$161 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

Andrew Pinckney Inn

4 stars
40 Pinckney Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
80 reviews
Best hotel in town

This hotel is in the perfect location. To one side you have the Charleston Museum and King Street... See full review

  • Just MeMyselfandI
  • May 14, 2014
great hotel

loved this hotel, great location, nice breakfast on terrace. Very helpful reception See full review

  • jabtw
  • Aug 27, 2013
Circa 1840-meticulously restored-w/expanded Continental Breakfast served on the Rooftop Garden Terrace overlooking the Market Area and Charlestons Waterfront. The Andrew Pinckney's three story atrium and outdoor courtyard with lions head fountain are perfect for relaxation after a busy day. The Rooftop Terrace is noted for spectacular sunsets, silhouetting the Church steeples and historic landmarks of the enchanting city. Charleston is truly a living museum of Art and Architecture. A short walk to nationally famous local restaurants, horse drawn carriages, historic homes, art galleries, museums, antique shops, and the visitors center. sightseeing tours pick up in the lobby.

Hotel Map

32.7824 -79.93
Area served
Charleston
Nearby airports
CHS
Area description
Located in close proximity to many of Charleston's attractions. Within a mile of the hotel is the IMAX Theatre, SC Aquarium, Powder Magazine,Old Exchange and Provost Dungeon, Gibbes Museum of Art, Charleston Museum, Confederate Museum and the Nathaniel Russell House.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Andrew Pinckney Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Andrew Pinckney Inn Rooms

Queen Guestroom (Accessible)
You will find our beautifully appointed Queen Guestrooms located in the Church Street Building. These modest sized Charleston accommodations reflect a traditional British West Indies style in a soothing palette of blues and greens accompanied by modern amenities and plush queen bed. All complemented by lovely views of the magnolia-and-hibiscus charm on Church Street or into our three story atrium. Queen Guestroom baths are highlighted with Italian Travertine porcelain tile, granite countertops, and spa quality Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities.
Traditional Guestroom (Double Beds)
Decorated in tasteful hues and furnishings, our spacious Traditional Guestrooms offer a relaxing retreat for guests. Boasting plush bedding and duvet, these Charleston accommodations feature two double beds. The Traditional Guestrooms are outfitted with modern in-room comforts, Italian Travertine porcelain tile and granite countertop bathrooms, and Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities.
Traditional Guestroom (King)
Decorated in tasteful hues and furnishings, our spacious Traditional Guestrooms offer a relaxing retreat for guests. Boasting plush bedding and duvet, these Charleston accommodations feature one king bed. The Traditional Guestrooms are outfitted with modern in-room comforts, Italian Travertine porcelain tile and granite countertop bathrooms, and Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities.
Junior Suite
Our spacious Junior Suites are beautifully appointed with an oversized sitting area complete with sleeper sofa, writing desk, and plush king bed. Located in the three story atrium of the Church Street Building, these Charleston accommodations feature a colorful birds eye view of the rooftops of Charleston. Each Junior Suite is appointed with modern in-room conveniences and Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities.
Cotesworth Suite
The Cotesworth Suite features a king bed and expansive sitting area boasting a comfortable sleeper sofa and chairs. Additional rich wood furnishings, including a separate wring desk, complement the traditional British West Indies color palate of light blues and soothing greens. Sun drenched windows fill the suite with an abundance of natural light and afford views overlooking historic Pinckney Street. The bathroom features a whirlpool tub, granite countertop, and spa quality Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities.
St. Philips Suite
This St. Philips Suite features magnificent views of the Market Street area and St. Philips steeple from the arched glass doors and Juliet balcony. Wrapped in the soothing light blues, sage greens and accented with exposed brick, the one-of-a-kind St. Philips suite abundantly provides both historic and romantic charm. The luxurious bathroom is enhanced with hand-laid Italian Travertine tile, granite countertops, Kohler bath fixtures, and a soaking tub with spa-like shower combination. The suite offers premium in-room comforts and Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities.
Townhouse Suite
Our two story Townhouse Suites feature a downstairs separate living area which boasts a comfortable pullout sleeper sofa, half bath, and wet bar area - complete with mini-refrigerator and microwave. The upstairs master bedroom offers a king size bed and sitting area with writing desk. The full size bath, encased in hand-laid Italian Travertine porcelain tile, features granite countertops, Kohler bath fixtures and spa quality Gilchrist & Soames amenities. The Townhouse Suites are outfitted with a host of modern in-room comforts and amenities.
Queen Guestroom
You will find our beautifully appointed Queen Guestrooms located in the Church Street Building. These modest sized Charleston accommodations reflect a traditional British West Indies style in a soothing palette of blues and greens accompanied by modern amenities and plush queen bed. All complemented by lovely views of the magnolia-and-hibiscus charm on Church Street or into our three story atrium. Queen Guestroom baths are highlighted with Italian Travertine porcelain tile, granite countertops, and spa quality Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • The Black Fedora: 0.1 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Theater99: 0.2 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.3 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.3 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.3 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.4 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.4 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.4 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.5 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.6 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.1 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Theater99: 0.2 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.3 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.3 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.3 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.4 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.4 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.4 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.5 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.6 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.7 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.7 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 0.7 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 1.1 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 1.2 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.7 mi
  • The Citadel: 2 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 2.7 mi
  • American Military Museum: 5.9 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 6.2 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 10.7 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 11.5 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (80)

