$259 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2014 Check-out: Aug 14, 2014

Hotel Viking

4 stars
One Bellevue Avenue, Newport, RI 02840
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
113 reviews
Enjoyable experience

The Hotel Viking was perfect. The location is ideal for walking to all Newport hot spots i.e. The... See full review

  • Love To Travel Stephanie
  • Jun 12, 2014
Amazing, Super+++, Best Quality and Comfort

You must stay here if you are coming to Newport, RI. Its the most amazing place... See full review

  • KiKuBoston
  • May 1, 2014
Elegant boutique hotel in the heart of Newport's Historic Hill area
The elegant Hotel Viking, a Noble House Hotel, sits among gorgeous brownstones and nearby mansions in Newport's Historic Hill neighborhood. From the lobby to the guest rooms, beautiful furnishings, carpets and wall hangings envelope guests with classic decor. The 80-year-old Hotel Viking has welcomed notable guests, including John F. and Jackie Kennedy to its hilltop location overlooking Bellevue Avenue. Guests get massage and facial treatments at Spa Terre or enjoy locally-sourced cuisine at One Bellevue restaurant. Valet parking is available for a fee.
Highlights
  • High-speed Wi-Fi in all rooms
  • Meeting space
  • Renovated guest rooms with classic, upscale decor
  • Spa Terre for massage and facials
  • All meals plus High Tea at One Bellevue restaurant

Rooms
Hotel Viking, a Noble House Hotel, harks back to the Gilded Age of Newport when many notables stayed in its elegant guest rooms. It provides an upscale setting for discerning guests, with beautiful furnishings, wall tapestries, silk comforters and luxurious linens atop pillow-top mattresses. A rich color palette captivates upon entering the rooms and suites, which all come with a complimentary welcome basket of goodies. All accommodations have flat-screen LCD TVs, in-room safes, high-speed Wi-Fi and movie rental. The bathrooms recently underwent a renovation, adding rain showerheads, terry robes and luxe products. Suites at the Hotel Viking have one-and-a-half bathrooms and separate living areas with sleeper sofas.

Features
The Hotel Viking, a member of the Historic Hotels of America, sits atop Newport's Historic Hill among stately homes and harks back to the area's Gilded Age. Guests enjoy ornate decor, rich fabrics and special touches throughout. The hotel has the award-winning One Bellevue restaurant for all meals -- with fresh seafood, prime meats and a raw bar -- as well as a highly regarded afternoon tea. Guests unwind with a massage or facial in Spa Terre. The Hotel Viking has 14,000 square feet of functional meeting space over 10 rooms.

Transportation
  • T.F. Green International Airport (17.7 mi/28.5 km)
  • Logan International Airport Boston (62.7 mi/100.9 km)
Attractions
  • Touro Synagogue (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Tennis Hall of Fame (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Bowen's Wharf (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Cliff Walk (0.6 mi/1.1 km)

 

Business
  • 14,000 square feet of functional meeting space
  • 10 meeting rooms
  • High-speed Wi-Fi
Policies and Fees
  • Valet parking fees are as follow: $30 USD from Apr to Oct and $20 USD from Nov to Mar.
  • Resort fee is $14 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Viking Rooms

Manor Guestroom
200 sqft-1 queen bed - Historic wing LCD TV- Glass Shower
Newport King Guestroom
310 sqft-1 king bed-Newly renovated LCD TV- Desk-Mini refrigerator
Newport Queen Guestroom
310 sqft-2 Queen Beds- Recently renovated LCD TV- Desk-Mini refrigerator
Newport Handicap Accessible King
310 sqft-ADA Accessible-Roll in shower 1 King Bed-LCD TV-Refrigerator
Estate Guestroom
320 sqft-1 king bed - Historic Wing LCD TV- Glass Shower
Premier King Guestroom
Junior Suite-430 sqft-Living area Pullout sofa-LCD TV-One King Bed
Noble Suite
600 sqft-1 bedroom suite-King bed-Living area Pullout sofa-LCD TV-One and half bath
Mansion Suite
475sqft-1 Bedroom Suite-King bed-Living area Pull-out sofa-LCD TV-Glass shower

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Jacuzzi
Casino
Sauna
Boating
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Hotel Map

