$289 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 17, 2014 Check-out: Jul 18, 2014

Hotel Viking

4 stars
One Bellevue Avenue, Newport, RI 02840
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
113 reviews
Enjoyable experience

The Hotel Viking was perfect. The location is ideal for walking to all Newport hot spots i.e. The... See full review

  • Love To Travel Stephanie
  • Jun 12, 2014
Amazing, Super+++, Best Quality and Comfort

You must stay here if you are coming to Newport, RI. Its the most amazing place... See full review

  • KiKuBoston
  • May 1, 2014
Elegant boutique hotel in the heart of Newport's Historic Hill area
The elegant Hotel Viking, a Noble House Hotel, sits among gorgeous brownstones and nearby mansions in Newport's Historic Hill neighborhood. From the lobby to the guest rooms, beautiful furnishings, carpets and wall hangings envelope guests with classic decor. The 80-year-old Hotel Viking has welcomed notable guests, including John F. and Jackie Kennedy to its hilltop location overlooking Bellevue Avenue. Guests get massage and facial treatments at Spa Terre or enjoy locally-sourced cuisine at One Bellevue restaurant. Valet parking is available for a fee.
Highlights
  • High-speed Wi-Fi in all rooms
  • Meeting space
  • Renovated guest rooms with classic, upscale decor
  • Spa Terre for massage and facials
  • All meals plus High Tea at One Bellevue restaurant

Rooms
Hotel Viking, a Noble House Hotel, harks back to the Gilded Age of Newport when many notables stayed in its elegant guest rooms. It provides an upscale setting for discerning guests, with beautiful furnishings, wall tapestries, silk comforters and luxurious linens atop pillow-top mattresses. A rich color palette captivates upon entering the rooms and suites, which all come with a complimentary welcome basket of goodies. All accommodations have flat-screen LCD TVs, in-room safes, high-speed Wi-Fi and movie rental. The bathrooms recently underwent a renovation, adding rain showerheads, terry robes and luxe products. Suites at the Hotel Viking have one-and-a-half bathrooms and separate living areas with sleeper sofas.

Features
The Hotel Viking, a member of the Historic Hotels of America, sits atop Newport's Historic Hill among stately homes and harks back to the area's Gilded Age. Guests enjoy ornate decor, rich fabrics and special touches throughout. The hotel has the award-winning One Bellevue restaurant for all meals -- with fresh seafood, prime meats and a raw bar -- as well as a highly regarded afternoon tea. Guests unwind with a massage or facial in Spa Terre. The Hotel Viking has 14,000 square feet of functional meeting space over 10 rooms.

Transportation
  • T.F. Green International Airport (17.7 mi/28.5 km)
  • Logan International Airport Boston (62.7 mi/100.9 km)
Attractions
  • Touro Synagogue (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Tennis Hall of Fame (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Bowen's Wharf (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Cliff Walk (0.6 mi/1.1 km)

 

Business
  • 14,000 square feet of functional meeting space
  • 10 meeting rooms
  • High-speed Wi-Fi
Policies and Fees
  • Valet parking fees are as follow: $30 USD from Apr to Oct and $20 USD from Nov to Mar.
  • Resort fee is $14 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Viking Rooms

Manor Guestroom
200 sqft-1 queen bed - Historic wing LCD TV- Glass Shower
Newport King Guestroom
310 sqft-1 king bed-Newly renovated LCD TV- Desk-Mini refrigerator
Newport Queen Guestroom
310 sqft-2 Queen Beds- Recently renovated LCD TV- Desk-Mini refrigerator
Newport Handicap Accessible King
310 sqft-ADA Accessible-Roll in shower 1 King Bed-LCD TV-Refrigerator
Estate Guestroom
320 sqft-1 king bed - Historic Wing LCD TV- Glass Shower
Premier King Guestroom
Junior Suite-430 sqft-Living area Pullout sofa-LCD TV-One King Bed
Noble Suite
600 sqft-1 bedroom suite-King bed-Living area Pullout sofa-LCD TV-One and half bath
Mansion Suite
475sqft-1 Bedroom Suite-King bed-Living area Pull-out sofa-LCD TV-Glass shower

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Jacuzzi
Casino
Sauna
Boating
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Viking also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.4878 -71.3096
Nearby airports
Theodore Francis Green State Airport, (PVD), 28.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Dining

One Bellevue
Flavor and freshness define the boutique American bistro that is One Bellevue award winning restaurant. Culinary classics are being created anew with seasonal menus showcasing ingredients from the land and sea that are locally-sourced whenever possible.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (113)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Viking

