$50 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 17, 2014 Check-out: Nov 19, 2014

Ramada Middletown

3 stars
425 East Main Road, Middletown, RI 02842
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
42 reviews
enjoyed our stay here!

room was nice size, comfortable and very clean. staff was very helpful and the breakfast good! we... See full review

  • peter and cat
  • Oct 20, 2013
Perfect for what we needed

The hotel is convenient to Newport which is what we wanted without paying for Newport prices. The... See full review

  • Aunt Penny
  • Jul 1, 2014
The Ramada Middletown offers The Portofino Bar and Grille, a full service restaurant with a bar and lounge featuring a Tuscan style decor with a touch of jazz. High-speed Wireless Internet access is complimentary. Business amenities at this property consist of a 24-hour business center, a technology help desk, and secretarial services. Event facilities include conference rooms, exhibit space, banquet facilities, and meeting rooms for small groups. Wedding services and translation services can be provided. On site parking is complimentary. Airport shuttle service for a fee. Our Shuttle service provides daily transportation to the Center of Newport as well as to Newport Beach form am till pm. The cost is 8 USD per person.

Hotel Map

41.5211 -71.2858
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ramada Middletown also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (42)

Ratings and reviews for Ramada Middletown

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.2

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ramada Middletown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
maxcal7
Business
Lebanon, CT, USA
Oct 17, 2011

King size bed really two twins

My fiancee and I spend a night at this awful place for the Newport marathon. First of all the lady at the desk was rude to us. The room they put us in was in the very top corner of the hotel. We were put in the annex of the hotel used for overflow and I could tell there was a lot of rooms on the second and first floors not occupied. Getting to the room we had to go up three flights of stairs to a very small hall way that was poorly light and cleaned. Inside our room it smelled like urine. We found out when we walked in the bathroom that some one urinated on the floor and wall. The walls and windows were stained with who knows what. And the bed that was suppose to be a king was really two twins just pushed together with out the one of the spacer things to make the beds complete. We also found red glitter everywhere in the room and in the hall. The only other people put in the rooms up there was a group of girls around our age of 23. Needless to say I was not happy being treated like that. Just because I am young does not mean I should be stowed away. The only good thing about this place was it was very close to the start finish line of the marathon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a nice place to eat about a half mile to a mile. Called the KJ's Pub & Restaurant. Upstairs had four huge fish tanks of exotic fish, ocean few and very good prizes. I would suggest the calamari it was nice and spicy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ramada Middletown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymously disappointed
Business
Anonymous
Sep 2, 2013

Not a good experience

The restaurant closed a week before our stay, the employees seemed unhappy, the room had a musty smell. We wanted to change rooms but were told the other rooms were no better. There is no elevator or bus service so we had to lug our luggage to the 2nd floor. The room layout was odd with a couch in what appeared to be a 2nd room but it was facing a wall about 4 ft. Away. We were given a key, not a card and were told the security door would be locked at 10 but it never was. It was cheap - you get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

There is a free continental breakfast, but we weren't told about it by the staff. We just happened to come across it while checking out (it's not in or near the lobby, it's across from the closed restaurant). That was the only good thing about this place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ramada Middletown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
choco lover
Business
Middletown RI
Sep 24, 2013

vacation

Our experience was not a good one, the room was small, the carpet yucky and worst of all there was a roach in the bathroom, maybe 2 of them. We had planned on staying 2 nights but checked out after the finding of the bugs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ramada Middletown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Transit Lady
Business
RI
Jun 3, 2014

Wi-Fi-Less

The hotel is advertised as having WiFi, but the connection is non-existent. I spent a whole week at this hotel asking about the WiFi and got answers like: we're working on it, no, this doesn't happen all the time, we usually have service, turn off your device and try again, etc. Bottom line; no WiFi. The breakfast area looks more like an old school cafeteria with warm "hot" water for tea, a microwave that has seen better days, and an overall sad looking room. The guest rooms are clean, but old with tired looking furniture from the 70's. This hotel is definitely a 2 star, not a 3 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Grocery store close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ramada Middletown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 20, 2011

Ramada disaster

I was in Newport for a wedding and didn't want to pay $600. a day for the weekend at a fancy lodging. The Ramada was cheaper but not worth what we paid for the weekend. Hotel staff didn't have a clue what rooms were ready at checkin and sent us to a room where beds and mattresses were strewn all over. Went back to registration desk and they told me no other rooms were available for the type that I had purchased, even though the room was confirmed. Finally another employee came over and found us a comparable room. While waiting for a new room I noticed that the same thing was happening to other guests arriving including some family members. Guests would be sent to rooms only to find they were not prepared. Cracks in the bathroom floor. Really old looking furniture. TV was about 14" wide. We just wanted to get in and out of the room as fast as we could. Friends went to the motel restaurant, the Portofino, and thought the burgers were fabulous. Cannot recommend to anyone at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Newport had many shops that were surprisingly inexpensive. The mansion visits were great and informative. If you're having a wedding reception, then Ocean Cliffs is the place to do it. A1

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ramada Middletown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sprf70
Business
Norwalk, CT
Jul 25, 2012

Great location

The location was great, very close to downtown Newport where you can find excellent restaurants and shops. The restaurant in the hotel was very nice and reasonably priced. It would have been great if there had been a refrigerator in the room, also the walls could use some cleaning; but at least the linens were clean. The hotel could use an update overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Many great restaurants nearby in downtown Newport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ramada Middletown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Patience is a virtue
Business
Miami, Fl
Jun 17, 2012

Convenient to Newport

We drove easily to Newport and the parks near Jamestown. Plus Starbucks was close! I was surprised that there was no elevator and that we had to ask for a microwave and refrigerator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Starbucks! Also Marshall's, Walmart and so on for anything you forgot!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ramada Middletown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Love Newport
Business
Shrewsbury,Ma
May 6, 2013

It's ok -lucky only stayed one night!

Needs updating of rooms - hard to open door with keycard , never sure if it was going to work or not . TV's need updating- Room was clean and bathroom clean so that was deciding factor that we stayed. Very loud, paper thin walls could hear everything in the other rooms . Staff was very nice!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ramada Middletown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Real Analysis
Business
Northfield, Minnesota
Aug 11, 2013

middletown ramada

Room was acceptable. Breakfast was mediocre, even by chain standards, and served in a peculiar conference room, overstuff with too-large tables. The advertised wi-fi hardly existed --- it flaked in and out every minute or two, and so was essentially unusable. I mentioned this several times to desk staff. They seemed to understand the problem but couldn't really do anything about it. Despite a promise after the first night that it would be fixed for the second, there was no improvement. Wi-fi is arguably not the biggest deal, but when it's advertised it should be available and practically usable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

When possible, rent cars not from airports but from downtown locations. They're often much, much cheaper that way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ramada Middletown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boston ma
Jul 23, 2011

just ok

beach shop dine hotel bland

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top