$259 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 28, 2014

Hotel Viking

4 stars
One Bellevue Avenue, Newport, RI 02840
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
115 reviews
Enjoyable experience

The Hotel Viking was perfect. The location is ideal for walking to all Newport hot spots i.e. The... See full review

  • Love To Travel Stephanie
  • Jun 12, 2014
Amazing, Super+++, Best Quality and Comfort

You must stay here if you are coming to Newport, RI. Its the most amazing place... See full review

  • KiKuBoston
  • May 1, 2014
Elegant boutique hotel in the heart of Newport's Historic Hill area
The elegant Hotel Viking, a Noble House Hotel, sits among gorgeous brownstones and nearby mansions in Newport's Historic Hill neighborhood. From the lobby to the guest rooms, beautiful furnishings, carpets and wall hangings envelope guests with classic decor. The 80-year-old Hotel Viking has welcomed notable guests, including John F. and Jackie Kennedy to its hilltop location overlooking Bellevue Avenue. Guests get massage and facial treatments at Spa Terre or enjoy locally-sourced cuisine at One Bellevue restaurant. Valet parking is available for a fee.
Highlights
  • High-speed Wi-Fi in all rooms
  • Meeting space
  • Renovated guest rooms with classic, upscale decor
  • Spa Terre for massage and facials
  • All meals plus High Tea at One Bellevue restaurant

Rooms
Hotel Viking, a Noble House Hotel, harks back to the Gilded Age of Newport when many notables stayed in its elegant guest rooms. It provides an upscale setting for discerning guests, with beautiful furnishings, wall tapestries, silk comforters and luxurious linens atop pillow-top mattresses. A rich color palette captivates upon entering the rooms and suites, which all come with a complimentary welcome basket of goodies. All accommodations have flat-screen LCD TVs, in-room safes, high-speed Wi-Fi and movie rental. The bathrooms recently underwent a renovation, adding rain showerheads, terry robes and luxe products. Suites at the Hotel Viking have one-and-a-half bathrooms and separate living areas with sleeper sofas.

Features
The Hotel Viking, a member of the Historic Hotels of America, sits atop Newport's Historic Hill among stately homes and harks back to the area's Gilded Age. Guests enjoy ornate decor, rich fabrics and special touches throughout. The hotel has the award-winning One Bellevue restaurant for all meals -- with fresh seafood, prime meats and a raw bar -- as well as a highly regarded afternoon tea. Guests unwind with a massage or facial in Spa Terre. The Hotel Viking has 14,000 square feet of functional meeting space over 10 rooms.

Transportation
  • T.F. Green International Airport (17.7 mi/28.5 km)
  • Logan International Airport Boston (62.7 mi/100.9 km)
Attractions
  • Touro Synagogue (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Tennis Hall of Fame (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Bowen's Wharf (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Cliff Walk (0.6 mi/1.1 km)

 

Business
  • 14,000 square feet of functional meeting space
  • 10 meeting rooms
  • High-speed Wi-Fi
Policies and Fees
  • Valet parking fees are as follow: $30 USD from Apr to Oct and $20 USD from Nov to Mar.
  • Resort fee is $14 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.4878 -71.3096
Nearby airports
Theodore Francis Green State Airport, (PVD), 28.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Viking also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Viking Rooms

Manor Guestroom
200 sqft-1 queen bed - Historic wing LCD TV- Glass Shower
Newport King Guestroom
310 sqft-1 king bed-Newly renovated LCD TV- Desk-Mini refrigerator
Newport Queen Guestroom
310 sqft-2 Queen Beds- Recently renovated LCD TV- Desk-Mini refrigerator
Newport Handicap Accessible King
310 sqft-ADA Accessible-Roll in shower 1 King Bed-LCD TV-Refrigerator
Estate Guestroom
320 sqft-1 king bed - Historic Wing LCD TV- Glass Shower
Premier King Guestroom
Junior Suite-430 sqft-Living area Pullout sofa-LCD TV-One King Bed
Noble Suite
600 sqft-1 bedroom suite-King bed-Living area Pullout sofa-LCD TV-One and half bath
Mansion Suite
475sqft-1 Bedroom Suite-King bed-Living area Pull-out sofa-LCD TV-Glass shower

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Jacuzzi
Casino
Sauna
Boating
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Dining

One Bellevue
Flavor and freshness define the boutique American bistro that is One Bellevue award winning restaurant. Culinary classics are being created anew with seasonal menus showcasing ingredients from the land and sea that are locally-sourced whenever possible.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (115)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Viking

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
115 out of 115
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 30, 2008

Luxury!

