$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 9, 2015 Check-out: Jul 10, 2015

Providence Marriott Downtown

4 stars
View map of 1 Orms Street, 1 Orms St, Providence, RI 02904

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Providence Marriott Downtown

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Providence Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Aug 3, 2009

Providence Marriott

Totally accommodating and helpful staff. Able to provide information regarding laundry facilities, transportation, maps.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Providence Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Globe_shot
Business
Vermont
Jul 29, 2009

An Oasis

The pool area is very nice with cabanas and many assorted small comfortable areas - some of which include small fire pits. All in all a very serene experience and highly walkable to downtown events.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Waterfire events are wonderful!

Review of Providence Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
renientom
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 26, 2009

Good location

Easy access to downtown Providence, RISD Museum, and I95. Beds were comfortable and it was great to have a Starbucks in the lobby. Too bad the air conditioning was noisy - sound of unit did not decrease when we switched it from high to low.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Providence Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Go Buckeyes !!
Business
Columbus, OH
Jul 18, 2009

Exceptional Service

Staff was superb. Always ready to help with anything I needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the shuttle service it will save you time and money.

Review of Providence Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
Jul 13, 2009

Sunday is Not Family Friendly Day

Checked in Friday all went well. Saturday quick breakfast in the convenience store - no smile/out of uniform/ and no 2% milk out. When I asked for 2 % the clerk put a jug on the counter and I went over and go it - no service. I had dinner at the Blue Fin grille and had a great piece of Halibut. Asparagus and rice were done just right. The bartender was hardly friendly. I needed to get to bed early, 9pm, but couldn't due to a reception on the pool deck. Very loud - ended about 11pm and I had a wake up call scheduled for 2:50am. Like many of us that booked there, we were there for an Ironman event. Sunday after returning from the race about 3:30pm there was a "Hot Body" contest, with I guarantee you people who were not guests of the hotel. I called the front desk and she said it would be over by 5pm. I tried wrapping my head in a towel and using cotton balls. Fed up I went to the front desk and she let me have a room as far from the pool deck as possible so that I could nap for an hour before going to dinner with friends. Of the three nights there I got one peacefull nights sleep and would like to be reimbursed for the other two. Later that night after returning from an awesome dinner on Federal Hill I stopped in for a nightcap, same bartender same horrible service. No smile, didn't remember me from the night before. Upon checkout, after being asked how I enjoyed my stay, I repeated the above and recieved an apology. I needed more than an apology.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

It is off the beaten path from dining and shopping.

Review of Providence Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ridgefield, CT
Jul 13, 2009

Great Night in Providence

We spent one night at this hotel and loved it. The rooms were nice and comfortable and we enjoyed the pool area very much. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location was close to the downtown attractions, but still a few blocks drive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Providence Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Providence
Jun 14, 2009

Really ugly

Very average rooms. The A/C was so noisy that I had to switch that off. The front desk girl claimed that Orbitz did not notify the hotel that I had asked for a queen bed. Overall, I will never stay in this hotel again. I stay in Westin for last 5 years but my last check in was delayed so I tried different hotel. Very disappointed.When I was leaving the hotel, I have my suits in my hangers, The girl asked me as if I was stealing their hanger.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Providence Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
Jun 12, 2009

Providence Mariott

Clean and quiet. Perfectly comfortable rooms. Will stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Providence Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wilmington, DE
Jun 10, 2009

Great location, facilities & price!

Great place to stay for RISD graduation. Easy interstate access, free parking, convenient hotel shuttle, and close enough to walk to many events. Spa and pool area a big plus for relaxation. Close enough to food and drink alternatives as the in-house was a little pricey for the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Providence Marriott Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Valley Stream, NY
May 27, 2009

a great hotel

It's great hotel. Everything is perfect except there is no free WIFI. It's strange that you have to pay for using internet while most of hotels including cheap low class ones are offering free internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top