better preserved, easier to get around on, and you can stay as long as you like (Sumter tour is an hour on the Fort) and still have money for something to eat in the Mt. Pleasant area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texas
Nov 17, 2009

Fantastic location

The location of this hotel was wonderful and the staff was very helpful on sites to see. The hotel did have alot of noise from the streets and the contintental breakfast was not that great but there is so many good places to eat close by it really didn't matter. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Market street was the next block over and has all kind of interesting shops and antiques.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SC
Nov 10, 2009

Great location

Great location! Close to / walking distance to everything downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester NY
Oct 8, 2009

Friendly and good service GREAT Location

Our trip was great and very interesting took several tours and deep sea fishing. This was one of our best trips

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Our hotel was close to a great selection of resturants and shopping it couldn't get any better

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Netherlands
Oct 8, 2009

Expectation not completely met

We had a 2,5 day stay in Charleston and wanted a boutique type hotel in the center of activity. From the outside OK but you actually stayed in an other building (opposite from the depicted one). Old: yes, boutique: no. The breakfast on the roof terrace was a joke. The view was an industrial area and in the full, hot morning sun. We never found the afternoon tea and cookies

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hymans seafood on Meeting street (excellent quality fair price).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
votantonio
Business
Luxembourg
Oct 1, 2009

sleeping on a B747: same soundtrack

Noise from outside fan/motor all the nigth Nice terrace for the breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Market street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Aug 31, 2009

Charming Inn

My family (2 adults, 2 children) stayed at Andrew Pinckney Inn for 2 nights in the end of August. We stayed in the building across the street from where the reception is. We liked the location, the interior of the hotel, and the room we had. It's charming, with historical details, and high ceilings, while having all of the modern amenities (elevators, business center). On the negative side there was no safe in the room and it would have been great if the 2 beds were wider. The breakfast was adequate, but not excellent. It is set up on the veranda on the roof. All in all, we were happy with this lodging choice and would recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't bother looking for on-street overnight parking: all parking is either metered or only for residents with permits. Hotel provides parking at $14 per night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Aug 19, 2009

Great if the bathrooms were clean!

the hotel itself was pretty nice. Our bathroom smelled like old urine, maybe it hadn't been cleaned well? Or maybe it was in the carpet, I don't know. The rest of the room was small but nice. The breakfast was simple, fruit, bagels, hard boiled eggs, coffee, cereal, etc. The front desk staff was a little rude; when I was asked for my credit card to put on file, I was told that it was just in case I was planning on trashing the room or stealing a lamp. Maybe he was just having a bad day, who knows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bowen's Island Restaurant was a great little spot for fish. It's on James Island, at the VERY end of Bowen's Island Road off of 171. A short drive from the hotel, but completely worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top