$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 9, 2015

Providence Marriott Downtown

4 stars
View map of 1 Orms Street, 1 Orms St, Providence, RI 02904

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Providence Marriott Downtown

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Providence Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wilmington, DE
Jun 10, 2009

Great location, facilities & price!

Great place to stay for RISD graduation. Easy interstate access, free parking, convenient hotel shuttle, and close enough to walk to many events. Spa and pool area a big plus for relaxation. Close enough to food and drink alternatives as the in-house was a little pricey for the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Providence Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Valley Stream, NY
May 27, 2009

a great hotel

It's great hotel. Everything is perfect except there is no free WIFI. It's strange that you have to pay for using internet while most of hotels including cheap low class ones are offering free internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Providence Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
May 25, 2009

Weekend away

It was very busy at the hotel so it was very noisy. Once they found me a clean and quiet room, my stay very nice. The staff except for the restuarant was extremely helpful. I would definitely go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Providence Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Tisbury, MA
May 12, 2009

A great family hotel within city limits!

I actually had just stayed there one month prior and it really satisfied all our "family" needs as it has a great pool, good food, good bar, great location, good sized rooms, quiet and clean too! I will apsolutely return again for a third and hopefully many more trips!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Providence Place Mall within a nice walking distance! Also Federal Hill eateries and great market is a short drive!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Providence Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FriarDad
Business
Ontario, Canada
May 11, 2009

Comfortable rooms great location

My third stay here - Very friendly reception on arrival by several staff. Very comfortable, clean rooms. Usable desk space. Unfortunately, noisy drunks briefly one night - not hotel's fault. Great location for easy access to Providence Place, Federal Hill, college campuses. Brunch quite enjoyable. Renovation of pool/patio, etc. looks really nice and inviting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Federal Hill district - Atwells Avenue has a variety of really tasty restaurants, Italian delis/grocers, dessert places, street entertainment on occasion. Less than 10 minute drive. However, parking is tight there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Providence Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver,CO
May 8, 2009

Fantastic getaway

I was in the area to visit a long time friend, and it was the perfect place to be. Beautiful pool and nightlife area. There was an outdoor bar and pool area perfect for meeting others or keeping to your own party. This was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Providence Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Massachusetts
Feb 18, 2009

One Night Escape

In general , the experience was excellent. We wanted one night away where we could swim and escape the frigid New England winter. The pool area was very, very nice. The pool is not huge but it is good for a group of young kids. The water temperature was lovely and the hot tub very pleasant (no one under 15 yo). The rooms were very clean and the bedding very comfortable. A shuttle from the hotel brought us basically anywhere we wanted in downtown Providence. It was convenient and picked up up at an appointed time without a hitch. My one disappointment was that the reservation through Orbitz had said that free meals for kids were included. This wasn't the case - the hotle had never heard of such a deal. The restaurant in the lobby had really expensive breakfast items. That was my one major disappointment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Providence Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tallahassee
Oct 19, 2008

Over and Above service

The Providence Marriott was clean, comfortable (especially the fantastic bedding) and convenient to the interstate. Traveling alone as a single woman it is so important to feel safe and I never had a moment's worry. Rarely is a hotel restaurant on equal par with an in city restaurant but this one stands up to the test. So does their small gift shop, well stocked with unique gifts and a coffee shop to boot. But, more than anything the staff was completely invested in their role to make the stay as pleasant as possible. In fact, they bent over backwards to make sure they had done all they could even after I left when I had forgotten to pack something. They did not hesitate to put it in the mail, at their cost, to get it back to me as soon as possible. I would go on record to say that this is one of the best of the Marriott chain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

1. The Capitol building in Providence is stunning. Don't miss the architecture of the old and new buildings downtown,including Brown University. 2. Stop at Rhode Island School of Design for their gallery and gift shop. 3. Nearby in Cape Cod the cranberry bogs and farms that allowed visitors were a unique treat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Providence Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shrewsbury
Sep 1, 2008

Great Service!

In all the hotels I have stayed in the US, this was probably the best customer service experience I have ever had. The staff so friendly throughout our stay, that we left there feeling we would go back any day!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Capital Grille is not too far from the hotel and offer an excellent meal and a great wine list.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Providence Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore
Aug 23, 2008

Very well situated and family friendly

We only stayed one nioght at this hotel but we will definitely return. We loved the location (walking distance to all main attractions) and our young children particularly enjoyed the indoor/outdoor pool. The room had lots of space for a family of four. The decor was inviting and I am sure it will look even better once the final renovations are completed. We also had a great parking spot--close to our room which made unloading the car very easy! We had been traveling for two weeks and our stay at this hotel ended a wonderful vacation on a high note.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

we walked to City Hall and loved our walk through the old part of town--many beautiful houses!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top