$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 8, 2015 Check-out: Jul 9, 2015

Andrew Pinckney Inn

4 stars
View map of 40 Pinckney Street, Charleston, SC 29401

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
93 reviews
Epitomises southern charm

Very welcoming atmosphere throughout the hotel, from the parking valet who crossed the road to seek... See full review

  • Staffs 15 Anon
  • Jun 15, 2015
Wonderful short trip with my son

Staff was amazing. Location perfect. Clean beautiful inn. See full review

  • Manju S.
  • Jan 12, 2015
The Andrew Pinckney Inn offers many different types of rooms, each with its own character. The 37 rooms and four suites are decorated West Indies style. The hotel has free wireless Internet access, a state-of-the-art business center and a free continental breakfast served on the rooftop terrace. The three townhouse suites are two floors and have refrigerators. All rooms have flat-screen TVs. Many tours pick up guests right from the Andrew Pinckney Inn's lobby.
Rooms
Rooms at the Andrew Pinckney Inn are decorated in the West Indies style and all have 32-inch flat-screen TVs. The townhouse suites are two stories and the St. Philips Suite has a view of church steeple, a private balcony and a double Jacuzzi tub.

 

Property features
Taxi, carriage and rickshaw tours pick up guests right outside the Andrew Pinckney Inn, which has an outdoor courtyard with a lion's head fountain. Guests have complimentary access to Eco Fitness (0.3 mi/0.5 km). There is off-street parking (fees apply).

 

Highlights
  • Located in downtown historic district; walking distance to many attractions
  • Three-story, plant-filled atrium
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms
  • St. Philips Suite has a view of the church through the suite's arched glass doors, private balcony and Jacuzzi
Nearby attractions
  • Charleston Visitor Center (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Fort Sumter and Dinner Cruise (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Patriots Point Park (including USS Yorktown) (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • Charleston Area Convention Center (9.5 mi/15.3 km)
  • Magnolia Plantation and Gardens (17 mi/27.4 km)

Business
Business center with high speed internet access, computer, copier and fax

Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
  • Amtrak station (8 mi/12.9 km)

 

Policies
Smoke-free facility. No pets allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Andrew Pinckney Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Andrew Pinckney Inn Rooms

Queen Guestroom (Accessible)
You will find our beautifully appointed Queen Guestrooms located in the Church Street Building. These modest sized Charleston accommodations reflect a traditional British West Indies style in a soothing palette of blues and greens accompanied by modern amenities and plush queen bed. All complemented by lovely views of the magnolia-and-hibiscus charm on Church Street or into our three story atrium. Queen Guestroom baths are highlighted with Italian Travertine porcelain tile, granite countertops, and spa quality Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities.
Traditional Guestroom (Double Beds)
Decorated in tasteful hues and furnishings, our spacious Traditional Guestrooms offer a relaxing retreat for guests. Boasting plush bedding and duvet, these Charleston accommodations feature two double beds. The Traditional Guestrooms are outfitted with modern in-room comforts, Italian Travertine porcelain tile and granite countertop bathrooms, and Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities.
Traditional Guestroom (King)
Decorated in tasteful hues and furnishings, our spacious Traditional Guestrooms offer a relaxing retreat for guests. Boasting plush bedding and duvet, these Charleston accommodations feature one king bed. The Traditional Guestrooms are outfitted with modern in-room comforts, Italian Travertine porcelain tile and granite countertop bathrooms, and Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities.
Junior Suite
Our spacious Junior Suites are beautifully appointed with an oversized sitting area complete with sleeper sofa, writing desk, and plush king bed. Located in the three story atrium of the Church Street Building, these Charleston accommodations feature a colorful birds eye view of the rooftops of Charleston. Each Junior Suite is appointed with modern in-room conveniences and Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities.
Cotesworth Suite
The Cotesworth Suite features a king bed and expansive sitting area boasting a comfortable sleeper sofa and chairs. Additional rich wood furnishings, including a separate wring desk, complement the traditional British West Indies color palate of light blues and soothing greens. Sun drenched windows fill the suite with an abundance of natural light and afford views overlooking historic Pinckney Street. The bathroom features a whirlpool tub, granite countertop, and spa quality Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities.
St. Philips Suite
This St. Philips Suite features magnificent views of the Market Street area and St. Philips steeple from the arched glass doors and Juliet balcony. Wrapped in the soothing light blues, sage greens and accented with exposed brick, the one-of-a-kind St. Philips suite abundantly provides both historic and romantic charm. The luxurious bathroom is enhanced with hand-laid Italian Travertine tile, granite countertops, Kohler bath fixtures, and a soaking tub with spa-like shower combination. The suite offers premium in-room comforts and Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities.
Townhouse Suite
Our two story Townhouse Suites feature a downstairs separate living area which boasts a comfortable pullout sleeper sofa, half bath, and wet bar area - complete with mini-refrigerator and microwave. The upstairs master bedroom offers a king size bed and sitting area with writing desk. The full size bath, encased in hand-laid Italian Travertine porcelain tile, features granite countertops, Kohler bath fixtures and spa quality Gilchrist & Soames amenities. The Townhouse Suites are outfitted with a host of modern in-room comforts and amenities.
Queen Guestroom
You will find our beautifully appointed Queen Guestrooms located in the Church Street Building. These modest sized Charleston accommodations reflect a traditional British West Indies style in a soothing palette of blues and greens accompanied by modern amenities and plush queen bed. All complemented by lovely views of the magnolia-and-hibiscus charm on Church Street or into our three story atrium. Queen Guestroom baths are highlighted with Italian Travertine porcelain tile, granite countertops, and spa quality Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • The Black Fedora: 0.1 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Theater99: 0.2 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.3 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.3 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.3 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.4 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.4 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.4 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.5 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.6 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.1 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Theater99: 0.2 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.3 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.3 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.3 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.4 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.4 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.4 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.5 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.6 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.7 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.7 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 0.7 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 1.1 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 1.2 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.7 mi
  • The Citadel: 2 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 2.7 mi
  • American Military Museum: 5.9 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 6.2 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 10.7 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 11.5 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Andrew Pinckney Inn

