$279 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2014 Check-out: Jul 29, 2014

Hotel Viking

4 stars
One Bellevue Avenue, Newport, RI 02840
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
113 reviews
Enjoyable experience

The Hotel Viking was perfect. The location is ideal for walking to all Newport hot spots i.e. The... See full review

  • Love To Travel Stephanie
  • Jun 12, 2014
Amazing, Super+++, Best Quality and Comfort

You must stay here if you are coming to Newport, RI. Its the most amazing place... See full review

  • KiKuBoston
  • May 1, 2014
Elegant boutique hotel in the heart of Newport's Historic Hill area
The elegant Hotel Viking, a Noble House Hotel, sits among gorgeous brownstones and nearby mansions in Newport's Historic Hill neighborhood. From the lobby to the guest rooms, beautiful furnishings, carpets and wall hangings envelope guests with classic decor. The 80-year-old Hotel Viking has welcomed notable guests, including John F. and Jackie Kennedy to its hilltop location overlooking Bellevue Avenue. Guests get massage and facial treatments at Spa Terre or enjoy locally-sourced cuisine at One Bellevue restaurant. Valet parking is available for a fee.
Highlights
  • High-speed Wi-Fi in all rooms
  • Meeting space
  • Renovated guest rooms with classic, upscale decor
  • Spa Terre for massage and facials
  • All meals plus High Tea at One Bellevue restaurant

Rooms
Hotel Viking, a Noble House Hotel, harks back to the Gilded Age of Newport when many notables stayed in its elegant guest rooms. It provides an upscale setting for discerning guests, with beautiful furnishings, wall tapestries, silk comforters and luxurious linens atop pillow-top mattresses. A rich color palette captivates upon entering the rooms and suites, which all come with a complimentary welcome basket of goodies. All accommodations have flat-screen LCD TVs, in-room safes, high-speed Wi-Fi and movie rental. The bathrooms recently underwent a renovation, adding rain showerheads, terry robes and luxe products. Suites at the Hotel Viking have one-and-a-half bathrooms and separate living areas with sleeper sofas.

Features
The Hotel Viking, a member of the Historic Hotels of America, sits atop Newport's Historic Hill among stately homes and harks back to the area's Gilded Age. Guests enjoy ornate decor, rich fabrics and special touches throughout. The hotel has the award-winning One Bellevue restaurant for all meals -- with fresh seafood, prime meats and a raw bar -- as well as a highly regarded afternoon tea. Guests unwind with a massage or facial in Spa Terre. The Hotel Viking has 14,000 square feet of functional meeting space over 10 rooms.

Transportation
  • T.F. Green International Airport (17.7 mi/28.5 km)
  • Logan International Airport Boston (62.7 mi/100.9 km)
Attractions
  • Touro Synagogue (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Tennis Hall of Fame (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Bowen's Wharf (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Cliff Walk (0.6 mi/1.1 km)

 

Business
  • 14,000 square feet of functional meeting space
  • 10 meeting rooms
  • High-speed Wi-Fi
Policies and Fees
  • Valet parking fees are as follow: $30 USD from Apr to Oct and $20 USD from Nov to Mar.
  • Resort fee is $14 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.4878 -71.3096
Nearby airports
Theodore Francis Green State Airport, (PVD), 28.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Viking also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Viking Rooms

Manor Guestroom
200 sqft-1 queen bed - Historic wing LCD TV- Glass Shower
Newport King Guestroom
310 sqft-1 king bed-Newly renovated LCD TV- Desk-Mini refrigerator
Newport Queen Guestroom
310 sqft-2 Queen Beds- Recently renovated LCD TV- Desk-Mini refrigerator
Newport Handicap Accessible King
310 sqft-ADA Accessible-Roll in shower 1 King Bed-LCD TV-Refrigerator
Estate Guestroom
320 sqft-1 king bed - Historic Wing LCD TV- Glass Shower
Premier King Guestroom
Junior Suite-430 sqft-Living area Pullout sofa-LCD TV-One King Bed
Noble Suite
600 sqft-1 bedroom suite-King bed-Living area Pullout sofa-LCD TV-One and half bath
Mansion Suite
475sqft-1 Bedroom Suite-King bed-Living area Pull-out sofa-LCD TV-Glass shower

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Jacuzzi
Casino
Sauna
Boating
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Dining

