$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 16, 2014 Check-out: Nov 18, 2014

Hotel Viking

4 stars
One Bellevue Avenue, Newport, RI 02840
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
73 reviews
Enjoyable experience

The Hotel Viking was perfect. The location is ideal for walking to all Newport hot spots i.e. The... See full review

  • Love To Travel Stephanie
  • Jun 12, 2014
Amazing, Super+++, Best Quality and Comfort

You must stay here if you are coming to Newport, RI. Its the most amazing place... See full review

  • KiKuBoston
  • May 1, 2014
Elegant boutique hotel in the heart of Newport's Historic Hill area
The elegant Hotel Viking, a Noble House Hotel, sits among gorgeous brownstones and nearby mansions in Newport's Historic Hill neighborhood. From the lobby to the guest rooms, beautiful furnishings, carpets and wall hangings envelope guests with classic decor. The 80-year-old Hotel Viking has welcomed notable guests, including John F. and Jackie Kennedy to its hilltop location overlooking Bellevue Avenue. Guests get massage and facial treatments at Spa Terre or enjoy locally-sourced cuisine at One Bellevue restaurant. Valet parking is available for a fee.
Highlights
  • High-speed Wi-Fi in all rooms
  • Meeting space
  • Renovated guest rooms with classic, upscale decor
  • Spa Terre for massage and facials
  • All meals plus High Tea at One Bellevue restaurant

Rooms
Hotel Viking, a Noble House Hotel, harks back to the Gilded Age of Newport when many notables stayed in its elegant guest rooms. It provides an upscale setting for discerning guests, with beautiful furnishings, wall tapestries, silk comforters and luxurious linens atop pillow-top mattresses. A rich color palette captivates upon entering the rooms and suites, which all come with a complimentary welcome basket of goodies. All accommodations have flat-screen LCD TVs, in-room safes, high-speed Wi-Fi and movie rental. The bathrooms recently underwent a renovation, adding rain showerheads, terry robes and luxe products. Suites at the Hotel Viking have one-and-a-half bathrooms and separate living areas with sleeper sofas.

Features
The Hotel Viking, a member of the Historic Hotels of America, sits atop Newport's Historic Hill among stately homes and harks back to the area's Gilded Age. Guests enjoy ornate decor, rich fabrics and special touches throughout. The hotel has the award-winning One Bellevue restaurant for all meals -- with fresh seafood, prime meats and a raw bar -- as well as a highly regarded afternoon tea. Guests unwind with a massage or facial in Spa Terre. The Hotel Viking has 14,000 square feet of functional meeting space over 10 rooms.

Transportation
  • T.F. Green International Airport (17.7 mi/28.5 km)
  • Logan International Airport Boston (62.7 mi/100.9 km)
Attractions
  • Touro Synagogue (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Tennis Hall of Fame (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Bowen's Wharf (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Cliff Walk (0.6 mi/1.1 km)

 

Business
  • 14,000 square feet of functional meeting space
  • 10 meeting rooms
  • High-speed Wi-Fi
Policies and Fees
  • Valet parking fees are as follow: $30 USD from Apr to Oct and $20 USD from Nov to Mar.
  • Resort fee is $14 USD.
  • Early check-out is subject to full reservation charge.
  • Pets are not allowed at the property.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.4878 -71.3096
Nearby airports
Theodore Francis Green State Airport, (PVD), 28.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Viking also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Viking Rooms

Manor Guestroom
200 sqft-1 queen bed - Historic wing LCD TV- Glass Shower
Newport King Guestroom
310 sqft-1 king bed-Newly renovated LCD TV- Desk-Mini refrigerator
Newport Queen Guestroom
310 sqft-2 Queen Beds- Recently renovated LCD TV- Desk-Mini refrigerator
Newport Handicap Accessible King
310 sqft-ADA Accessible-Roll in shower 1 King Bed-LCD TV-Refrigerator
Estate Guestroom
320 sqft-1 king bed - Historic Wing LCD TV- Glass Shower
Premier King Guestroom
Junior Suite-430 sqft-Living area Pullout sofa-LCD TV-One King Bed
Noble Suite
600 sqft-1 bedroom suite-King bed-Living area Pullout sofa-LCD TV-One and half bath
Mansion Suite
475sqft-1 Bedroom Suite-King bed-Living area Pull-out sofa-LCD TV-Glass shower

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Jacuzzi
Casino
Sauna
Boating
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Dining

One Bellevue
Flavor and freshness define the boutique American bistro that is One Bellevue award winning restaurant. Culinary classics are being created anew with seasonal menus showcasing ingredients from the land and sea that are locally-sourced whenever possible.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (73)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Viking

