$136 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Holiday Inn SOUTH KINGSTOWN (NEWPORT AREA)

3 stars
3009 TOWER HILL ROAD, South Kingstown, RI 02874
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
44 reviews
Very nice for business at URI!

I just had a one-nighter with a day long meeting on campus at URI. I checked in late to a very... See full review

  • richardtc
  • May 16, 2013
Close to Newport

Nice, decent hotel. Friendly, helpful staff. Only issue was that the was no hair conditioner in... See full review

  • Old Fats
  • Apr 28, 2014
Rhode Island lodging with outdoor pool, Wi-Fi and Italian cuisine
The Holiday Inn South Kingstown is located about three miles from Narragansett Beach or 11 miles to downtown Newport. The greater area provides plenty to do and see, from the mansions at Newport to downtown Providence, nearby universities and casinos. Hop on a ferry and visit Block Island, called one of the twelve "Last Great Places" in the Western Hemisphere by the Nature Conservancy. After all the activity, guests can return to the Holiday Inn South Kingstown to relax by the outdoor pool or enjoy authentic Italian cuisine at the on-site restaurant.
Highlights

  • Outdoor pool and patio
  • Complimentary wireless Internet
  • A 24-hour fitness center

Location
The Holiday Inn South Kingstown is approximately three miles from the University of Rhode Island and Narragansett Beach, just west of Newport.
Rooms
The 107 rooms at the Holiday Inn South Kingstown have traditional decor in soothing beige tones with lots of natural light. Guests have access to complimentary wireless Internet, a spacious desk to work on and triple sheeted bedding. Book a room with two beds or one king-size bed and a sofa.
Features

Holiday Inn South Kingstown guests can unwind for an afternoon at the large outdoor pool with a patio, lounge chairs and umbrella-covered tables. The on-site fitness center has a treadmill, a bicycle and a stair stepper. Borrow a volleyball from the front desk for a game of beach volleyball on the two on-site courts.

 

Visit the Liliana's Restaurant and Lounge, the on-site Italian restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner -- fine, family-style Italian cuisine and a complete, regional Italian wine list. Stop by for a drink and live jazz on Friday nights. Kids 12 and under eat for free.
Transportation

  • T.F. Green Airport (15.8 mi/25.5 km)

Attractions

  • Narragansett Beach (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • University of Rhode Island (3.9 mi/6.4 km)
  • Downtown Newport (11.1 mi/17.9 km)
  • Newport Mansions (13.6 mi/21.9 km)
  • Roger Williams Park (20 mi/32 km)
  • Downtown Providence (22 mi/36 km)
  • Foxwoods Casino (26 mi/42 km)

Business

  • A business center
  • Offers a 2,580-square-foot meeting/event space
  • Wireless, high-speed Internet access
  • Audiovisual equipment available

Hotel Map

41.4976 -71.4574
Nearby airports
Logan Airport, (BOS), 90.00, MI; TF Green / Providence, (PVD), 19.00, MI;
Area description
Suburban, suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn SOUTH KINGSTOWN (NEWPORT AREA) also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Car rental desk
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
In room movies

Dining

Liliana's Restaurant & Lounge
The best Italian food in South County! Traditional family recipes, extensive wine list, great antipasto, and live jazz on Friday nights. Room service is available to guests for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.
Liliana's Italian Restaurant
Liliana's Restaurant is a local favorite for fine Italian Dining and includes a full-service lounge!
The Mews Tavern
One of many local favorites for beer and pizza. Loud, friendly environment. URI students, business people and locals love it.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (44)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SOUTH KINGSTOWN (NEWPORT AREA)

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SOUTH KINGSTOWN (NEWPORT AREA)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Old Fats
Mount Kisco, NY
Apr 28, 2014

Close to Newport

Nice, decent hotel. Friendly, helpful staff. Only issue was that the was no hair conditioner in room (minor issue).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn SOUTH KINGSTOWN (NEWPORT AREA)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mhs515
Boston, MA
Nov 11, 2013

Convience to URI

Close to the college, which was the reason for our visit for an invent there. Restaurant attached is great because there is not that many place to eat without driving about 10 or 15 minutes. Staff friendly clean room. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn SOUTH KINGSTOWN (NEWPORT AREA)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Paul J
Shelton,Connecticut
Sep 17, 2013

Ok but moldy!

Staff was excellent! Room had a mold problem as evidenced around the windows and a smell in the air.We would not stay here again for that very reason!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn SOUTH KINGSTOWN (NEWPORT AREA)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveled to Newport
Connecticut
Aug 21, 2013

Holiday Inn in South Kingston

The hotel is very basic and unexceptional yet very expensive for what you get. Our room cost over $300 per night, it was very small, the bathroom offered 3 towels for 2 people, and the coffee maker literally had two teabags. The bed mattress was either old or else too soft.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn SOUTH KINGSTOWN (NEWPORT AREA)

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sony 860
Ct
Aug 21, 2013

Never again

Ac was roaring all night called room service after to attempts with no answer called front desk reccomend I try again and would let them know after third attempt got answer gave order then was told we are busy can I come down and pick up I said no thanks feel that they should not advertise room service if cannot fulfill I paid 338 dollars for a 89 dollar room not happy feel ripped of

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn SOUTH KINGSTOWN (NEWPORT AREA)

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
richardtc
Business
Indianapolis, IN, USA
May 16, 2013

Very nice for business at URI!

I just had a one-nighter with a day long meeting on campus at URI. I checked in late to a very friendly desk staff person. My room was clean, modern and comfortable. I slept well. Had a continental breakfast and checked out early. Kind of a typical trip for me, but the comfort of my room allowed for a great night's sleep. What more can I ask!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn SOUTH KINGSTOWN (NEWPORT AREA)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Collz
Bedminster pa
Feb 23, 2013

comfy beds but small

Wish they had 2 Queen size beds in the rooms instead of 2 full beds......Bed was very comfortable but just to small for me and by husband.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn SOUTH KINGSTOWN (NEWPORT AREA)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jflophil
CT
Sep 17, 2012

Not again

This hotel was not clean to be kind. There was dark spots on the ceiling of our rooms. I can only imagine what the was. The hallways were dark and dank.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn SOUTH KINGSTOWN (NEWPORT AREA)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
karenakajenna
Port Charlotte
Aug 21, 2012

Pass on this hotel

While the Hotel was better that it was 20 years ago, I will not recomend it. There was no drapes on the window, only a sheer white panel. Not very good for privacy or for sleeping :-(. Don't try to get room service breakfast @ 7:30, we were told by the front desk no one was in the kitchen yet, call back in about 20 minutes!! REALLY! Walked to Dunkin Donuts instead. Went to check out at 4AM, and was told he had not rolled over the day before's charges yet. Told him I hadn't charged anything to the room anyway. They all seemed clueless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn SOUTH KINGSTOWN (NEWPORT AREA)

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Evangeline
Poughkeepsie, N>Y>
May 26, 2012

perfect area where we wanted to be

Nicer than we expected. Bathroom was alittle snug. If a shower was made in stead of a tub, it would be a little more comforable. Unfortunately being a former smoker, when we returned the next afternoon to our room. I did notice the room had a smoking smell to it. I expect that one of the maids might have had the smell in her clothes. It did clear up after awhile, which wasn't too bad. Otherwise we had a wonderful stay at your hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

When changing drivers make sure you go to an OFF ramp instead of pulling off on the side of the main road. It sure is much safer! We didn't have any trouble but we were advised by a trooper.

Back to menu Return to top