$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Providence Marriott Downtown

4 stars
1 Orms Street, 1 Orms St, Providence, RI 02904
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
72 reviews
A nice place to stay

Staff are nice and friendly to guests. Comfortable envirement. Clean room. See full review

  • Hank Liu
  • Apr 20, 2014
Great

We stayed overnight to drop of my niece to Johnson and Wales University. Fantastic staff, and just... See full review

  • Coach Mom
  • Sep 4, 2011
A stylish downtown hotel with pool and lounge area
A hip, upscale hotel with conveniences for all types of travelers, the Providence Marriott Downtown offers a green-certified oasis located within walking distance to restaurants, shopping, historic sites and renowned universities. Guests love AQUA, the on-site premier pool and lounge area with the only indoor/outdoor pool in Providence and cabanas with fire pits -- a great spot to gather with friends. The spacious rooms and suites at the Providence Marriott Downtown feature designer bedding and bath amenities.
Highlights
  • Indoor/outdoor heated swimming pool open year round
  • Convenient location within walking distance to downtown
  • Complimentary parking
  • On-site restaurant
Location
The Providence Marriott Downtown is just off Interstate 95, in downtown Providence.
Rooms

The 351 rooms and five suites at the Providence Marriott Downtown boast stylish, contemporary decor in warm tones with splashes of bright color. A large desk and soft, ergonomic chair make working a more comfortable endeavor. All rooms contain satellite television, an overstuffed chair and Marriott-exclusive REVIVE bedding, and the spacious bathrooms have amenities from Bath and Body Works.

 

Guests that upgrade to a concierge level room or suite can enjoy stunning views of the city, a complimentary continental breakfast and an evening happy hour.
Features

Discover AQUA, the indoor/outdoor pool and outdoor lounge at Providence Marriott Downtown. With cabanas, fire pits and private party areas, AQUA boasts one of the hippest spots in the city. They claim the only indoor/outdoor swimming pool in Providence. The fitness club, Club PACE, is equally as impressive, with state-of-the-art workout equipment.

 

Guests should visit the on-site Starbucks for a caffeine fix or stop by the gift shop stocked with souvenirs and convenience items that they may have forgotten at home. The on-site Bluefin Grill serves a breakfast buffet, lunch and dinner as well as room service. The Providence Marriott Downtown is a pet-friendly hotel. Free wireless Internet is available in the lobby and at Bluefin Grille. Complimentary self-parking is also available.
Transportation
  • T.F. Green Airport (7.6 mi/12.2 km)
Attractions
  • Waterplace Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Rhode Island School of Design (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Providence Place Mall (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Rhode Island Convention Center (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Customhouse Historic District (0.8 mi/1.4 km)
  • Brown University (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Federal Hill (1.2 mi/2 km)
Business
  • Offers 11,000 square feet of meeting and event space
  • High-speed Internet access
  • A 24-hour business center with Internet access, a personal computer and a printer

Hotel Map

41.8358 -71.4137
Area served
Providence
Nearby airports
T F Green Airport, (PVD), 9.00, MI, N; Boston Logan International Airport, (BOS), 50.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Providence Marriott Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Pizzitola Sports Center: 0.9 mi
  • Brown University: 0.9 mi
  • Dunkin' Donuts Center: 0.9 mi
  • Brown Stadium: 1,302.5 mi
  • Intercollegiate Athletic Arena: 7,297.3 mi

Dining

Bluefin Grille
Our restaurant's downtown Providence, RI location paired with globally inspired cuisine using fresh, locally grown ingredients and set in a casually elegant atmosphere has proven to be a favorite among locals and visitors alike
Bluefin Lounge
The Bluefin Lounge features a bar menu full of favorites sure to satisfy every palate. Sophisticated yet casual, the lounge is one of the premier downtown Providence restaurants you don't want to miss.
AQUA
Discover AQUA, the city's premier pool and private party experience. An oasis in the middle of the city, our downtown Providence restaurant's blending of water, fire and sound creates a temptingly cool escape.
Starbucks®
Grab your favorite drink, pastry or sandwich & chat with friends or relax with a good book.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for Providence Marriott Downtown

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Providence Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FriarDad
Ontario, Canada
May 11, 2009

Comfortable rooms great location

My third stay here - Very friendly reception on arrival by several staff. Very comfortable, clean rooms. Usable desk space. Unfortunately, noisy drunks briefly one night - not hotel's fault. Great location for easy access to Providence Place, Federal Hill, college campuses. Brunch quite enjoyable. Renovation of pool/patio, etc. looks really nice and inviting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Federal Hill district - Atwells Avenue has a variety of really tasty restaurants, Italian delis/grocers, dessert places, street entertainment on occasion. Less than 10 minute drive. However, parking is tight there.

