$66 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beaufort West, SC

3 stars
2450 Boundary Street, Beaufort, SC 29906
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
36 reviews
Friendly

We where out of the hotel most of the time but the hotel was nice and confortable. See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Nov 25, 2007
Friendly

We where out of the hotel most of the time but the hotel was nice and confortable. See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Nov 25, 2007
Budget-friendly hotel with pool convenient to Marine Corps graduations
The Country Inn & Suites Beaufort is a budget-friendly home base for South Carolina travelers. This Beaufort Country Inn is ideal for guests attending a Marine Corps graduation at Parris Island, and for history buffs exploring historic downtown Beaufort with its strong Gullah heritage. Guests at this newly renovated hotel enjoy a free hot breakfast each morning before heading to Hilton Head Island for beaches and outdoor fun.
Highlights
  • Children 18 and under stay free in the same room with an adult
  • Free hot breakfast including a burrito bar
  • On-site Marine liaison on Wednesday evenings during Marine graduation weeks
  • Heated indoor swimming pool, fitness center
  • Whirlpool suites available
  • Newly-renovated rooms
Rooms
The recently renovated guest rooms at the Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Beaufort West feature new carpets and comfortable new mattresses. All rooms include fee high-speed wireless Internet access, a refrigerator and microwave. For extra space, choose a two-room or whirlpool suite. Guests enjoy a complimentary newspaper on weekdays. Standard amenities also include a hair-dryer, iron and ironing board, and coffee-maker with complimentary coffee. Cribs and rollaway beds are  available. Accessible and connecting rooms are available.
Features
Complimentary breakfast at the Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Beaufort West goes beyond standard fare with eggs, meat, a burrito bar and biscuit sandwiches. In the afternoon, enjoy complimentary coffee and cookies in the lobby. Try out the fitness center or grab a book at the hotel's Read It & Return lending library and head to the indoor swimming pool. The Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Beaufort West offers laundry facilities and free parking.


The Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Beaufort West is conveniently located minutes from area military bases, making it a comfortable home base for graduations. Golf, shopping and restaurants are close by. For a day trip, head to historic Savannah or Hilton Head, where beaches and championship golf await.
Transportation
  • Hilton Head Airport (38 mi/59 km)
  • Savannah International Airport (44 mi/71 km)
Attractions
  • Fordham Market (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Low Country Winery (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Downtown Beaufort (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Beaufort Marine Corps Air Station (3.8 mi/6 km)
  • Sanctuary Golf Club at Cat Island (8.8 mi/14 km)
  • Parris Island Marine Corps Recruit Depot (9.6 mi/15 km)
  • Hunting Island State Park (20 mi/32 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed, wireless Internet access
  • Free local calls
  • Lobby computer available for guest use
  • Business center
  • Meeting space available

Hotel Map

32.4405 -80.706
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
SAVANNAH INTL ARPT, (SAV), 43.80, MI, SE; HILTON HEAD MUNICIPAL, (HHH), 36.40, MI, SE; CHARLESTON INTL ARPT, (CHS), 68.50, MI, S;
Area description
Tourist site, This hotel is located near a tourist site.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beaufort West, SC also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
FEMA approved
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
Shops/Commercial services
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Brailled elevators
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Dining

Golden Corral
Located 2 blocks away on Hwy 170
Ruby Tuesdays
Located 2 miles away on Hwy 170.
11th Street Dockside
1699 11th Street West Port Royal, SC 29935 843-524-7433
Breakfast Room
-Breakfast room
Blackstone's Deli and Cafe
205 Scott Street Beaufort, SC 29902

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (36)

Ratings and reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beaufort West, SC

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 36
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beaufort West, SC

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Outraged traveler
North Carolina
Jul 15, 2013

Verbally attacked by 'manager'

We checked in on July 4, and my husband and I took our kids (4 and 8) to the indoor pool on Friday, July 5 at around 3 p.m. when most guests were out of their rooms and not likely to be bothered by loud little kids playing in a pool. Suddenly, an older man walked into the pool area and sarcastically chastised the kids for being loud, asking them who was "drowning," telling them "no screaming" and he was going to throw them a life preserve if they did it again. The three adults were too stunned to speak, and the man left. I tried to go after him to find out who he was, since he hadn't identified himself, but he'd disappeared. The front desk staff claimed they didn't know who he was. I went back to the pool and minutes later, back he comes, obviously furious. He walked right up to me and immediately became verbally aggressive. I asked if he was the general manager and he said no, he was "one of the managers." I pointed out to him that he should have identified himself and spoken directly to me before reprimanding my children. At that point he stood above my chair and screamed in my face "And who are you?" When I left the pool area to seek support from hotel staff at the front desk, he followed me to the lobby, still shouting and telling me not to walk away from him. I asked to speak to the general manager and got a non-committal answer. We had to go back to our rooms to get away from the confrontation. Later I did speak with the manager, who begged me to accept some bags of candy, granola bars and canned peaches as his "apology" for this man's behavior. But he refused to give me the guy's name, and to date neither he nor Carlson Corporate (who has heard about this from me and the other guest at LENGTH) has done anything about this man. Someone needs to take action to ensure this verbally abusive individual does not come in contact with guests. This experience and Carlson's continued brush-off of my complaints had really soured me on the Country Inn brand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beaufort West, SC

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Martin family from Atl
Atlanta, GA
Jul 8, 2013

WORST HOTEL EVER!!!!

This was the worst hotel experience I ever had. The hotel was dirty. The manager was rude. I tried to leave after the first day, but the manager refused to give me a refund for the second day although the room had dirty linen in the shower and I checked out at 8am. I was so disappointed. They offered me nothing. The hotel stole my money and refused to give me a room for the second night. TERRIBLE!!! I will never stay there again. The manager didn't help at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beaufort West, SC

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ginger6
Largo, FL, USA
Oct 2, 2011

OK for Overnight

The staff were very nice and always helpful. Our room was not a "renovated" room - it had seen many better days. Fine stopover for one night, but not for an extended stay until updated, especially for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Q on the Bay is a good restaurant for Bar B Q, water view, and covered utdoor deck.

