$203 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 1, 2014 Check-out: Oct 3, 2014

WyndhamVR Inn On The Harbor

3 stars
359 Thames St, Newport, RI 2840
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
15 reviews
great getaway

Great value for downtown newport, very clean, great location. Would definitely stay here again See full review

  • Matt D 23
  • Sep 3, 2013
Hotel/condo on the Harbor

Perfect location! Great view. Reasonably priced. We weren't expecting a condo/hotel, but were... See full review

  • Super Mom of awesome kids
  • Aug 11, 2013
Remodeled suites on Newport Harbor with kitchenettes and washer/dryers
The Wyndham Vacation Resorts - Inn on the Harbor overlooks beautiful Newport Harbor and marina in the heart of the city. The property offers guests one- and two-bedroom suites that comfortably sleep up to four guests. Each suite offers free high-speed Wi-Fi, a kitchenette and washer/dryer units. The Wyndham Vacation Resorts - Inn on the Harbor boasts an on-site restaurant. Guests watch the sunset each night from the rooftop deck and retreat to the social lounge for games or watching the large-screen TV. Daily housekeeping is available upon request.

 

Highlights
  • Social room with games
  • Suites have kitchenettes, washer/dryer units and Wi-Fi
  • Business center
  • On-site restaurant and martini bar
  • Rooftop deck to watch sunset

Rooms
The Wyndham Vacation Resorts - Inn on the Harbor boasts 60 one- and two-bedroom non-smoking suites that accommodate up to four guests. All rooms feature separate bedrooms and a kitchenette with a stove, full refrigerator, dishwasher, microwave, blender and place setting for eight. The suites have full washer/dryer units. Guests access the Internet via free high-speed Wi-Fi and watch cable TV on multiple sets and use the CD and DVD players. The large bedrooms have generous closet space. Daily housekeeping is available upon request (fees may apply). Kids stay for free at the Wyndham Vacation Resorts - Inn on the Harbor.

Features
The Wyndham Vacation Resorts - Inn on the Harbor overlooks the beautiful and idyllic Newport Harbor and marina, just steps from the many attractions in downtown Newport. The hotel offers free high-speed Wi-Fi in public areas and guests enjoy casual and fine dining at H20, the on-site restaurant, and grab a cocktail at the martini bar. A business center features audio/visual equipment and full services. Watch the sunset from the rooftop deck or play games in the social lounge. The Wyndham Vacation Resorts - Inn on the Harbor concierge helps acquire discounted tickets to local attractions and offers a free shuttle to get there.

Transportation
  • T.F. Green International Airport (17.8 mi/28.6 km)
  • Logan International Airport Boston (62.9 mi/101.2 km)

 

Attractions
  • Newport Marina (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Bowen's Wharf (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Cliff Walk (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Gilded Age mansions (1.7 mi/2.8 km)

 

Business
  • Free high-speed Wi-Fi
  • Business center with full services and computer
  • Audio/visual equipment

Hotel Map

41.4834 -71.3146
Nearby airports
Theodore Francis Green State Airport, (PVD), 28.10, MI, SE;
Area description
Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed WyndhamVR Inn On The Harbor also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 1.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

WyndhamVR Inn On The Harbor Rooms

Deluxe
Our spacious one bedroom deluxe condos sleep up to four guests and measure approximately 600 square feet. Enjoy one queen beds in bedroom queen sleeper sofa in living room one bath partial kitchen and city view. Maximum occupancy is 4. Private sleeping ar
Standard
Our spacious one bedroom condos sleep up to four guests and measure approximately 480-600 square feet. Enjoy a queen bed in the private bedroom queen sleeper sofa in living area and mini-kitchen with city view. Maximum occupancy is 4. Private sleeping are
Superior
Our spacious superior one bedroom condos sleep up to four guests and measure 480 - 600 square feet. Enjoy a queen bed in bedroom queen sleeper sofa in living room partial kitchen one bath and harbor view. Maximum occupancy is 4. Private sleeping area slee

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Radio
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (15)

Ratings and reviews for WyndhamVR Inn On The Harbor

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 15
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of WyndhamVR Inn On The Harbor

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JohnCarol
Schenectady, NY
Aug 21, 2014

Newport

Good location. Right in the heart of things. Can walk to most things like shopping, eating and touring historic Newport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of WyndhamVR Inn On The Harbor

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matt D 23
freehold nj
Sep 3, 2013

great getaway

Great value for downtown newport, very clean, great location. Would definitely stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of WyndhamVR Inn On The Harbor