The Hotel Viking is very luxurious. The first time we stayed was off season and we had a huge room with the most comfy bed ever. This time was height of the season so for the same price we had a much smaller room but the luxuries were the same..nice bed, great sheets, flat screen TV, italian tile bath, just gorgeous! It's a quick walk to all the restaurants and shops and the service makes everyone feel important. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again but you do get more for your money off season.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Jan 3, 2010

Hotel Viking

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Viking. Location is great and the staff is extremely friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Brick Alley

Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 30, 2008

Luxury!

The Hotel Viking is very luxurious. The first time we stayed was off season and we had a huge room with the most comfy bed ever. This time was height of the season so for the same price we had a much smaller room but the luxuries were the same..nice bed, great sheets, flat screen TV, italian tile bath, just gorgeous! It's a quick walk to all the restaurants and shops and the service makes everyone feel important. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again but you do get more for your money off season.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 8, 2007

Perfect getaway

The staff were welcoming and helpful the minute we stepped out of our car. They will go out of their way to make your visit most enjoyable. The location was perfect; out of the hustle and bustle yet a few blocks away from everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is in walking distance. We dined at an Italian restaurant called Puerini's one night. It was a BYOB which helps if you are on a spending budget. The pasta is homemade and delicious, the wait staff were friendly and courteous.

Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Love To Travel Stephanie
Medford, MA
Jun 12, 2014

Enjoyable experience

The Hotel Viking was perfect. The location is ideal for walking to all Newport hot spots i.e. The Wharf area, Mansions and Cliffwalk. The Hotel Viking was exceptionally clean and comfortable. We loved our time away in Newport!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbia
Jun 10, 2008

Amazing step back in time!

The Hotel Viking was a pure joy! From the moment you were greeted at the door, to the grand lobby, to our elegant, well appointed room. The pool and hot tub were not crowded and were extremely clean. Dinner at One Belluevue (in the Hotel) was spectacular! The Top of Newport (the bar on the roof) was a nice touch at sunset. Can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Tennis Hall of Fame, Newport Mansions, Newport Harbor

Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Mar 8, 2011

FABULOUS HOTEL AND STAFF

We were looking for a summer rental and enjoyed the weekend. The hotel had a wedding and it was BEAUTIFUL! Food excellent and staff exceptional!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just walk towards town and you have TONS of excellent restaurant choices.

Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sholla4444
Guilford, CT
Mar 14, 2011

Great Stay

Great staff, excellent rooms and an amazing location. Prices are good for Newport. This hotel has a long history and it feels like an old style hotel with modern conveniences, something you just don't get in newer hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

A short walk from the waterfront and the historic mansions of Newport.

Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Springfield, IL
Oct 16, 2007

loved the experience

The Hotel Viking was absolutely a great time. The location was excellent, view from the top floor was lovely. The room was beautifully appointed,a bit small, but absolutely charming and comfortable. This was most definitely a highlight of our trip, and we had stayed at some beautiful bed and breakfasts and hotels. Highly recommended and we look forward to returning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Within close proximity are many excellent restaurant choices. We chose an Italian restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, Mass
Mar 22, 2010

Short stay, lasting impression

This hotel was a throw back to a bygone era. We checked in late. The Valets were fresh and eager. The front desk and staff were all very friendly and first class. We were upgraded to too beautiful suites and the beds and pull outs were so comfortable my children felt they were on a vacation. Breakfast and the waitstaff were wonderful. Highly recomend the Hotel Viking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top