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
93 out of 93
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kimmy1
Hilton Head Island, SC, USA
Dec 17, 2011

Perfect lil getaway

very friendly,clean and comfortable. Wonderful location to all the shops and restaurants. Had a wonderful time and would definitely stay there when I come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Had a killer dinner at basil. The front desk was extremely helpful to all the great restaurants.

Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Staffs 15 Anon
Business
N/A
Jun 15, 2015

Epitomises southern charm

Very welcoming atmosphere throughout the hotel, from the parking valet who crossed the road to seek us out, to the receptionist with good suggestions for drinks and dinner. Valet parking is a must, don't even think about trying to find something cheaper, its not possible! Beautifully appointed room, in cool coastal colours, with shutters and a southern style I'd waited 10 days for. Small but perfectly appointed bathroom, with good quality toiletries and towels. My only critism would be the poor hairdryer, take your own if you need a lot of lift to combat the humidity. Breakfast is served on the rooftop terrace, under an awning to combat the strong sun, alternatively you can take your meal to your room. All in all a very lovely stay, I wish we could have stayed longer instead of wasting time in Myrtle Beach. Free internet, fast and easy to connect Complementary refreshments in the best reception area. Apparently there is a wine and cheese reception on the roof terrace at 3pm each day, we hadn't realised this and could have planned our arrival accordingly! The hotel is very centrally located and if horse carriage rides are your thing you'll be in heaven, as there are 2 stables about 100 yards away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Walty Malty
Business
Hoffman Estates
Apr 6, 2015

Perfect Location

The staff could not have been more helpful or more professional. The location is perfect for seeing things in the historic district. The continental breakfast was also very good. the only two negatives are noise issues from outside and with the ventilation unit but that's part of staying in a historic structure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tlubigt
Business
N/A
Mar 11, 2015

great location

We only stayed for 1 night, but walkable to lots of restaurants and shops. The staff was very helpful, and free cookies in the lobby!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Manju S.
Business
N/A
Jan 12, 2015

Wonderful short trip with my son

Staff was amazing. Location perfect. Clean beautiful inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
patrick k.
Business
summerville
Jan 5, 2015

Christmas Eve

I stayed at the Andrew Pinckney Inn for the first time this past Christmas Eve. Upon arrival I found the Inn to be centrally located to the heart of the city's historic district with world class shopping and dining mere steps away. The entire staff was gracious, smiling and happy. A pleasant surprise was the bountiful breakfast served on the rooftop patio.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveling Summers
Business
North Carolina
Nov 21, 2014

Best Value for Downtown Charleston

I was looking to book our honeymoon and was questioning whether or not to stay downtown. I am so glad that I found Andrew Pinckney! It was great not having to worry about parking or driving during our stay because everything was in such close proximity. Our room was amazing - just enough Charleston charm with both period and new furnishings, plus a super cozy bed. The breakfast had many choices, and wine and cheese was served weekday afternoons. I would come back in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jbp1998
Business
Minneapolis
Nov 15, 2014

Perfect location, poor customer service.

We had booked a regular room, but they placed us in a handicap accessible room with no windows and it was extremely small. It was awful!!! Even though our room stated it was a standard room, they still refused to move us or let us cancel our room. They claimed it was because we didn't book directly through them. Our online company on the other hand, had amazing customer service and worked with us to quickly get a refund.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wave Dancer
Business
NYC
Oct 27, 2014

A lovely stay

I just spent 3 October days and nights at the Pinckney Inn and had a wonderful time! The hotel itself is a lovely historical gem and the staff were very accommodating. The location allowed for very quiet nights of sleep and I really enjoyed breakfast served on the 4th floor veranda. My only complaint, if I have one, is that the windows in my room didn't open forcing me to deal daily with air-conditioning even though the air temps outside were a delightful 65-75 degrees. There's no reason why a little fresh air can't be gained. Otherwise, it was really a nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

GET TO THE BEACH! Its beautiful and the water temps are still in the 70's in October!

Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spunker
Business
Illilnois
Oct 18, 2014

Convenient and Friendly

Very clean, courteous staff, pleasant extended continental breakfast, and close proximity to city market and dining areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Culinary Tours - can be reached by free trolley

Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sweetly pie
Business
Manchester England
Jun 24, 2014

Good location

Really enjoyed the stay. would have preferred a room with a window as I found the room very dark and a little claustrophobic. Would certainly recommend but ask for window room Excellent location..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top