Ratings and reviews for Andrew Pinckney Inn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gzork the Martian
Earth
Jan 28, 2012

Easy Going

Well positioned in the heart of the French Quarter, pleasant walk in any direction to splendid assortment of places to eat/drink etc. Price very reasonable for downtown high-tourist-traffic area. Staff friendly, helpful, gave me late check-out and free bike parking. Building has charm and aura of genteel Old South. Safe at night, quiet, clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wish we were there
Atlanta, GA, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Christmas in Charleston

We really enjoyed our stay! The rooms/bed were comfortable and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The location is perfect for enjoying historic Charleston. The dining experience could have been improved as the rooftop breakfast was too cold to be enjoyed and the 2nd floor alternative was outside of guest rooms which was not optimal. The breakfasts were not as good as other B and Bs. But, the free access to EcoFitness and Blue Turtle Yoga was awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kimmy1
Hilton Head Island, SC, USA
Dec 17, 2011

Perfect lil getaway

very friendly,clean and comfortable. Wonderful location to all the shops and restaurants. Had a wonderful time and would definitely stay there when I come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Had a killer dinner at basil. The front desk was extremely helpful to all the great restaurants.

Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JEBinNC
North Carolina, USA
Nov 5, 2011

Ask for details about each room

The Andrew Pickney Inn is an amalgamation of several historic buildings. As such, some rooms are quite small and oddly configured. Room #306 is pretty tiny -- not big enough for a dresser -- and had a window that looked onto an interior stairwell -- basically windowless. The bathroom was cute but equally tiny -- you had to close the door to access the shower or sit on the commode. Overall it's not a comfortable place to spend much time. That said, the rooftop deck where they serve breakfast is quite attractive, and the breakfast options are better than average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fotojunkie
Upstate South Carolina, United States
Sep 9, 2011

Great Charleston lodging.

My Sept. 2011 stay at the Andrew Pinckney was wonderful. I had read reviews prior to arrival and was well aware that the building was very old, but well renovated. I found that it had character and was a very comfortable place to stay. As a woman traveling alone I was very at ease here and slept wonderfully both nights, in spite of a little noise from neighbors coming in about 1 am. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and they allowed me to check in early. The location was great, I parked my car and spent two days walking all over Charleston. The inn is close to Market Street and convenient to many restaurants and attractions. I had never been to the city before and I didn't even need to consult the maps to find my way back to the inn since it was at the end of Church St., all I had to do was find Church St. and get going! The rooftop breakfast was what I expected from a complimentary breakfast and I found it nice that they use real plates and silverware. If I had to change anything about the room (210) it would have been the view. I didn't have one, but next time I will request a street side room. However, the view is really unimportant when you have all of Charleston to see and who wants to look at it from the room when you can see it from the street. I will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mercato italian restaurant at 102 N.Market St. is a nice place that I found. I am vegetarian, and they had a few options on the menu that the waiter was able to recommend for me. The service was wonderful and they had live jazz music during dinner. Short walk from the inn.

Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
columbus, ohio
Aug 2, 2011

Very Good

Very nice place with a great location. Far enough off from the main noisy area, but very walkable. Close to everything. Service was very good. When we arrived we realized that the building we were in did not have an elevator, which is a problem for my wife who has two new kness. They moved upgraded our room and moved us to the bulding with the elevator. The entire staff couldn't do enough for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Georgia
Jul 25, 2011

Charleston Visit

Great hotel. Very close to market area and dining. Enjoyed the breakfast on the hotel balcony.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First timer to Charleston
Massachusetts
Mar 21, 2011

Fantastic location, gracious inn!

The inn was just lovely. We arrived early and tired and were greeted by two very gracious and friendly clerks. They could not check us in due to our early arrival, but offered us a place to freshen up and held our bags for us. We were given a map and recommendations of what to visit and how to get there. Everything was in walking distance of the inn! Our room was simple, charming and clean. The rooftop sitting area where the continental breakfast (but plenty of food was served) was like sitting in a garden that overlooks the ocean in the distance. I would definitely go back to the Andrew Pickney Inn!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grandmarmie
Austin, Texas
Mar 19, 2011

Lovely room, great breakfast!!

Great location for restaurants, sightseeing, church,and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Newly relocated to Charleston
Jan 1, 2011

Good value

The location of this hotel was fantastic. The room was pretty nice, and pretty clean. The continental breakfast on the rooftop, while not a culinary miracle, was adequate with a really nice view. When looking for hotel rooms in downtown Charleston, this was the best deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several really great places to eat within a short walking distance to the hotel

Back to menu Return to top

Change search