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Mom of awesome kids
Baltimore, MD
Aug 11, 2013

Hotel/condo on the Harbor

Perfect location! Great view. Reasonably priced. We weren't expecting a condo/hotel, but were pleasantly surprised when we entered the room since we have kids. It was very comfortable & convenient. There was no daily housekeeping which was also a surprise, but it helped us be more environmentally responsible. Would definitely stay there again for the price, location & conviience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of WyndhamVR Inn On The Harbor

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Salve Dad
Fairfield, CT
May 20, 2013

Graduation weekend

Made the reservation many months in advance, since things book up for graduation weekend. Very pleasant staff, provided an extra parking pass, which is a lifesaver in Newport. Great location in the heart of the action, bars, restaurants, shopping etc. We had requested a room overlooking the harbor, but were given a side location with just an OK view. Very good valve for the money. Would definitely consider the Wyndham again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Bring comfortable shoes, walking is the way to go in Newport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of WyndhamVR Inn On The Harbor

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ash02
Elmira, NY, USA
Sep 27, 2011

location was perfection

everything was very good with the exception of the comfort of the bed. it was horribly uncomfortable and we had to sleep on the sofa bed in the living room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

dinner at Zelda's great food, good service and a casual atmosphere

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of WyndhamVR Inn On The Harbor

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JoefromPA
Pennsylvania
Sep 7, 2011

Newport Hotel

This was a good experience. The price was a little too high but it was a holiday weekend and it is lovated in the center of the activity. All in all a good place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of WyndhamVR Inn On The Harbor

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nydia
Coplay,Pa
Aug 3, 2011

wyndham on the harbor

Our condo was great in the way we had a great harbor view. the sunsets were spectacular.Housekeeping was good and rooms clean.Most things to do were very close.Very enjoyable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Most things to do are very close to this hotel. We biked or walked to most places including the mansions and Fort Adams.We took the ferry from Fort Adams to Block Island and back.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of WyndhamVR Inn On The Harbor

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Newington, CT
Jun 20, 2011

No welcome upon arrival, room nice.

The staff member at the front desk didn't bother to look away from her paperwork upon my arrival. I was told to wait until she was done. I was also referred to as "the one that booked last minute". This person then told me my room would have to be changed in the morning. Of course I was not notified at the time of booking, but only upon arrival. The registration took forever and the woman was just plain cold and nasty. When my wife and I entered our room it was not made up, the bed and bathroom were used. We came back down and waited another 15 minutes for another room. At that time I was asked to move my car, the hotel has limited parking and asks you to double and triple park and leave your keys a the front desk. The next morning we were made to register to get another room, the staff person (much nicer woman, but not well trained) took about 20 minutes to do the paperwork, and we weren't given a room until about two hours later. We were out at lunch, so we didn't mind. When we returned we were given the keys to our new room, when we got to the room the keys didn't work. I went back to the desk and waited another 5 minutes for new keys. This is all 100% true. To be fair some of the staff were very nice and helpful. The man in the members lounge was very friendly and helpful. The location was great. The roof desk was very nice. The owner of the restaurant on the ground floor was very nice as well. Newport is great, the people everywhere are so friendly and everyone is eager to make your time there as good as it can be. But beware the poorly trained staff and the "debbie downer" desk woman.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Beware, Newport turns into the Jersey Shore after 10pm.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of WyndhamVR Inn On The Harbor

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Jun 15, 2011

Very Nice Stay

Attentive staff, nice surroundinga, accomocations very functional and clean. Wouild definitely stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is located in the midst of the business district. Lots of shops, restaurants within walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of WyndhamVR Inn On The Harbor

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Walks everywhere
White Plains, NY
Sep 27, 2010

A Room with a View

Excellent property if you want to be in the heart of downtown Newport. The Manager who checked us in was friendly and knowledgeable. The rooms are condo style with living room, kitchen (with everything from pots and pans to a blender), bedroom and bathroom. The harbor view rooms have a wall of glass in living room which afford a beautiful view of Newport harbor. Can watch sail boats, yachts and cruise ships come and go. TV in living room and bedroom, free wifi access, free parking. Location is in the middle of the action on Thames. Easy walk to mansions and all attractions. No room service, but restaurants and bars within feet of this property. Staff was friendly and helpful. Check-in and check-out were simple and quick. I would try to book here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Scales is an excellent seafood restaurant but bring cash because they don't take credit cards.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search