$189 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 29, 2015 Check-out: Apr 30, 2015

Hotel Viking

4 stars
View map of 1 Bellevue Ave, Newport, RI 02840

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Viking

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NinaPT
Business
Woodmere, NY
Jul 6, 2014

Great Getaway to Newport

The Viking Hotel is a lovely trip back to early 1920's charm and elegance. The Hotel is a stately presence at the top of hill where Touro St., with the famous Touro Synagogue, meets Bellevue Avenue. The staff was welcoming and friendly from the minute we pulled our car up, and continued to address our every need. The rooms are simple, but well appointed, with beautiful decor and extremely comfortable beds. Complimentary coffee was available every morning, and lemonade and lime infused water was available in the afternoon. The indoor pool looked inviting and was a nice size, and they had a modest but functional gym. The Spa Terre was another hidden gem, and well worth a treatment or two. Overall, this was a great hotel to stay in, as in was extremely comfortable and in an excellent part of town, walkable to the Touro Synagogue, the waterfront area, and the cliff walk and mansions. A really perfect 2-3 day getaway!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Stop and Shop very close for anything you may have forgotten.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DandM32
Business
New York
Jul 16, 2014

Nice hotel

Very nice hotel in a good location. Had a nice rooftop bar. The staff was very helpful. Did not care for the design of bathroom, - the toilet on one side and the sink on the other side but it is an older building. Also when we checked in we were told wi fi was free but then there was a 14.00 resort fee so wi fi was not really free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Just walk down towards the water - lots to do and see and it is a short walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FrequentTraveler9
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 21, 2014

Excellent stay

I highly recommend it. Only there for one night, but it was worth it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LJ and JD
Business
Long Island, NY
Aug 8, 2014

beautiful hotel

This is a lovely hotel on a great street in Newport.. It is located conveniently between the harbor and the mansions and ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

On the wharf all of our dining experiences were great and you could not beat the view!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
globalfromal
Business
San Diego
Dec 16, 2014

Hanging out

Located in a pretty good location in Newport. Everything is overpriced in this town, so why not the hotels? The room was nice, as was the staff, but the same hotel located in another location would be 3-star, but because it is in Newport, RI, it is 4-5 star. The whole town is WAY overpriced. I'm not sure why? They have good seafood, but that is really about all they have to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Melissa C.
Business
West Haven
Feb 13, 2015

Newport Girls Getaway

We stayed here in the height of the summer holiday and the price reflected that! While the room was luxurious, it wasn't worth $500 for a night. The hotel roof top bar was great, with live music. Location was also fantastic as you could walk most places. I would recommend but shop around for a good rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wili R.
Business
Jersey City
Mar 9, 2015

Romantic Weekend Getaway

We had a great time! Only hiccup was the heater in our room wasn't working properly. We addressed our concern with the front desk and it worked for a little bit but then it stopped working again. It normally wouldn't be a big deal but it was in the mid-20s outside. Other than the heater, we had a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Samadams
Business
Boston MA
Feb 10, 2014

Great weekend getaway

Great location. Walking distance to shopping, restaurants and night life. Super friendly, helpful staff. Clean nicely decorated rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Salvation cafe-eclectic menu. Great food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
E Mof
Business
Warwick, RI
Mar 17, 2014

Great hotel

The viking hotel was close to everything and very accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Anything on thames st

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KiKuBoston
Business
Boston
May 1, 2014

Amazing, Super+++, Best Quality and Comfort

You must stay here if you are coming to Newport, RI. Its the most amazing place...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top