$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Andrew Pinckney Inn

4 stars
View map of 40 Pinckney Street, Charleston, SC 29401

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Andrew Pinckney Inn

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nowinters
Business
Long Island, NY
Apr 18, 2014

great location

Hotel does not offer coffee in room(only in the lobby 24/7) or refrigerator and, for the price, the room is relatively small. They also do not carry premium cable channels (missed Game of Thrones...thank goodness for HBO on demand when we got home). Also, try to get a room that DOES NOT face Pinckney Street since the restaurant across the street takes deliveries during the night and trucks do not turn their engines off. That said...all the rest is better than 5 stars, especially convienience. Did not need a car since most restaurants and things to do were within walking distance. Beds/pillows are extrordinarily comfortable and staff is most accomodating. Breakfast is weak though. Could be improved by providing local jams and jellies instead of just Smuckers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

the Magnolia Plantation Tour is $55 pp. Save some money and only do the garden tour (best in late Mar and April when the azelias are in bloom), boat tour and if you are into photography, the self guided swamp tour.The house tour is a complete waste of time(and I do like mansions) and slave tour an uninteresting 30 minute lecture in front of some slave quarters that you can explore.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jabtw
Business
wolverhampton england
Aug 27, 2013

great hotel

loved this hotel, great location, nice breakfast on terrace. Very helpful reception

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cytar
Business
Ouachita Mtns
Apr 21, 2013

Perfect Location

The Andrew Pinckney is one of the few Charleston hotels located on a quiet street within easy walking distance of The Market and other sites. We walked from the hotel to the South Battery and all around. It could be more female friendly. If you wear make-up, you will need to bring a make-up mirror, and I did not find a full length mirror in our room or common areas. Breakfast is a full Southern gravy & biscuits breakfast, or you can select from the usual continental fare. The breakfast area is lovely, but fills quickly. There is a second eating area in the atrium on the 2nd floor. We had one of the less expensive rooms with a window to the atrium. Worked for us. The room was quiet and with a little ingenuity...dark. If we return to Charleston, we will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Market is a fun area for shopping. BUT...if you find something you love...BUY IT..soon. There are a a few vendors who are there every day, but many are there only certain days of the week. Plus if a cruise ship unloads...!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MBWM
Business
Hyde Park, New York
Feb 19, 2013

Great location within walking distance of historic Charleston and great restaurants.

Within walking distance of old town Charleston and great reataurants. On a quiet street. Never had to use the car. Hotel staff was very accommodating. The full breakfast was a bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nickname No
Business
Virgina
Dec 28, 2012

This may be our last stay with Andrew Pinckney

First of all, the Inn changed to "valet" parking and added a $20 fee per day to its overall charges, something that those of us who've stayed with them before were not expecting. Secondly, we got to our room and the staff was still in it, so we had to wait for a few minutes, even though the Lobby/Front Desk staff told us the room was ready. Then, I found that there was sand in the bed on the fitted sheet and that it was stained, which indicated the sheets had not been changed! Once reported, they moved us immediately, but the room we got had its issues as well. They told us we'd have a window, which was true, but the faux wood blinds were broken, so you couldn't open them properly to see out. The bathroom tiles were cracked and the grout was dirty. The carpet was dirty. No extra pillows. No where to plug in anything other than the bathroom because the outlets were hidden. I suppose that I could go on and on, but I just wish that the management would overhaul the Inn, make repairs, and alert the staff that going through the motions is not enough. I hope that the Andrew Pinckney will revive that "special something" that made them a great place to stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Clark and Menefee fan
Business
Virginia
Aug 10, 2012

Pleasant morning awakening

I have stayed here a few times, and all of my experiences at the hotel have been great. The staff are very helpful and accommodating, and the room was clean and comfortable. I really like the original wood floors in the rooms, and the continental breakfast on the roof terrace is hard to beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wedding tripper
Business
georgia
Jul 1, 2012

Great Location

Service was great, especially the woman who checked us in, gave us good information on where to go. Couldn't have asked for a better location, walking distance to the market and all the shopping and restaurants. As noted in other reviews, rooms and bathroom were small, not as bothersome as the low water pressure, which was a little frustrating. Walls were thin, you could hear people coming and going & I would recommend your own ambient-noise maker or something similar if you are AT ALL a light sleeper. The rooftop area was awesome for an evening drink if you have your own beverages.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Let the front desk staff know what you're doing! They have tons of coupons for restaurants and tours that they can give you!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Parry
Business
France
Feb 21, 2012

Nice location, bit dated

Its a nice place with a nice roof top breakfast. Jut the rooms are a bit dated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gzork the Martian
Business
Earth
Jan 28, 2012

Easy Going

Well positioned in the heart of the French Quarter, pleasant walk in any direction to splendid assortment of places to eat/drink etc. Price very reasonable for downtown high-tourist-traffic area. Staff friendly, helpful, gave me late check-out and free bike parking. Building has charm and aura of genteel Old South. Safe at night, quiet, clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wish we were there
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Christmas in Charleston

We really enjoyed our stay! The rooms/bed were comfortable and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The location is perfect for enjoying historic Charleston. The dining experience could have been improved as the rooftop breakfast was too cold to be enjoyed and the 2nd floor alternative was outside of guest rooms which was not optimal. The breakfasts were not as good as other B and Bs. But, the free access to EcoFitness and Blue Turtle Yoga was awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top