Review of Providence Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver,CO
May 8, 2009

Fantastic getaway

I was in the area to visit a long time friend, and it was the perfect place to be. Beautiful pool and nightlife area. There was an outdoor bar and pool area perfect for meeting others or keeping to your own party. This was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Providence Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Massachusetts
Feb 18, 2009

One Night Escape

In general , the experience was excellent. We wanted one night away where we could swim and escape the frigid New England winter. The pool area was very, very nice. The pool is not huge but it is good for a group of young kids. The water temperature was lovely and the hot tub very pleasant (no one under 15 yo). The rooms were very clean and the bedding very comfortable. A shuttle from the hotel brought us basically anywhere we wanted in downtown Providence. It was convenient and picked up up at an appointed time without a hitch. My one disappointment was that the reservation through Orbitz had said that free meals for kids were included. This wasn't the case - the hotle had never heard of such a deal. The restaurant in the lobby had really expensive breakfast items. That was my one major disappointment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Providence Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tallahassee
Oct 19, 2008

Over and Above service

The Providence Marriott was clean, comfortable (especially the fantastic bedding) and convenient to the interstate. Traveling alone as a single woman it is so important to feel safe and I never had a moment's worry. Rarely is a hotel restaurant on equal par with an in city restaurant but this one stands up to the test. So does their small gift shop, well stocked with unique gifts and a coffee shop to boot. But, more than anything the staff was completely invested in their role to make the stay as pleasant as possible. In fact, they bent over backwards to make sure they had done all they could even after I left when I had forgotten to pack something. They did not hesitate to put it in the mail, at their cost, to get it back to me as soon as possible. I would go on record to say that this is one of the best of the Marriott chain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

1. The Capitol building in Providence is stunning. Don't miss the architecture of the old and new buildings downtown,including Brown University. 2. Stop at Rhode Island School of Design for their gallery and gift shop. 3. Nearby in Cape Cod the cranberry bogs and farms that allowed visitors were a unique treat.

Review of Providence Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Shrewsbury
Sep 1, 2008

Great Service!

In all the hotels I have stayed in the US, this was probably the best customer service experience I have ever had. The staff so friendly throughout our stay, that we left there feeling we would go back any day!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Capital Grille is not too far from the hotel and offer an excellent meal and a great wine list.

Review of Providence Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baltimore
Aug 23, 2008

Very well situated and family friendly

We only stayed one nioght at this hotel but we will definitely return. We loved the location (walking distance to all main attractions) and our young children particularly enjoyed the indoor/outdoor pool. The room had lots of space for a family of four. The decor was inviting and I am sure it will look even better once the final renovations are completed. We also had a great parking spot--close to our room which made unloading the car very easy! We had been traveling for two weeks and our stay at this hotel ended a wonderful vacation on a high note.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

we walked to City Hall and loved our walk through the old part of town--many beautiful houses!

Review of Providence Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 5, 2008

remodeling

they are in the middle of remodeling so they were some inconvinces ice machine on first floor....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

great mall within walking distance and many other things to see about the city....

Review of Providence Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Marblehead
Jun 27, 2008

Great business amenities

Providense Marriott Downtown was very comfortable, grate indoor and outdoor pool, nice restoran, very close to downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Providence Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 26, 2008

Very comfortable

The Marriott in downtown Providence was a great place to stay. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The room, restaurant, and pool/hot tub were great. Our only complaint was that the hotel shuttle to the downtown area was unreliable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Great Italian restaurants on Federal Hill. Thayer Street also nice and lots of choices. Long walk or short drive from hotel. Waterfire on Saturday nights in summer/fall is fantastic.

Review of Providence Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 26, 2008

Nicest Marriott

This was the nicest Marriott we have stayed in over the years. Location was very convenient.The staff was really friendly and helpful. The restaurant, though pricey, had delicious food. Rooms were spotless and the hotel overall was very well-maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The downtown area of Providence has been restored and restored very nicely. In addition to the interesting architecture and restoration, there's good didning and shopping, all within walking easy distance.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search