$212 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Hotel Viking

4 stars
View map of 1 Bellevue Ave, Newport, RI 02840

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
85 reviews
Great Weekend Getaway

We traveled from NY to spend the weekend away. As always, the staff were welcoming and helpful, and... See full review

  • Jacob S.
  • Apr 29, 2015
February weekend was Perfect

My fiance and I stayed here for a weekend in Feb for wedding venue shopping and we had a great... See full review

  • Erin N.
  • Feb 10, 2015
Elegant boutique hotel in the heart of Newport's Historic Hill area
The elegant Hotel Viking sits among gorgeous brownstones and nearby mansions in Newport's Historic Hill neighborhood. From the lobby to the guest rooms, beautiful furnishings, carpets and wall hangings envelope guests with classic decor. The 80-year-old Hotel Viking has welcomed notable guests, including John F. and Jackie Kennedy to its hilltop location overlooking Bellevue Avenue. Guests get massage and facial treatments at Spa Terre or enjoy locally-sourced cuisine at One Bellevue restaurant. Valet parking is available for a fee.
Highlights
  • High-speed Wi-Fi in all rooms
  • Meeting space
  • Renovated guest rooms with classic, upscale decor
  • Spa Terre for massage and facials
  • All meals plus High Tea at One Bellevue restaurant

Rooms
Hotel Viking harks back to the Gilded Age of Newport when many notables stayed in its elegant guest rooms. It provides an upscale setting for discerning guests, with beautiful furnishings, wall tapestries, silk comforters and luxurious linens atop pillow-top mattresses. A rich color palette captivates upon entering the rooms and suites, which all come with a complimentary welcome basket of goodies. All accommodations have flat-screen LCD TVs, in-room safes, high-speed Wi-Fi and movie rental. The bathrooms recently underwent a renovation, adding rain showerheads, terry robes and luxe products. Suites at the Hotel Viking have one-and-a-half bathrooms and separate living areas with sleeper sofas.

Features
The Hotel Viking, a member of the Historic Hotels of America, sits atop Newport's Historic Hill among stately homes and harks back to the area's Gilded Age. Guests enjoy ornate decor, rich fabrics and special touches throughout. The hotel has the award-winning One Bellevue restaurant for all meals -- with fresh seafood, prime meats and a raw bar -- as well as a highly regarded afternoon tea. Guests unwind with a massage or facial in Spa Terre. The Hotel Viking has 14,000 square feet of functional meeting space over 10 rooms.

Transportation
  • T.F. Green International Airport (17.7 mi/28.5 km)
  • Logan International Airport Boston (62.7 mi/100.9 km)
Attractions
  • Touro Synagogue (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Tennis Hall of Fame (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Bowen's Wharf (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Cliff Walk (0.6 mi/1.1 km)

 

Business
  • 14,000 square feet of functional meeting space
  • 10 meeting rooms
  • High-speed Wi-Fi
Policies and Fees
  • Valet parking fees are as follow: $30 USD from Apr to Oct and $20 USD from Nov to Mar.
  • Resort fee is $14 USD.
  • Early check-out is subject to full reservation charge.
  • Pets are not allowed at the property.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Viking also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Viking Rooms

Manor Guestroom
200 sqft-1 queen bed - Historic wing LCD TV- Glass Shower
Newport Queen Guestroom
310 sqft-2 Queen Beds- Recently renovated LCD TV- Desk-Mini refrigerator
Newport King Guestroom
310 sqft-1 king bed-Newly renovated LCD TV- Desk-Mini refrigerator
Estate Guestroom
300 sqft-1 king bed - Historic Wing LCD TV- Glass Shower
Premier King Guestroom
Junior Suite-430 sqft-Living area Pullout sofa-LCD TV-One King Bed
Viking Suite
400sqft-1 Bedroom Suite-King bed-Living area Pull-out sofa-LCD TV-Glass shower
Bellevue Suite - 2 Queen Beds
Our Bellevue Suites are 600 sqft featuring a living area with a pullout couch.
Bellevue Suite
600 sqft-1 bedroom suite-King bed-Living area Pullout sofa-LCD TV-One and half bath
Newport Accessible Guestroom - K
310 sqft-ADA Accessible-Roll in shower 1 King Bed-LCD TV-Refrigerator

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Jacuzzi
Casino
Sauna
Boating
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Dining