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
olinka83
Business
newport, RI
Jul 31, 2013

get away

room and bathroom were extremely tiny and claustrophobic. sink was clogged and drained very slowly. It was a tiny bathroom sink and the clog made it that much worse. It was very unpleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SpiritSALR
Business
Portsmouth, RI
Nov 15, 2010

Not Bad

The Hotel Viking was OK. Given it is so well rated and this is off season, we expected an exceptional stay. We were disappointed. Our agenda was business and week-end sight seeing. A 5 day/4 night trip. The Viking is a lovely vintage hotel that needs some upgrades in sound suppression and staff response. We had two rooms next to each other and although we did not hear each other, we could hear EVERYTHING in the rooms above. I thought it was just my room but my friends had the same experience. Unbeknownst to each other, we called the front desk at 2:40ish AM and 3:00 AM and no one answered. We went out to buy earplugs! Bring yours or ask for a room on the top floor. Dining prices were on par for the area. The in room snacks were a bit over the top. Snacks & drinks in the room; ex M&M, Kit Kats, H2O began at $6.00. Soda, beer, high end snacks etc could run more than room service! To be fair, the prices did include sales tax & a 20% tip. We just thought this was a bit much. If you drive there, park your car and walk around. Nothing is that far away and trolley/bus service abound. Parking areas are at a minimum. The most positive thing about the Hotel Viking is its central location. You truly can walk anywhere in downtown Newport, to the mansions, and the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the trolley tour first to see all the sights. Then go back to what you like most. Some of the most memorable dining is in Newport proper. Bring at least one "dress" attire. Some restaurants require this for evening dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Col's weekend
Business
Newport
Feb 3, 2014

spa getaway

The room and aviance was nice. The food was not very good. Plus it was very expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Speedodo
Business
Flushing, NY
Apr 21, 2014

Weekend getaway

The bathroom isn't clean. You can see fingerprints all over the cups. However, very friendly staffs and comfortable bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sunset Jenkins
Business
CT
Feb 21, 2012

Viking Hotel

This hotel has some ups and downs. I originally booked and paid for a room which was titled the "Newport King". I was supposed to have a room with 1 King sized bed. When arriving at the hotel, the staff was interesting. The younger people working were nice and polite as could be, however, anyone working that appeared to be over the age of 25 was rude and very short with me, leading me to believe that we were treated poorly due to the fact that I myself and young. When checking in i was informed there were no King rooms available and i was put into a double queen room. Normally I wouldnt have minded, but this was supposed to be a romantic valentines evening. As a gift, I had a massage appointment ready for my girlfriend who said it was exceptional. Then dinner in the hotel restaurant which was exceptional. I went back to the front desk to ask about the price difference in the room that i had paid online, only to be treated rudely again and told i need to take that up with the website i booked through. Overall, the room was nice, the spa(and spa staff) was excellent and the dining exceptional. However, I will probably never return due to the service i received from the hotel staff. Whether you're 9 or 99, you should be treated with the same respect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Expensive, but exceptional.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CTGUY
Business
Connecticut
Jan 3, 2010

New Years Weekend 2010

The staff was great, but the beds were uncomfortable I could feel every movement. Plus there was a dog next door that was barking most of the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hartford, CT
May 18, 2009

Nice but not much more.

The hotel is in a great location in Newport. It is very central to all of the sights of the area. It is a beautiful well kept building with very good amenities. The front desk staff is very helpful and friendly to boot. I have only a few negative comments. The rooms are a bit noisy due to ease of hearing other guests. Also, the restaurant staff when I had breakfast in the hotel was not friendly at all. The food was also way not worth the price. All and all, it is an ok hotel. The price is a bit high for the quality of the place, but that kind of goes with the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EJ111
Business
Massachusetts
Mar 10, 2014

Charming hotel

We had a very nice stay at Hotel Viking. Small-ish but comfortable and elegant room. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. We will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Funinnewport
Business
South Shore MA
Dec 12, 2011

Excellent location

Beautiful old hotel. Staff is very friendly. It was our second time staying there this year. First time we were upgraded to a suite which was lovely. This time we had a room in the newer part of the hotel. The room was very nice however it was a little noisy. We were awakened very early by the guest above us pacing back and forth on a squeaky floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoyed Brick Alley Pub this trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Myrtille
Business
Massachusetts, USA
Apr 19, 2012

Great location. Would recommend

The hotel is located within walking distance of the wharfs and many cafes, restaurants, pubs. No need for a car in the evening. Also on same streets as the beautiful mansions to visit. Friendly staff. Would recommend if you are in Newport for a few days. We were there with two little children and got a room with two queen size beds, which was confortable for all of us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafes and restaurants around Bowen's Landing. Plenty of choice, great for families.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top