$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

Hotel Viking

4 stars
View map of 1 Bellevue Ave, Newport, RI 02840

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
79 reviews
February weekend was Perfect

My fiance and I stayed here for a weekend in Feb for wedding venue shopping and we had a great... See full review

  • Erin N.
  • Feb 10, 2015
Enjoyable experience

The Hotel Viking was perfect. The location is ideal for walking to all Newport hot spots i.e. The... See full review

  • Love To Travel Stephanie
  • Jun 12, 2014
Elegant boutique hotel in the heart of Newport's Historic Hill area
The elegant Hotel Viking sits among gorgeous brownstones and nearby mansions in Newport's Historic Hill neighborhood. From the lobby to the guest rooms, beautiful furnishings, carpets and wall hangings envelope guests with classic decor. The 80-year-old Hotel Viking has welcomed notable guests, including John F. and Jackie Kennedy to its hilltop location overlooking Bellevue Avenue. Guests get massage and facial treatments at Spa Terre or enjoy locally-sourced cuisine at One Bellevue restaurant. Valet parking is available for a fee.
Highlights
  • High-speed Wi-Fi in all rooms
  • Meeting space
  • Renovated guest rooms with classic, upscale decor
  • Spa Terre for massage and facials
  • All meals plus High Tea at One Bellevue restaurant

Rooms
Hotel Viking harks back to the Gilded Age of Newport when many notables stayed in its elegant guest rooms. It provides an upscale setting for discerning guests, with beautiful furnishings, wall tapestries, silk comforters and luxurious linens atop pillow-top mattresses. A rich color palette captivates upon entering the rooms and suites, which all come with a complimentary welcome basket of goodies. All accommodations have flat-screen LCD TVs, in-room safes, high-speed Wi-Fi and movie rental. The bathrooms recently underwent a renovation, adding rain showerheads, terry robes and luxe products. Suites at the Hotel Viking have one-and-a-half bathrooms and separate living areas with sleeper sofas.

Features
The Hotel Viking, a member of the Historic Hotels of America, sits atop Newport's Historic Hill among stately homes and harks back to the area's Gilded Age. Guests enjoy ornate decor, rich fabrics and special touches throughout. The hotel has the award-winning One Bellevue restaurant for all meals -- with fresh seafood, prime meats and a raw bar -- as well as a highly regarded afternoon tea. Guests unwind with a massage or facial in Spa Terre. The Hotel Viking has 14,000 square feet of functional meeting space over 10 rooms.

Transportation
  • T.F. Green International Airport (17.7 mi/28.5 km)
  • Logan International Airport Boston (62.7 mi/100.9 km)
Attractions
  • Touro Synagogue (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Tennis Hall of Fame (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Bowen's Wharf (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Cliff Walk (0.6 mi/1.1 km)

 

Business
  • 14,000 square feet of functional meeting space
  • 10 meeting rooms
  • High-speed Wi-Fi
Policies and Fees
  • Valet parking fees are as follow: $30 USD from Apr to Oct and $20 USD from Nov to Mar.
  • Resort fee is $14 USD.
  • Early check-out is subject to full reservation charge.
  • Pets are not allowed at the property.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Hotel Viking Rooms

Manor Guestroom
200 sqft-1 queen bed - Historic wing LCD TV- Glass Shower
Newport Queen Guestroom
310 sqft-2 Queen Beds- Recently renovated LCD TV- Desk-Mini refrigerator
Newport King Guestroom
310 sqft-1 king bed-Newly renovated LCD TV- Desk-Mini refrigerator
Estate Guestroom
300 sqft-1 king bed - Historic Wing LCD TV- Glass Shower
Premier King Guestroom
Junior Suite-430 sqft-Living area Pullout sofa-LCD TV-One King Bed
Viking Suite
400sqft-1 Bedroom Suite-King bed-Living area Pull-out sofa-LCD TV-Glass shower
Bellevue Suite - 2 Queen Beds
Our Bellevue Suites are 600 sqft featuring a living area with a pullout couch.
Bellevue Suite
600 sqft-1 bedroom suite-King bed-Living area Pullout sofa-LCD TV-One and half bath
Newport Accessible Guestroom - K
310 sqft-ADA Accessible-Roll in shower 1 King Bed-LCD TV-Refrigerator