One Bellevue
Flavor and freshness define the boutique American bistro that is One Bellevue award winning restaurant. Culinary classics are being created anew with seasonal menus showcasing ingredients from the land and sea that are locally-sourced whenever possible.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (113)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Viking

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 113
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

99% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
olinka83
newport, RI
Jul 31, 2013

get away

room and bathroom were extremely tiny and claustrophobic. sink was clogged and drained very slowly. It was a tiny bathroom sink and the clog made it that much worse. It was very unpleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sunset Jenkins
CT
Feb 21, 2012

Viking Hotel

This hotel has some ups and downs. I originally booked and paid for a room which was titled the "Newport King". I was supposed to have a room with 1 King sized bed. When arriving at the hotel, the staff was interesting. The younger people working were nice and polite as could be, however, anyone working that appeared to be over the age of 25 was rude and very short with me, leading me to believe that we were treated poorly due to the fact that I myself and young. When checking in i was informed there were no King rooms available and i was put into a double queen room. Normally I wouldnt have minded, but this was supposed to be a romantic valentines evening. As a gift, I had a massage appointment ready for my girlfriend who said it was exceptional. Then dinner in the hotel restaurant which was exceptional. I went back to the front desk to ask about the price difference in the room that i had paid online, only to be treated rudely again and told i need to take that up with the website i booked through. Overall, the room was nice, the spa(and spa staff) was excellent and the dining exceptional. However, I will probably never return due to the service i received from the hotel staff. Whether you're 9 or 99, you should be treated with the same respect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Expensive, but exceptional.

Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Speedodo
Flushing, NY
Apr 21, 2014

Weekend getaway

The bathroom isn't clean. You can see fingerprints all over the cups. However, very friendly staffs and comfortable bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Rebecca
NY
Mar 31, 2013

Great Romantic Getaway

The hotel room was clean and well kept. The staff was attentive and accomodating. Bed was comfortable and quiet rooms for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chelmsford, MA
Oct 31, 2010

Associates were friendly

Besides spending the night at the Viking, my husband and I attended a wedding reception that took place there. The reception room was beautiful and the meal was excellent. Our room was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a couple of blocks from stores and the harbor.

Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tammy tourguide
Warwick, RI
Apr 22, 2009

The good, the good and the really small

We only stayed for 1 night and we really didn't spend much time in the room. It was clean but a little noisy because we were next to the roof with the air/heating systems right outside our window. Service was great. Very professional The bathroom was really small the shower was great bigger than the other part of the bathroom. The sink was smaller than 1 on an airplane.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pianosmith
Pomfret, Connecticut
Jul 9, 2012

Wonderful empty-nester's getaway

We recently became empty-nesters and are just beginning to take some time for ourselves. The Viking was the perfect place to get away and to celebrate our 25th anniversary. The room was immaculate, and though small, was plenty of room for 2. The bathroom had only a 1/2 sink so it was small for washing up, but this was really insignificant because the rest of the hotel was beautiful and clean. The staff was waiting to serve but not in the way. The Adirondack chairs on the front porch were perfect for an afternoon rest and the outdoor patio at the restaurant made for an inviting breakfast. The hotel location is great because you can leave the car and walk everywhere but you're just far enough out of the center that it's not crowded. Can't wait to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are looking for a great meal for a special occasion, try 22 Bowen on Bowen's Wharf. We walked there and had a spectacular meal. A bit pricey, but worth every penny.

Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
portsmouth, nh
Apr 5, 2011

great location, great restaurant

weekend getaway in Newport was great. The Hotel Viking was in a great location. Room was a little small and we were right next to the noisy elevator which was a bit disappointing. Restaurant in the Hotel was terrific... food and service. Lobster special could not be beat-- we went back twice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

.

Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Jun 7, 2010

Great stay in Newport

Small rooms, yet perfectly comfortable and clean. I would definitely stay again and recommend the Hotel Viking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Thames Street, where all the action is, is a very short walk (3 blocks). The hotel is on Bellevue; where all the mansions are located so it's a beautiful area.

Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Jun 7, 2010

Great stay in Newport

Small rooms, yet perfectly comfortable and clean. I would definitely stay again and recommend the Hotel Viking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Thames Street, where all the action is, is a very short walk (3 blocks). The hotel is on Bellevue; where all the mansions are located so it's a beautiful area.

Back to menu Return to top