41.4878 -71.3096
Nearby airports
Theodore Francis Green State Airport, (PVD), 28.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Dining

One Bellevue
Flavor and freshness define the boutique American bistro that is One Bellevue award winning restaurant. Culinary classics are being created anew with seasonal menus showcasing ingredients from the land and sea that are locally-sourced whenever possible.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (113)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Viking

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
113 out of 113
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Downtown Sal
NYC
Jun 18, 2014

Great hotel - would go back

Excellent location in a wonderful city. would go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
MA
Apr 18, 2011

Viking Weekend 2011

The staff @ Viking are OUTSTANDING! The guest room was on the "small" side, but can not complain. The hotel restaurant is excellent. We will ALWAYS return to The VIking for our Newport weekends!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fredericksburg, Va
Sep 27, 2010

New to Newport

Check in and out was smooth. The room was a little smaller than we thought. Our only disappointment was with our car,valet brought our car then took our car back to the parking lot therefore putting us late to the wedding we were there to attend. Yet with the little problems, the hotel was gorgeous and in a great location for the places we needed to be and the places we enjoyed walking to. We would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We were in town for a lovely wedding it was a short walk to the reheasal dinner, church nearby and down the street was the reception at the Belcourt. We enjoyed our walks to the harbor and local shops.

Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Long Island, NY
Apr 19, 2011

Very nice old Hotel

The room was well decorated and bed very comfortable. We stayed in the hotel's smallest room type 150 sq ft. It was small. If you plan to spend time in your room go for one of the bigger selections. The hotel location is great, walking distance of most everything, and the valet parking was efficient. The indoor pool and hot tub were very nice. We didn't use the bar or dining, but they looked nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weekend Getaways2014
Boston, Ma.
Jun 4, 2014

Anniversary Getaway

The location of the hotel is great, walking distance to downtown. We only stayed one night, so I was not too exposed to the hotel's amenities. My wife did use the gym facility and she liked it, the indoor pool looked nice. I wish the rooftop bar was OPEN a little longer. But onsite parking is great, and they allow you to keep your car there all day, even after check out which was great. My only grape was that the bed was too hard for my comfort. Other than that I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Branford, CT
May 17, 2010

Beautiful hotel

We only stayed one night . The room was small but clean. The bathroom was also very clean, but it was so small that when I dried my hair, my arm kept hitting the glass shower door, so I had to keep it open. We are average size people, but it was hard to maneuver in the bathroom. Also, the sink was very tiny.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia
Aug 1, 2011

Nice European Hotel

Hotel is in good location, walking distance from main shopping area. Rooms are nice, though a bit small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Funinnewport
South Shore MA
Dec 12, 2011

Excellent location

Beautiful old hotel. Staff is very friendly. It was our second time staying there this year. First time we were upgraded to a suite which was lovely. This time we had a room in the newer part of the hotel. The room was very nice however it was a little noisy. We were awakened very early by the guest above us pacing back and forth on a squeaky floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoyed Brick Alley Pub this trip.

Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NinaPT
Woodmere, NY
Jul 6, 2014

Great Getaway to Newport

The Viking Hotel is a lovely trip back to early 1920's charm and elegance. The Hotel is a stately presence at the top of hill where Touro St., with the famous Touro Synagogue, meets Bellevue Avenue. The staff was welcoming and friendly from the minute we pulled our car up, and continued to address our every need. The rooms are simple, but well appointed, with beautiful decor and extremely comfortable beds. Complimentary coffee was available every morning, and lemonade and lime infused water was available in the afternoon. The indoor pool looked inviting and was a nice size, and they had a modest but functional gym. The Spa Terre was another hidden gem, and well worth a treatment or two. Overall, this was a great hotel to stay in, as in was extremely comfortable and in an excellent part of town, walkable to the Touro Synagogue, the waterfront area, and the cliff walk and mansions. A really perfect 2-3 day getaway!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Stop and Shop very close for anything you may have forgotten.

Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bassettdog
long island ny
Jan 4, 2011

Grande Dame of Newport

While the Viking has been around for a long time, it us still fresh and contemporary. The service is top rate. Front desk to room service speaks if quality. Appointments are great. This was a get away weekend and it was made so nice by a great hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Buskars Irish pub. Gastropub with great beers and even better food

Back to menu Return to top