$68 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2014 Check-out: Apr 22, 2014

The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
93 Miantonomi Ave., Middletown, RI 02842
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
85 reviews
Nice Place

I would highly recommend the Carriage House. It has the feel of a hotel with the amenities of a bed... See full review

  • ReyRyder
  • Feb 18, 2014
Great experience

The hotel was nicely furnished and the room was larger than most standard hotels. The location was... See full review

  • SusW
  • Nov 18, 2013
Non-smoking boutique hotel with 23 rooms in renovated Victorian home
The Carriage House Inn is just one mile from downtown Newport and offers travelers a boutique experience in its 23 non-smoking guest rooms set in a renovated Victorian home. The hotel's spacious guest rooms feature marble-fronted fireplaces, elegant décor and free Wi-Fi. Accommodations also include a refrigerator, microwave and free movie channels. This boutique hotel offers free continental breakfast, free weekday paper and coffee as well as free parking for one car. The Carriage House Inn offers many business-friendly services.

 

Highlights
  • Non-smoking boutique hotel
  • Set in a renovated Victorian home
  • Free high-speed Wi-Fi
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Near downtown Newport

Rooms
The Carriage House Inn offers boutique hotel accommodations in elegantly-styled guest rooms. The 23 non-smoking rooms at the hotel are decorated with floral-patterned comforters, burgundy drapes and wood furniture. Rooms have sitting areas with oversized seats. All accommodations boast free high-speed wireless Internet, a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Guests of the Carriage House Inn use the in-room iron/ironing board or wrap up in a plush robe to read the free weekday newspaper. Color TVs feature cable with free movie channels.

Features
The Carriage House Inn resides inside a renovated Victorian home and is set just one mile from historic downtown Newport and near many top area attractions. This completely non-smoking property offers guests a daily free continental breakfast which is enjoyed on the outdoor deck during warmer months. Guests indulge in free coffee while reading the complimentary weekday newspaper. Guests park one car without charge and use the on-site business center to fax copy or print documents and surf the web on the hotel's computer. The Carriage House Inn offers free Wi-Fi throughout.

Transportation
  • T.F. Green International Airport (16.8 mi/27 km)
  • Logan International Airport Boston (61.4 mi/98.8 km)

 

Attractions
  • Touro Synagogue (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Downtown Newport (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Cliff Walk (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Gilded Age mansions (2.9 mi/4.7 km)

 

Business
  • Free high-speed Wi-Fi
  • Business center with computer and Internet
  • Fax, copy and print services

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
Laundry service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
In room movies
Sofa bed
Iron

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.5057 -71.2981
Nearby airports
T.F.Green Airport, (PVD), 25.00, MI, W; Boston Logan Intl Airport, (BOS), 75.00, MI, N; Newport State Arpt, (NPT), 3.00, MI, E;
Area description
City Center, Route 138 & 114

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.9 / 5
85 out of 85
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4
Value:
4.2

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
ReyRyder
New Haven, CT
Feb 18, 2014

Nice Place

I would highly recommend the Carriage House. It has the feel of a hotel with the amenities of a bed and breakfast. I will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Center of Newport RI

Review of The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
rocknana
Middletown, NJ
Dec 9, 2013

Avewrage getaway

the hotel was decent, but we had a few problems with the room and 1 of the staff memebers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
SusW
Boston
Nov 18, 2013

Great experience

The hotel was nicely furnished and the room was larger than most standard hotels. The location was very convenient to the places we wanted to see. The staff was friendly and helpful. Overall a very nice trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
ltulli
North Jersey
Nov 17, 2013

Nice getaway

Very convenient location for visiting Newport. The room was small but clean. Breakfast was a little lame, but it's better than nothing. Friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Newport Vineyards is fewer than ten minutes away. $24 tour and tasting for two (plus we got a Groupon for 50% off).

Review of The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
Kathy in CT
Stamford, CT
Nov 12, 2013

Newport Get Away

My boyfriend and I enjoyed the Carriage Inn very much. The room was spacious and had a fridge and microwave, as well as a space for a little bar set up. The bed was very comfortable. I would ask for a room on the second or third level if I returned as you can definitely hear people walking above you and the shower noise is VERY loud from above (it sounded like it was in our room when they showered). Aside from that, we loved the location and access to tea and coffee all day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown Newport is a 5 minute car ride at most- we had a great dinner at Benjamins.

Review of The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
Westy from SD
Sioux Falls, SD
Oct 14, 2013

Good value for the price

Unique, small hotel. Very nice, basic accommodations. Staff was friendly and helpful with sightseeing ideas for area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
wilderdm
D.C.
Aug 25, 2013

older but comfy

very comfy for an overnight stay. water pressure was low in the shower, but everything else was fine. staff very friendly and welcoming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
DanfromTampa
Tampa, FL
Aug 19, 2013

Bad Experience

This place is more like a nursing home than a hotel. So bad that we checked out a day early. I would not recommend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
Chicklil
Hicksville NY
Aug 14, 2013

Great place to stay

I was very pleased with my selection. The staff was wonderful and very helpful. The room was spacious and clean. I would definetly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Atlantic Beach Club Restaurant

Review of The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
bob diane
smithfield
Jun 2, 2013

last minute

Very friendly staff , clean , great location. Perfect getaway

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top