$212 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

Hotel Viking

4 stars
View map of 1 Bellevue Ave, Newport, RI 02840

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Viking

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Funinnewport
Business
South Shore MA
Dec 12, 2011

Excellent location

Beautiful old hotel. Staff is very friendly. It was our second time staying there this year. First time we were upgraded to a suite which was lovely. This time we had a room in the newer part of the hotel. The room was very nice however it was a little noisy. We were awakened very early by the guest above us pacing back and forth on a squeaky floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoyed Brick Alley Pub this trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Myrtille
Business
Massachusetts, USA
Apr 19, 2012

Great location. Would recommend

The hotel is located within walking distance of the wharfs and many cafes, restaurants, pubs. No need for a car in the evening. Also on same streets as the beautiful mansions to visit. Friendly staff. Would recommend if you are in Newport for a few days. We were there with two little children and got a room with two queen size beds, which was confortable for all of us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafes and restaurants around Bowen's Landing. Plenty of choice, great for families.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pianosmith
Business
Pomfret, Connecticut
Jul 9, 2012

Wonderful empty-nester's getaway

We recently became empty-nesters and are just beginning to take some time for ourselves. The Viking was the perfect place to get away and to celebrate our 25th anniversary. The room was immaculate, and though small, was plenty of room for 2. The bathroom had only a 1/2 sink so it was small for washing up, but this was really insignificant because the rest of the hotel was beautiful and clean. The staff was waiting to serve but not in the way. The Adirondack chairs on the front porch were perfect for an afternoon rest and the outdoor patio at the restaurant made for an inviting breakfast. The hotel location is great because you can leave the car and walk everywhere but you're just far enough out of the center that it's not crowded. Can't wait to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are looking for a great meal for a special occasion, try 22 Bowen on Bowen's Wharf. We walked there and had a spectacular meal. A bit pricey, but worth every penny.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Newport is awesome
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
Jul 18, 2012

Great location

The location of the hotel is great, and the hotel is very clean and nice. Our room was a little small. The rooftop patio/bar was fun with music on Friday and Saturday nights. We had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Rooftop bar!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Curleyt
Business
Windsor ct
Nov 22, 2012

Fun getaway

The hotel staff was curtious and accommodating. The room was clean and the king size bed was very comfortable. The hotel was within walking distance to the stores, restaurants and harder area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Brick ally

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Rebecca
Business
NY
Mar 31, 2013

Great Romantic Getaway

The hotel room was clean and well kept. The staff was attentive and accomodating. Bed was comfortable and quiet rooms for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mel A
Business
Boston, MA
May 19, 2013

Beautifully maintained hotel

We enjoyed staying at the Viking hotel. It was located in a beautiful part of Newport, about a five minute walk from the waterfront. The rooms were very clean, with amazing beds, fairly modern decor, and free Wifi. They'll try to convince you to leave your car with the Valet for $35, but you can just park it yourself on Church St.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeffrey B.
Business
Valencia, Pa
May 23, 2013

Old But Clean

Hotel is very old but has been redone. Not a lot of amenities but the place is quiet and comfortable. The restaurant was good and reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to all of Newport's mansions and cliff walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cockney
Business
Boston
Jun 4, 2013

Newport Classic

Historic hotel in a historic district. Completely renovated, but still retains old world charm. Staff are attentive, polite and efficient. Valets pointed out the nearby parking garage in case we didn't wish to pay the thirty dollar valet parking fee. How many hotels would do that? Roof deck bar, pool and spa round out a hotel with all the amenities you could expect. The location is in a lovely neighborhood, centrally located and very convenient. We didn't try the restaurant but as the chef was voted best in Newport we certainly shall on our next stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weekend Getaways2014
Business
Boston, Ma.
Jun 4, 2014

Anniversary Getaway

The location of the hotel is great, walking distance to downtown. We only stayed one night, so I was not too exposed to the hotel's amenities. My wife did use the gym facility and she liked it, the indoor pool looked nice. I wish the rooftop bar was OPEN a little longer. But onsite parking is great, and they allow you to keep your car there all day, even after check out which was great. My only grape was that the bed was too hard for my comfort. Other than that I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top