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 113
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

99% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NinaPT
Woodmere, NY
Jul 6, 2014

Great Getaway to Newport

The Viking Hotel is a lovely trip back to early 1920's charm and elegance. The Hotel is a stately presence at the top of hill where Touro St., with the famous Touro Synagogue, meets Bellevue Avenue. The staff was welcoming and friendly from the minute we pulled our car up, and continued to address our every need. The rooms are simple, but well appointed, with beautiful decor and extremely comfortable beds. Complimentary coffee was available every morning, and lemonade and lime infused water was available in the afternoon. The indoor pool looked inviting and was a nice size, and they had a modest but functional gym. The Spa Terre was another hidden gem, and well worth a treatment or two. Overall, this was a great hotel to stay in, as in was extremely comfortable and in an excellent part of town, walkable to the Touro Synagogue, the waterfront area, and the cliff walk and mansions. A really perfect 2-3 day getaway!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Stop and Shop very close for anything you may have forgotten.

Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Downtown Sal
NYC
Jun 18, 2014

Great hotel - would go back

Excellent location in a wonderful city. would go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weekend Getaways2014
Boston, Ma.
Jun 4, 2014

Anniversary Getaway

The location of the hotel is great, walking distance to downtown. We only stayed one night, so I was not too exposed to the hotel's amenities. My wife did use the gym facility and she liked it, the indoor pool looked nice. I wish the rooftop bar was OPEN a little longer. But onsite parking is great, and they allow you to keep your car there all day, even after check out which was great. My only grape was that the bed was too hard for my comfort. Other than that I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Speedodo
Flushing, NY
Apr 21, 2014

Weekend getaway

The bathroom isn't clean. You can see fingerprints all over the cups. However, very friendly staffs and comfortable bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EJ111
Massachusetts
Mar 10, 2014

Charming hotel

We had a very nice stay at Hotel Viking. Small-ish but comfortable and elegant room. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. We will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
olinka83
newport, RI
Jul 31, 2013

get away

room and bathroom were extremely tiny and claustrophobic. sink was clogged and drained very slowly. It was a tiny bathroom sink and the clog made it that much worse. It was very unpleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cockney
Boston
Jun 4, 2013

Newport Classic

Historic hotel in a historic district. Completely renovated, but still retains old world charm. Staff are attentive, polite and efficient. Valets pointed out the nearby parking garage in case we didn't wish to pay the thirty dollar valet parking fee. How many hotels would do that? Roof deck bar, pool and spa round out a hotel with all the amenities you could expect. The location is in a lovely neighborhood, centrally located and very convenient. We didn't try the restaurant but as the chef was voted best in Newport we certainly shall on our next stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeffrey B.
Valencia, Pa
May 23, 2013

Old But Clean

Hotel is very old but has been redone. Not a lot of amenities but the place is quiet and comfortable. The restaurant was good and reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to all of Newport's mansions and cliff walk

Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Rebecca
NY
Mar 31, 2013

Great Romantic Getaway

The hotel room was clean and well kept. The staff was attentive and accomodating. Bed was comfortable and quiet rooms for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Don n Barb
New Jersey
Mar 19, 2013

Fantastic 20th Anniversary stay

From the moment we drove up to the entrance, we were delighted we chose the Hotel Viking. We arrived @ 10:30am on Saturday in time to see the St. Patty's Day Parade. We decided to let the hotel staff know that we had arrived and to our surprise our room was ready & we could check in immediately. That was great since check in is normally @ 4pm. Our room was beautifully appointed, clean, with King size bed and nice view. We left our things & headed to the parade 3 blocks away again. The hotel was in a great location, within walking distance to many attractions and restaurants and yet far away enough from the crowds and noise. When we returned I mentioned that we were celebrating my wife's birthday & our 20th wedding Anniversary and asked about the Mass schedule for Sunday and headed to our room. A short while later a knock came at the door & a staff member presented 2 very tasty cupcakes & an offer for a free bottle of wine with dinner plus 20% off any Spa visit. While we're not big Spa people, the bottle of wine with dinner was great as was the meal. The entire staff (reception, valet attendants, maintenance and restaurant) at the Hotel Viking were professional, polite and attentive to our needs. Looking forward to our next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Bit Players at the Firehouse Theatre is a Great way to Laugh away an evening. They Perform Friday & Saturday Make a reservation & BYOB. It's Improv. & the audience helps with Ideas. Great Fun a must do.

Back to menu Return to top