BEST WESTERN The Mainstay Inn

3 stars
151 Admiral Kalbfus Road, Newport, RI 02840-1310
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
136 reviews
girls' weekend away

Had great experience...would definitely book there again! See full review

  • Pete's wife
  • Apr 18, 2013
Great location.

Great location along with a great price. Nice bar. See full review

  • James WH
  • Jun 28, 2014
Affordable, full-service Newport hotel with free Wi-Fi and outdoor pool
The Best Western the Mainstay Inn has a prime location just one mile from historic downtown Newport and is a quick jaunt to area attractions like the Cliff Walk, Newport Grand Casino, Naval War College and Gilded Age mansions. The inn features an on-site restaurant for American fare and a cocktail lounge with a big screen TV. The Best Western the Mainstay Inn also boasts an outdoor pool, fitness room and banquet facilities. Guests enjoy free Wi-Fi, cable TV and free bath products. Business guests make use of the business center and services.

 

Highlights
  • On-site restaurant
  • Business center
  • Free high-speed Wi-Fi
  • Outdoor swimming pool and fitness room
  • Kids under 12 stay free with one paying adult in the room

Rooms
The Best Western the Mainstay Inn offers 183 spacious and clean guest rooms and suites decorated with regal golds and reds, a wood chest-of-drawers and a comfy seat for sitting in while reading the free daily newspaper. The rooms have either king or two double beds with thick mattresses and plenty of lights. All guest rooms at the Best Western the Mainstay Inn boast free Wi-Fi, cable TV and a desk with chair. Suites include a microwave and refrigerator (fees apply for a refrigerator in standard rooms) and some have sleeper sofas and balconies. Bathrooms feature free bath products and a hairdryer. Guests order room service between 5 and 9 p.m.

Features
The Best Western the Mainstay Inn is set just one mile from historic downtown Newport and near many top area attractions. This Newport hotel features an on-site restaurant that serves American fare as well as a cocktail lounge with a big-screen TV. The hotel boasts an outdoor pool and a fitness center. Guests park for free on the property. The Best Western the Mainstay Inn features a 24-hour front desk, business center with fax and copy services (fees apply) and meeting space for conferences and weddings with on-site catering.

Transportation
  • T.F. Green International Airport (16.8 mi/27 km)
  • Logan International Airport Boston (61.4 mi/98.8 km)

 

Attractions
  • Newport Grand Casino (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Cliff Walk (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Newport Vineyards (2.1 mi/3.3 km)
  • Gilded Age mansions (2.9 mi/4.7 km)

 

Business
  • Free high-speed Wi-Fi
  • Business center
  • Fax and copy services
  • Meeting and banquet facilities

BEST WESTERN The Mainstay Inn Rooms

2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,BALCONY,HISPEED,MICRFG,COFMKR,HAIR
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,ROLL SHWR,NSMK
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATHTUB,NSMK
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATHTUB,SMOK
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,MICFRG,CFMKR,IRN,HAIR
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NOSMOKE,HI SPEED NET,COFFEMAKR,HAIR,IRON
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,SMOKING,HI SPEED NET,COFFEEMKR,HAIR,IRON
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NOSMOKE,HI SPEED NET,COFFEMAKR,HAIR,IRON
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS
SUITE-2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,OVRSZD,SOFABD,HISPEED,MICRFG,COFMKR
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,SOFABED,HI SPEED,MICRFG,COFMKR,HAIR
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,OVERSZD,WHRLPL,HISPD,MICRFG,COFMKR
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,OVRSD,CONFERTBL,SOFABD,HISPD,MICRFG

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Live entertainment
Golf
Horseback riding
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Over sized rooms
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN The Mainstay Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.5079 -71.3121
Area served
Dartmouth,, Providence,, Boston,, Warwick,, Jamestown,, Middletown,
Nearby airports
(PVD), 20.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Resort

Dining

North End Steakhouse
North End Steakhouse, on premises, full service, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, open from 6:30 a.m. to 10:00 p.m., louge & bar open till 1:00 a.m. daily specials available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (136)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN The Mainstay Inn

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
136 out of 136
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN The Mainstay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Medway, MA
Jul 9, 2011

Fair price for what you get

The first room we were assigned had a very bad odor, but I called the front desk and they immediately assigned us a bigger, better, odor-free room. There was a nice flat screen TV in the sitting area, but the couch was old and unbearably uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Hotel restaurant was inexpensive and good.

Review of BEST WESTERN The Mainstay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Medway, MA
Jul 9, 2011

Fair price for what you get

The first room we were assigned had a very bad odor, but I called the front desk and they immediately assigned us a bigger, better, odor-free room. There was a nice flat screen TV in the sitting area, but the couch was old and unbearably uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Hotel restaurant was inexpensive and good.

