$212 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

Hotel Viking

4 stars
View map of 1 Bellevue Ave, Newport, RI 02840

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Viking

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mommy with the Mostest
NH
Nov 26, 2012

Great Stay

Hotel staff was exceptional in the local attractions. Spent time answering all my questions. The hotel was stunning, and our room was amazing! I loved how we were away from the commercialized areas by and off Bellveue Ave. with all the Mansions. Would recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast at Annies. There is a Shop N Stop nearby and Rite Aid.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Newport Admirer
Business
Winsted, Connecticut
Nov 27, 2012

Nice retreat from the Holiday Frenzy

Great room. Decorated very elegant. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. We enjoyed it so much we are going to make it an annual event.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mommy with the Mostest
Business
NH
Nov 26, 2012

Great Stay

Hotel staff was exceptional in the local attractions. Spent time answering all my questions. The hotel was stunning, and our room was amazing! I loved how we were away from the commercialized areas by and off Bellveue Ave. with all the Mansions. Would recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast at Annies. There is a Shop N Stop nearby and Rite Aid.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Curleyt
Business
Windsor ct
Nov 22, 2012

Fun getaway

The hotel staff was curtious and accommodating. The room was clean and the king size bed was very comfortable. The hotel was within walking distance to the stores, restaurants and harder area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Brick ally

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Newport is awesome
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
Jul 18, 2012

Great location

The location of the hotel is great, and the hotel is very clean and nice. Our room was a little small. The rooftop patio/bar was fun with music on Friday and Saturday nights. We had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Rooftop bar!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pianosmith
Business
Pomfret, Connecticut
Jul 9, 2012

Wonderful empty-nester's getaway

We recently became empty-nesters and are just beginning to take some time for ourselves. The Viking was the perfect place to get away and to celebrate our 25th anniversary. The room was immaculate, and though small, was plenty of room for 2. The bathroom had only a 1/2 sink so it was small for washing up, but this was really insignificant because the rest of the hotel was beautiful and clean. The staff was waiting to serve but not in the way. The Adirondack chairs on the front porch were perfect for an afternoon rest and the outdoor patio at the restaurant made for an inviting breakfast. The hotel location is great because you can leave the car and walk everywhere but you're just far enough out of the center that it's not crowded. Can't wait to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are looking for a great meal for a special occasion, try 22 Bowen on Bowen's Wharf. We walked there and had a spectacular meal. A bit pricey, but worth every penny.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Married 31 years
Business
Massachusetts
Jun 25, 2012

Classy weekend getaway

Stayed for a weekend in June for our anniversary. Great location, walk to everything although my husband who has been I'll found the walk back up from Thames Street tiring. Room was small but immaculate and had a great bed. Would have liked a mini fridge in the room. The service was first class, very friendly. My husband was I'll and needed to leave dinner just as we were served I the hotel restaurant (which was excellent) and I asked them to please bill our room but we needed to leave. They did not charge for any of the appetizers and wine we had already consumed; this was quite unexpected and above and beyond. I highly recommend this lovely hotel and would definitely come back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Myrtille
Business
Massachusetts, USA
Apr 19, 2012

Great location. Would recommend

The hotel is located within walking distance of the wharfs and many cafes, restaurants, pubs. No need for a car in the evening. Also on same streets as the beautiful mansions to visit. Friendly staff. Would recommend if you are in Newport for a few days. We were there with two little children and got a room with two queen size beds, which was confortable for all of us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafes and restaurants around Bowen's Landing. Plenty of choice, great for families.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HowCreative
Business
Centerport, NY
Mar 29, 2012

Loved it! Exceeded my expectations!

Room was very chic and modern with nice accents throughout - wall hangings, wallpaper and paint pallette, extra pillows, etc. Coffee pods were $3.85 per cup which was a bit surprising and parking is $15 per day. But very comfortable, quiet rooms. Very nice size and modern bathrooms. You won't be disappointed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Castle Hill Inn - the best food in town! Pricey for dinner but well worth it. We had the Prix Fix 5-course dinner and was excellent quality food! Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sunset Jenkins
Business
CT
Feb 21, 2012

Viking Hotel

This hotel has some ups and downs. I originally booked and paid for a room which was titled the "Newport King". I was supposed to have a room with 1 King sized bed. When arriving at the hotel, the staff was interesting. The younger people working were nice and polite as could be, however, anyone working that appeared to be over the age of 25 was rude and very short with me, leading me to believe that we were treated poorly due to the fact that I myself and young. When checking in i was informed there were no King rooms available and i was put into a double queen room. Normally I wouldnt have minded, but this was supposed to be a romantic valentines evening. As a gift, I had a massage appointment ready for my girlfriend who said it was exceptional. Then dinner in the hotel restaurant which was exceptional. I went back to the front desk to ask about the price difference in the room that i had paid online, only to be treated rudely again and told i need to take that up with the website i booked through. Overall, the room was nice, the spa(and spa staff) was excellent and the dining exceptional. However, I will probably never return due to the service i received from the hotel staff. Whether you're 9 or 99, you should be treated with the same respect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Expensive, but exceptional.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Funinnewport
Business
South Shore MA
Dec 12, 2011

Excellent location

Beautiful old hotel. Staff is very friendly. It was our second time staying there this year. First time we were upgraded to a suite which was lovely. This time we had a room in the newer part of the hotel. The room was very nice however it was a little noisy. We were awakened very early by the guest above us pacing back and forth on a squeaky floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoyed Brick Alley Pub this trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top