One Bellevue
Flavor and freshness define the boutique American bistro that is One Bellevue award winning restaurant. Culinary classics are being created anew with seasonal menus showcasing ingredients from the land and sea that are locally-sourced whenever possible.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Viking

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Samadams
Business
Boston MA
Feb 10, 2014

Great weekend getaway

Great location. Walking distance to shopping, restaurants and night life. Super friendly, helpful staff. Clean nicely decorated rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Salvation cafe-eclectic menu. Great food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
E Mof
Business
Warwick, RI
Mar 17, 2014

Great hotel

The viking hotel was close to everything and very accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Anything on thames st

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KiKuBoston
Business
Boston
May 1, 2014

Amazing, Super+++, Best Quality and Comfort

You must stay here if you are coming to Newport, RI. Its the most amazing place...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chulmin
Business
Newark, NJ
Nov 25, 2007

Clean and comfort

The Viking hotel is not only hotel but also memorial building. The staffs were very kind and well trained. The pool and other attractions were well managed. This hotel is family oriented very well. I highly recommand this hotel for your family trips. Around this hotel, there are so many beautiful spots.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HowCreative
Business
Centerport, NY
Mar 29, 2012

Loved it! Exceeded my expectations!

Room was very chic and modern with nice accents throughout - wall hangings, wallpaper and paint pallette, extra pillows, etc. Coffee pods were $3.85 per cup which was a bit surprising and parking is $15 per day. But very comfortable, quiet rooms. Very nice size and modern bathrooms. You won't be disappointed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Castle Hill Inn - the best food in town! Pricey for dinner but well worth it. We had the Prix Fix 5-course dinner and was excellent quality food! Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Married 31 years
Business
Massachusetts
Jun 25, 2012

Classy weekend getaway

Stayed for a weekend in June for our anniversary. Great location, walk to everything although my husband who has been I'll found the walk back up from Thames Street tiring. Room was small but immaculate and had a great bed. Would have liked a mini fridge in the room. The service was first class, very friendly. My husband was I'll and needed to leave dinner just as we were served I the hotel restaurant (which was excellent) and I asked them to please bill our room but we needed to leave. They did not charge for any of the appetizers and wine we had already consumed; this was quite unexpected and above and beyond. I highly recommend this lovely hotel and would definitely come back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mommy with the Mostest
Business
NH
Nov 26, 2012

Great Stay

Hotel staff was exceptional in the local attractions. Spent time answering all my questions. The hotel was stunning, and our room was amazing! I loved how we were away from the commercialized areas by and off Bellveue Ave. with all the Mansions. Would recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast at Annies. There is a Shop N Stop nearby and Rite Aid.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Newport Admirer
Business
Winsted, Connecticut
Nov 27, 2012

Nice retreat from the Holiday Frenzy

Great room. Decorated very elegant. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. We enjoyed it so much we are going to make it an annual event.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Don n Barb
Business
New Jersey
Mar 19, 2013

Fantastic 20th Anniversary stay

From the moment we drove up to the entrance, we were delighted we chose the Hotel Viking. We arrived @ 10:30am on Saturday in time to see the St. Patty's Day Parade. We decided to let the hotel staff know that we had arrived and to our surprise our room was ready & we could check in immediately. That was great since check in is normally @ 4pm. Our room was beautifully appointed, clean, with King size bed and nice view. We left our things & headed to the parade 3 blocks away again. The hotel was in a great location, within walking distance to many attractions and restaurants and yet far away enough from the crowds and noise. When we returned I mentioned that we were celebrating my wife's birthday & our 20th wedding Anniversary and asked about the Mass schedule for Sunday and headed to our room. A short while later a knock came at the door & a staff member presented 2 very tasty cupcakes & an offer for a free bottle of wine with dinner plus 20% off any Spa visit. While we're not big Spa people, the bottle of wine with dinner was great as was the meal. The entire staff (reception, valet attendants, maintenance and restaurant) at the Hotel Viking were professional, polite and attentive to our needs. Looking forward to our next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Bit Players at the Firehouse Theatre is a Great way to Laugh away an evening. They Perform Friday & Saturday Make a reservation & BYOB. It's Improv. & the audience helps with Ideas. Great Fun a must do.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fantastic place!
Jul 1, 2011

Hotel viking review

Super! Would highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top