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Jacuzzi
Casino
Sauna
Boating
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Dining

One Bellevue
Flavor and freshness define the boutique American bistro that is One Bellevue award winning restaurant. Culinary classics are being created anew with seasonal menus showcasing ingredients from the land and sea that are locally-sourced whenever possible.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Viking

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wili R.
Business
Jersey City
Mar 9, 2015

Romantic Weekend Getaway

We had a great time! Only hiccup was the heater in our room wasn't working properly. We addressed our concern with the front desk and it worked for a little bit but then it stopped working again. It normally wouldn't be a big deal but it was in the mid-20s outside. Other than the heater, we had a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kevin l.
Business
norwich
Feb 24, 2015

nursing clinicals

although the hotel looks beautiful and is wonderfully located the comforter on the bed had some disturbing stains. Might want to give it a wash.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Melissa C.
Business
West Haven
Feb 13, 2015

Newport Girls Getaway

We stayed here in the height of the summer holiday and the price reflected that! While the room was luxurious, it wasn't worth $500 for a night. The hotel roof top bar was great, with live music. Location was also fantastic as you could walk most places. I would recommend but shop around for a good rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Erin N.
Business
New York
Feb 10, 2015

February weekend was Perfect

My fiance and I stayed here for a weekend in Feb for wedding venue shopping and we had a great experience. Much better than I expected. Location couldn't be better. Even in 20 degree weather and snow all weekend we were able to walk downtown for dinner and drinks Saturday night with no problem (5 min walk). I would highly recommend this hotel for the rates in the off season.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
globalfromal
Business
San Diego
Dec 16, 2014

Hanging out

Located in a pretty good location in Newport. Everything is overpriced in this town, so why not the hotels? The room was nice, as was the staff, but the same hotel located in another location would be 3-star, but because it is in Newport, RI, it is 4-5 star. The whole town is WAY overpriced. I'm not sure why? They have good seafood, but that is really about all they have to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravelerMC
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Nov 14, 2014

Great location, lack bathroom space

It was a really cute hotel but the bathroom was way too small. I've never stayed in a hotel with out a regular size sink.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LJ and JD
Business
Long Island, NY
Aug 8, 2014

beautiful hotel

This is a lovely hotel on a great street in Newport.. It is located conveniently between the harbor and the mansions and ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

On the wharf all of our dining experiences were great and you could not beat the view!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FrequentTraveler9
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 21, 2014

Excellent stay

I highly recommend it. Only there for one night, but it was worth it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DandM32
Business
New York
Jul 16, 2014

Nice hotel

Very nice hotel in a good location. Had a nice rooftop bar. The staff was very helpful. Did not care for the design of bathroom, - the toilet on one side and the sink on the other side but it is an older building. Also when we checked in we were told wi fi was free but then there was a 14.00 resort fee so wi fi was not really free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Just walk down towards the water - lots to do and see and it is a short walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Viking

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NinaPT
Business
Woodmere, NY
Jul 6, 2014

Great Getaway to Newport

The Viking Hotel is a lovely trip back to early 1920's charm and elegance. The Hotel is a stately presence at the top of hill where Touro St., with the famous Touro Synagogue, meets Bellevue Avenue. The staff was welcoming and friendly from the minute we pulled our car up, and continued to address our every need. The rooms are simple, but well appointed, with beautiful decor and extremely comfortable beds. Complimentary coffee was available every morning, and lemonade and lime infused water was available in the afternoon. The indoor pool looked inviting and was a nice size, and they had a modest but functional gym. The Spa Terre was another hidden gem, and well worth a treatment or two. Overall, this was a great hotel to stay in, as in was extremely comfortable and in an excellent part of town, walkable to the Touro Synagogue, the waterfront area, and the cliff walk and mansions. A really perfect 2-3 day getaway!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Stop and Shop very close for anything you may have forgotten.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top