$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 4, 2015 Check-out: Mar 5, 2015

Toftrees Rsrt and Conf Center

3 stars
View map of One Country Club Lane, State College, PA 16801

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
49 reviews
Very nice stay, beautiful setting

This was a great stay for a reasonable price. It was a short, overnight trip so I did not check out... See full review

  • GiovannaS
  • Oct 6, 2014
Great Value Option

It's not the fanciest hotel in the world (I didn't expect it to be), but it's a great value for... See full review

  • psualum0607
  • Aug 28, 2014
Central Pa's only Resort destination is surrounded by 1500 acres of rolling forested hills and the Toftrees planned community. Our on site 18 hole championship golf course is rated four stars by Golf Digest. Conference and banquet facilities for up to 300. 106 upscale guest rooms, 4 lighted tennis courts, sand volleyball, fitness center and par course. Located in the Central Pennsylvania town of State College

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Toftrees Rsrt and Conf Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Toftrees Rsrt and Conf Center Rooms

Deluxe queen room smoking
Deluxe queen room w/newspaper/coffee maker/desk/27 inch TV/voice mail/warmly decorated in earth tones/max occupancy 2
Deluxe Double Room Smoking
Deluxe double room smoking/w/free newspaper/coffee maker/work desk/27 inch TV/voice mail/warmly decorated in earthtones/max occupancy 4
Deluxe queen room non smoking
Deluxe queen room non smoking/newspaper/coffee maker/27 in TV voice mail/warmly decorated in earthtones.
Deluxe double room non smoking
Deluxe double room non smoking/newspaper/coffee maker/27 inch TV/voice mail/warmly decorated in earthtones.
room
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper

Nearby points of interest

  • Beaver Stadium: 2.5 mi
  • Bryce Jordan Center: 2.6 mi

Dining

Down Under Steak House
Steaks, seafood, pasta, salads and sandwiches Lunch and dinner
LaPapillon
LaPapillon Breakfast and Sunday brunch Casual attire
Halfway House and 19th Hole
Golf Course on site Sandwiches, snacks and bar service

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (49)

Ratings and reviews for Toftrees Rsrt and Conf Center

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 49
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Toftrees Rsrt and Conf Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Aug 23, 2010

Don't choose

Not worth the $ 199.00 rate. Stayed there as last hotel option in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Toftrees Rsrt and Conf Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PSU Mom
Business
Rockville, Maryland
Sep 19, 2010

Not the best customer service

I had traveled to State College to see my son who is a student at PSU and to attend the football game. When I checked in after the game the gentleman at the desk was not very helpful. They gave me a room that I had to use the staircase to get to because the hotel does not have any elevators. Since I have a disability I said that I was not able to carry my bags down stairs, he laughed and said "oh well". The staff member never offered to help with my bags. I have utilized other hotels in the State College area and was never treated this badly. So I will not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Texas Road House...great steaks and the service is incredible.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Toftrees Rsrt and Conf Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
OHIO
Jul 3, 2010

Toftree Resort - location true value!

We were visiting PENN STATE and found the location of this resort to be perfect.....very close proximity to PSU. But the room had an awful, mildewy smell. The bathroom appeared designed for little people. The sink was practically at my knees and the ceiling was barely above my head (I'm 5'6"). The shower head was at my neck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Toftrees Rsrt and Conf Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chrisdubz
Business
Bloomsburg PA
Jul 25, 2012

Don't put ash trays next to exits if you are non-smoking hotel.

We scheduled a last visit trip to see the Arts Fest and finding no options available in town decided to try Toftrees. We spent little time in the hotel itself, but had no real complaints concerning the room. As we were packing up the car to leave we had to walk past a member of the help staff smoking right outside the entrance. He was positioned so you'd get a good wiff of smoke on your way in and out of the building. Besides being incredibly rude, his behavior actually appeared to be against hotel policy as there were signs at every door proclaiming that smoking was not allowed. Of course then again I don't know how you'd expect anyone to take them seriously when you have large ashtrays placed right beneath them. Luckily my wife had already taken our 4 month old son to the car before he decided to take up his perch. I told the staff who asked that I call management the next day. I figured that this review might get a little more attention than an office call and I really don't see the benefit of telling a manager that they should be handling the obvious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Toftrees Rsrt and Conf Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JIGMom
Business
Maryland
Mar 31, 2014

Not what was promised

The hotel was fine but I specifically ordered and paid for a room with a microwave and fridge and the room I was given, Rm 145, did not have the microwave and fridge, as promised . I have special dietary and medical needs and this was a major inconvenience. It is a good thing I had my own cooler with me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Toftrees Rsrt and Conf Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westport CT
Jun 15, 2010

Good value

Quiet and secluded setting, yet right next to Penn State. We got a super promotional price which is why we came. Penn State football weekends are 5x the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Toftrees Rsrt and Conf Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phila., PA
Feb 21, 2011

adequate

Close to University Park, fair price, clean. We had trouble regulating the heat in our room (either completely off or constantly blowing) and the TV remote did not work. We did not use any of the hotel amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Toftrees Rsrt and Conf Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lipbaum
Business
philadelphia, pa
Apr 13, 2014

Good Stay!

The staff was amazingly warm and friendly. Rooms are clean and spacious. Very large bathroom. Convenient to the University.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Toftrees Rsrt and Conf Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 27, 2008

Comfortable and easy

Room was smaller than expected with 2 double beds in it. The bathroom was the best part of the arrangement, with lots of space, great tub for a deep bath, and plenty of adequate ventilation. Oddities in design: the only closet was in the bathroom; only one small sink in the middle of a huge vanity counter; tight entrance to the room. The room was clean and well-kept. Easy access to major highway and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Target, Kohl's, Michaels Crafts within a few minute drive. Plenty of great restaurants as well. Penn State is close by....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Toftrees Rsrt and Conf Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Apollo, Pennsylvania
Jul 27, 2011

Great experience!

I took my two children, ages 2 and 6 to Penn State for my birthday. I picked Toftress because of the baby pool, which was unique to the area. We were very pleasantly suprised! Our room, although small, was close to the reception desk, which was purposefully placed by the manager for my conveinence with the children, and we had our own balcony. The pool was wonderful. We had a poolside waitress, which the kids really enjoyed. This was the first time that my 2 year old was staying in a hotel. It did not go well. In fact, I checked out of the hotel at 9pm. The receptionist was very accomodating. We were refunded 50% of our fee, which was amazing. I will definitely be coming back to Toftress, but booking a 2 bedroom suite!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top