Review of BEST WESTERN The Mainstay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
cobleskill n.y.
Jun 21, 2011

good deal for the money

went for a wedding and stayed two nights.clean rooms , decent restaurant and bar. close to the wedding and reception.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN The Mainstay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
cobleskill n.y.
Jun 21, 2011

good deal for the money

went for a wedding and stayed two nights.clean rooms , decent restaurant and bar. close to the wedding and reception.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN The Mainstay Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orlando, fl
Jun 8, 2011

Not at all what I expected..... : (

My friend and I wanted to visit her family and do some sight seeing. We found this hotel for a reasonable rate and booked it. The picture of the room looked nice and comfortable.... The amenities sounded basic but ok for our use. When we got there, we were placed on a 3rd floor room (not in main building but side wing) and entering the wing found out there was NO ELEVATOR!!! We hauled out luggage up (w/difficulty) and found our room. The room looked nothing like the picture - older cheap looking room and furnishings.....Electrical outlets (the few I found) were loose and when plugging in chargers would not always charge the battery. I had to unplug lights in order to charge my cell phone and camera. The bed was hard and although I did sleep ok, I suspect it was from fatigue from running all day and sight seeing. I had breakfast on 2 mornings which was good and the dining room nicely decorated. In fairness, the front desk offered to move our room to a 1st floor room but we declined that b/c we then would have to repack and move the luggage down anyway so we stayed where we were. If you choose this hotel b/c of the price, specify/demand the newer section for your room. I saw a elevator in the lobby and hopefully the rooms are more as pictured in the advertisements vs. what I got. Good luck and I hope this helps you....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN The Mainstay Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orlando, fl
Jun 8, 2011

Not at all what I expected..... : (

My friend and I wanted to visit her family and do some sight seeing. We found this hotel for a reasonable rate and booked it. The picture of the room looked nice and comfortable.... The amenities sounded basic but ok for our use. When we got there, we were placed on a 3rd floor room (not in main building but side wing) and entering the wing found out there was NO ELEVATOR!!! We hauled out luggage up (w/difficulty) and found our room. The room looked nothing like the picture - older cheap looking room and furnishings.....Electrical outlets (the few I found) were loose and when plugging in chargers would not always charge the battery. I had to unplug lights in order to charge my cell phone and camera. The bed was hard and although I did sleep ok, I suspect it was from fatigue from running all day and sight seeing. I had breakfast on 2 mornings which was good and the dining room nicely decorated. In fairness, the front desk offered to move our room to a 1st floor room but we declined that b/c we then would have to repack and move the luggage down anyway so we stayed where we were. If you choose this hotel b/c of the price, specify/demand the newer section for your room. I saw a elevator in the lobby and hopefully the rooms are more as pictured in the advertisements vs. what I got. Good luck and I hope this helps you....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN The Mainstay Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Catperson_11
Connecticut
Jun 2, 2011

Disgusting

This hotel had smokey rooms, was dirty and the room doors would barely shut they were so old and cheap. It was disgusting and scarey - and WAY over priced......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Newport Jazz Festival is fantastic - but stay in a B&B and expect to spend a lot of money per night..this hotel is just gross

Review of BEST WESTERN The Mainstay Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Catperson_11
Connecticut
Jun 2, 2011

Disgusting

This hotel had smokey rooms, was dirty and the room doors would barely shut they were so old and cheap. It was disgusting and scarey - and WAY over priced......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Newport Jazz Festival is fantastic - but stay in a B&B and expect to spend a lot of money per night..this hotel is just gross

Review of BEST WESTERN The Mainstay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Erlanger, KY
Jan 9, 2011

Great Location, Great Price

Only minutes from everything - Newport Naval Base, historic downtown, mansion tours, etc. The hotel itself is somewhat "maze-like" but the rooms are nice and the staff is friendly and accommodating. The restaurant has a somewhat limited menu but there are several very good ones only minutes (5 or less) away. Overall, a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Brick Alley Pub has GREAT food and has been featured in "Bon Appetite."

Review of BEST WESTERN The Mainstay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Erlanger, KY
Jan 9, 2011

Great Location, Great Price

Only minutes from everything - Newport Naval Base, historic downtown, mansion tours, etc. The hotel itself is somewhat "maze-like" but the rooms are nice and the staff is friendly and accommodating. The restaurant has a somewhat limited menu but there are several very good ones only minutes (5 or less) away. Overall, a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Brick Alley Pub has GREAT food and has been featured in "Bon Appetite."

Back to menu Return to top