$277 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 8, 2015

Hotel Viking

4 stars
View map of 1 Bellevue Ave, Newport, RI 02840

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Viking

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HowCreative
Business
Centerport, NY
Mar 29, 2012

Loved it! Exceeded my expectations!

Room was very chic and modern with nice accents throughout - wall hangings, wallpaper and paint pallette, extra pillows, etc. Coffee pods were $3.85 per cup which was a bit surprising and parking is $15 per day. But very comfortable, quiet rooms. Very nice size and modern bathrooms. You won't be disappointed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Castle Hill Inn - the best food in town! Pricey for dinner but well worth it. We had the Prix Fix 5-course dinner and was excellent quality food! Highly recommend!

Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sunset Jenkins
Business
CT
Feb 21, 2012

Viking Hotel

This hotel has some ups and downs. I originally booked and paid for a room which was titled the "Newport King". I was supposed to have a room with 1 King sized bed. When arriving at the hotel, the staff was interesting. The younger people working were nice and polite as could be, however, anyone working that appeared to be over the age of 25 was rude and very short with me, leading me to believe that we were treated poorly due to the fact that I myself and young. When checking in i was informed there were no King rooms available and i was put into a double queen room. Normally I wouldnt have minded, but this was supposed to be a romantic valentines evening. As a gift, I had a massage appointment ready for my girlfriend who said it was exceptional. Then dinner in the hotel restaurant which was exceptional. I went back to the front desk to ask about the price difference in the room that i had paid online, only to be treated rudely again and told i need to take that up with the website i booked through. Overall, the room was nice, the spa(and spa staff) was excellent and the dining exceptional. However, I will probably never return due to the service i received from the hotel staff. Whether you're 9 or 99, you should be treated with the same respect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Expensive, but exceptional.

Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Funinnewport
Business
South Shore MA
Dec 12, 2011

Excellent location

Beautiful old hotel. Staff is very friendly. It was our second time staying there this year. First time we were upgraded to a suite which was lovely. This time we had a room in the newer part of the hotel. The room was very nice however it was a little noisy. We were awakened very early by the guest above us pacing back and forth on a squeaky floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoyed Brick Alley Pub this trip.

Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Matt and Heather
Business
Boston Ma
Aug 10, 2011

A honeymoon to remember

My wife and I spent our honeymoon in Newport and stayed at the Hotel Viking and were very Pleased. The location was perfect walking distance from Thames St. And a quick ride to the beach. Rooms were clean and as described. Staff members were very kind and helpful. The hotel makes you feel like your a part of historic Newport. I would def. Stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Pour Judgment a cool bar with good food and local beer on tap, about a 5 min walk down the street on broadway

Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Missouri
Aug 6, 2011

Spring Trip to Newport

Very nice hotel, very nice restaurant and bar area, rooms very clean, staff very courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
Aug 1, 2011

Nice European Hotel

Hotel is in good location, walking distance from main shopping area. Rooms are nice, though a bit small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fantastic place!
Jul 1, 2011

Hotel viking review

Super! Would highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Island, NY
Apr 19, 2011

Very nice old Hotel

The room was well decorated and bed very comfortable. We stayed in the hotel's smallest room type 150 sq ft. It was small. If you plan to spend time in your room go for one of the bigger selections. The hotel location is great, walking distance of most everything, and the valet parking was efficient. The indoor pool and hot tub were very nice. We didn't use the bar or dining, but they looked nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MA
Apr 18, 2011

Viking Weekend 2011

The staff @ Viking are OUTSTANDING! The guest room was on the "small" side, but can not complain. The hotel restaurant is excellent. We will ALWAYS return to The VIking for our Newport weekends!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
portsmouth, nh
Apr 5, 2011

great location, great restaurant

weekend getaway in Newport was great. The Hotel Viking was in a great location. Room was a little small and we were right next to the noisy elevator which was a bit disappointing. Restaurant in the Hotel was terrific... food and service. Lobster special could not be beat-- we went back twice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

.

Back to menu Return to top