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beaufort West, SC

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
snowbird from Iowa
Winter Haven, FL
Mar 18, 2013

vacation getaway

comfortable room but some mold in bathroom. Breakfast was good but supplies ran out and were slow to be replenished.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beaufort West, SC

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Criiter
Elizabeth City, NC
Mar 12, 2013

Wouldn't do it again

Well, Where do i begin? We originally were scouting the area for a possible job offer. Later I had decided I wouId not recommend people to stay of they were to come visit; if I should get a job in this area guess at the front door/desk. When we first arrived the front desk people were awesome and we thought this is going to be great!! Well, we go to the room and everything seemed to be average. After being on the road for 7 hours I had decided to get a shower and get energized. As I pulled the shower curtain closed in the shower I had noticed there was MILDEW on the cloth shower curtain. Yuck!! Later that night I found that the Blow dryer in the bathroom had an attached night light. I found this out after I had to get up in the middle of the night. The light would flicker whenever I touched the wall switch. It would not stay on when the light was off. The more/longer the overhead light was then the night light would stay on with a flickering. With not having a light as an escort to the bathroom in the DARK of night I ended up using my Smartphone. I did contact the front desk about the light and the maintenance guy was rather quick to respond the next morning. He said he would replace the switch after we left...I do mean left 3 days LATER!! We had a double queen room...I am glad we did. One bed was very uncomfortable and the other was much better. Here is the KICKER for me anyway about this place. I usually get hotel stays where they have a Continental Breakfast. This was not the place for even coming close. The food was unedible, hash browns were warm but uncooked, scrammbled eggs were not eggs and the sausage patties not sure what they were. Yogurt sitting out in a pan not iced, milk was from a gallon jug and not on ice...everyone picking it up? I usually have seen dispensers/small cartons. The 2nd day was even worse they had what THEY called eggs benedict...no where near. Eggwhite squares with what looked to be yokes on top of them was a nasty cheese something. My wife took a bite and by her expression I was not even going to attempted them. The waffle batter was so thin one little cup had the batter running off the side of the iron before you could even close it. After our 2nd breakfast we had given up. We actually had decided to dump the junk and go somewhere else on the 2nd day. We started to watch who was eating what of the people coming in for breakfast...funny thing was. There were more people throwing away what they called food then eating it!!! The people setting up and taking care of the so called "food" had a distance attitude. Even if they were greeted nothing in return. I actually felt bad for them. Why? My intutition was the manager/owners wanted to skimp on the breakfast quality. We had found a place called Palm & Moon Bagel Co. to be a best value/flavor/deal for your money in downtown Beaufort. I just wish we had found it sooner than the last day. One more thing I also chose this hotel because of the swimming pool. Upon our arrival it had no water in it or at least not enough to get your knees wet. The front desk people told me it would be open "tomorrow" that never happened. We have decided that to come back for just a vacation. I can assure you we won't be staying at this place...but a B&B. I hope this enabled people to make a more informed decision.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown has great restaurants try Dockside

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beaufort West, SC

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ginger6
Largo, FL, USA
Oct 2, 2011

OK for Overnight

The staff were very nice and always helpful. Our room was not a "renovated" room - it had seen many better days. Fine stopover for one night, but not for an extended stay until updated, especially for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Q on the Bay is a good restaurant for Bar B Q, water view, and covered utdoor deck.

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beaufort West, SC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travelin Duo
Alto, GA
Apr 9, 2010

Good for price

It was a good place to stay for relatively cheap but was not the cleanest. There were stains on the furniture and looked like water damage on the walls. The staff was very nice and helpful. The breakfast was above average for a continental breakfast. The internet was a bit inconsistent at times. A place in historic downtown would have been much more convenient and scenic. For the money it was a good place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you visit Beaufort you need to go to Hunting Island! It is a beautiful state park with wonderful beaches and trails. The lighthouse (that you can climb up) is also another attraction. It is a wonderful place to spend the day!

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beaufort West, SC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
quailman
Beaufort, SC
Feb 10, 2013

hunting trip

Pretty good. coffee available all day. One hangar in the closet. Free breakfast. Scrambled eggs lousy. Good bed. WiFi available free. Parking OK

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beaufort West, SC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dhutch60
Atlanta
Nov 25, 2012

Just a place to sleep

No maid service on Thanksgiving. No creamer the whole 3 days I was there. Door lock on the room next to me was laying on the floor for 2 days, and the door looked as if someone tried to break in with a crowbar. The night attendant told me to let her know if I hear anything which did not make me feel very safe. Maintance guy walked into my room by mistake and I was naked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beaufort West, SC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Traveling Teacher
Business
South Carolina
Feb 24, 2010

Country Inn and Suites in Beaufort, SC.

My room was not very clean when I first arrived. A dirty towel was left hanging on the shower rod and the carpet had long seen the best of its days! Upon expressing concerns to the staff, they addressed the matter. My room was cleaned extremely well on the second day's stay. The hotel walls are a little thin and I was awoken both nights by what sounded like a newly wedded couple above me. Still, since the staff was friendly and accommodating and the hotel was close to my place of business and a great seafood restaurant (just 0.2 mi away), the noise and less than desirable room conditions at arrival were worth it. One more thing, the hotel served a great continental breakfast and had a snack bar open in the afternoon with fruit, cookies, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gilligan's Seafood restaurant has a great menu and reasonable prices! The service and food were excellent!

Back to menu Return to top