$55 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2014 Check-out: Sep 7, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn Aiken

2 stars
1936 Whiskey Rd S, Aiken, SC 29803
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
21 reviews
just what I needed

Im only comparing from the other hotel I stayed at last year because I don't travel often but if I... See full review

  • a heated birthday
  • Apr 1, 2014
Nice Staff

convenient, clean, great staff. The building is nice, cost was appropriate. We were satisfied See full review

  • Aiken
  • Jul 22, 2013
Book an affordable room near fun attractions at this Howard Johnson Inn Aiken. Explore the scenic Hopelands Gardens two miles away, as well as the Aiken Thoroughbred Racing Hall of Fame and Museum, and annual horse races. The University of South Carolina Aiken, movie theatres, golfing and shopping are just minutes away. Walk to several restaurants from this lodging. Start your day with a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast with waffles, sausages and eggs. Energize with a swim in the seasonal outdoor pool, and connect to family and friends with the complimentary wireless Internet access. Enjoy the 24-hour front desk, and complimentary large-vehicle parking making it easy to bring a crowd. Refresh in your comfortable guest room with microwave and refrigerator. For additional comfort, book a king room with hot tub. Smoke-free and handicapped-accessible rooms are also available. Pets are welcome at this lodging. There is no charge for children 17 and under with an adult.

Hotel Map

33.5219 -81.7186
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Aiken also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (21)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Aiken

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 21
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
3.2
Value:
2.8

52% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Aiken

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Plastics Man
NC
Apr 22, 2014

Avoid it like the plague

Horribly dated. Water damage on ceiling. Tiny room. Stained linens. Rent an RV and stay in a campground if this is your only option. Would have given it zero stars if that had been an option

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Aiken

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
a heated birthday
southern indiana
Apr 1, 2014

just what I needed

Im only comparing from the other hotel I stayed at last year because I don't travel often but if I were to need a reasonably priced hotel with staff that was helpful and available when needed this would be the place Id go to next time I'm in Aiken. The continental breakfast had the bare necessities but I had no desire to eat at the hotel with the savings gained I was able to sample some of the local fare around town. They happened to have a professional barbeque cookoff this weekend but I went to the blue top café(awesome burgers and fries). I would have been less reluctant to go there second because of the fridge and microwave in the room. The bed was comfortable but I couldn't get past the early riser on the floor above me, the temperature pops and snaps of the room adjusting to the fluctuations of the outside to inside weather. To top that off I could hear other people's water run and the footsteps and all the processes this person went through to get ready to go where they had to be from 3:30 to 5:40ish that morning I was just falling back asleep when a bird was doing his spring time ritual going through a half million calls outside. I wasn't upset at the hotel this is what is normal but when I did sleep it was unhindered by any accommodation provided. Although I wish the microwave had a silent mode the beeper was extremely loud for late night snack reheating. again the room was great the room for a comfortable place to sleep when it was chilly outside. The in room hot tub was functional and clean the house cleaning made sure of this daily they deserved the tip of appreciation for how well they cleaned up after us every day. We had plenty of towels for our needs.. I couldn't have found reasons to ask for better for this time of year to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Aiken

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
J.A.G
Business
Atlanta area
Jan 19, 2014

Good nights rest.

I was here for 3 days while I was on a work assignment. The room was clean and comfortable. The microwave and refridgerator worked well and were very clean. I was able to get a good nights sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Aiken

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aiken
Business
Aiken
Jul 22, 2013

Nice Staff

convenient, clean, great staff. The building is nice, cost was appropriate. We were satisfied

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Aiken

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BigJerry
Business
Aiken, SC
Jan 22, 2013

close to work

The breakfast was just ok. the waffle maker didn't work and the juice machine didn't work. Had to ask for milk one morning as it was not set out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Aiken

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Stella's Family
Chapel Hill, NC
Nov 12, 2012

Unpleasant

The room was adequate, but just barely. The bathroom was awful: water damage marks and peeling wallpaper, sluggish toilet, a balky fixture in the tub that made turning on the water a chore; no stopper in the sink. Clearly, not much maintenance is being done there. But the worst aspect was having to argue with the front desk over why our room had not been cleaned. At first they said they didn't clean rooms after 11 (we'd left the room before 9 that morning.) The next version of the excuse was that we'd had a Do Not Disturb sign on the door. (We'd turned it to the please clean the room side when we left.) All in all, an unpleasant experience. We only stayed there in the first place because they'd accept a pet; next time we'll find a nicer place that puts a greater emphasis on customer service and satisfaction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Aiken

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
casino gal
Pittsburgh, PA
Sep 5, 2012

visiting family

Once we brought what needed fixed to the attention of the staff, they took care of it pretty quickly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Aiken

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
hockey pro
aiken SC
Jul 23, 2012

SC trip

Room had an awful odor. It smelled as if the entire room had recently been flooded. and left to dry on its own. The room next door to mine was just as bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Aiken

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Djmoney
Aiken, SC, USA
Jun 15, 2012

Excellent location

Key location. Only a few mins from downtown Aiken. And close to many choice for dining and shopping

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Aiken

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shopper24
Business
Raleigh, NC
May 7, 2012

Not Good

This hotel was not what I expected. The refrigerator and the remote to the television did not work. When I called the front desk to tell them, she stated she would make a note for the manager, no one ever came or called to the room. The sofa had large stains on the cushions. The shower and sink were cracked. This hotel needs a makeover. I will not be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search