$59 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 27, 2014 Check-out: Nov 28, 2014

Toftrees Rsrt and Conf Center

3 stars
One Country Club Lane, State College, PA 16801
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
48 reviews
Very nice stay, beautiful setting

This was a great stay for a reasonable price. It was a short, overnight trip so I did not check out... See full review

  • GiovannaS
  • Oct 6, 2014
Great Value Option

It's not the fanciest hotel in the world (I didn't expect it to be), but it's a great value for... See full review

  • psualum0607
  • Aug 28, 2014
Central Pa's only Resort destination is surrounded by 1500 acres of rolling forested hills and the Toftrees planned community. Our on site 18 hole championship golf course is rated four stars by Golf Digest. Conference and banquet facilities for up to 300. 106 upscale guest rooms, 4 lighted tennis courts, sand volleyball, fitness center and par course. Located in the Central Pennsylvania town of State College

Hotel Map

40.8246 -77.9004
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Toftrees Rsrt and Conf Center also booked these hotels.

Toftrees Rsrt and Conf Center Rooms

Deluxe queen room smoking
Deluxe queen room w/newspaper/coffee maker/desk/27 inch TV/voice mail/warmly decorated in earth tones/max occupancy 2
Deluxe Double Room Smoking
Deluxe double room smoking/w/free newspaper/coffee maker/work desk/27 inch TV/voice mail/warmly decorated in earthtones/max occupancy 4
Deluxe queen room non smoking
Deluxe queen room non smoking/newspaper/coffee maker/27 in TV voice mail/warmly decorated in earthtones.
Deluxe double room non smoking
Deluxe double room non smoking/newspaper/coffee maker/27 inch TV/voice mail/warmly decorated in earthtones.
room
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper

Nearby points of interest

  • Beaver Stadium: 2.5 mi
  • Bryce Jordan Center: 2.6 mi

Dining

Down Under Steak House
Steaks, seafood, pasta, salads and sandwiches Lunch and dinner
LaPapillon
LaPapillon Breakfast and Sunday brunch Casual attire
Halfway House and 19th Hole
Golf Course on site Sandwiches, snacks and bar service

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for Toftrees Rsrt and Conf Center

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Toftrees Rsrt and Conf Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chrisdubz
Business
Bloomsburg PA
Jul 25, 2012

Don't put ash trays next to exits if you are non-smoking hotel.

We scheduled a last visit trip to see the Arts Fest and finding no options available in town decided to try Toftrees. We spent little time in the hotel itself, but had no real complaints concerning the room. As we were packing up the car to leave we had to walk past a member of the help staff smoking right outside the entrance. He was positioned so you'd get a good wiff of smoke on your way in and out of the building. Besides being incredibly rude, his behavior actually appeared to be against hotel policy as there were signs at every door proclaiming that smoking was not allowed. Of course then again I don't know how you'd expect anyone to take them seriously when you have large ashtrays placed right beneath them. Luckily my wife had already taken our 4 month old son to the car before he decided to take up his perch. I told the staff who asked that I call management the next day. I figured that this review might get a little more attention than an office call and I really don't see the benefit of telling a manager that they should be handling the obvious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Toftrees Rsrt and Conf Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Plainfield, IL
Jun 7, 2009

Nice atmosphere but could use an update

I stayed at this hotel for a wedding, and unfortunately did not have an opportunity to play golf. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and would do anything to make sure that we were happy. The only issue was the front desk staff, who was not very knowledgeable. The rest of the staff is what made the stay enjoyable. The hotel has a relaxing feel and the rooms were nice, but a little outdated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Toftrees Rsrt and Conf Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westport CT
Jun 15, 2010

Good value

Quiet and secluded setting, yet right next to Penn State. We got a super promotional price which is why we came. Penn State football weekends are 5x the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Toftrees Rsrt and Conf Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Truckster27
Business
Lansdale PA
Jul 12, 2010

Nice Accommodations, Resturant So/So

I've been a regular hotel resident of State College for over 8 years now. Decided to give here a try, even if it's a little farther out from downtown then I'm accustomed to. The Premium room was nice, quaint, and while not ultra modern, clean and tastefully accented. The Front desk staff was nice, just their book keeping needed some to be desired. First, they mistakenly thought we were checking out a day ahead of schedule, which they did remedy when they found out. Then, they were confused as to how we were going to pay. However, when we called the front desk to help us get a taxi home, they went the distance and got us the help we needed. The worst was the attached bar's kitchen staff. It was clear that they didn't want to stay open when we appeared (6 of us) at 9:30pm on a friday, and did a horrible job with the food. late, wrong, and clearly no attempt to satisfy (one sandwich was supposed to have no sause, and it was clear that they just wiped it off and slapped it back together, as it was all over the bun). The bar tender did her best to appologize and accommodate, by the glares from the remaining staff made it apparent we were keeping them there. All in all, a nice relaxing place to enjoy your time to State College, just pack your own food or order takeout!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Toftrees Rsrt and Conf Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MAU
Business
Reading,PA
Aug 25, 2010

Didn't meet expectations

I had always envisioned Toftrees as a classy hotel. I was disappointed that the hotel smelled. The coffee maker in our room had no cream or sugar. There was no hair conditioner. The beds were just okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Our room was $89.00 per night. The next night would have been $199.00. Check different dates for huge savings.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Toftrees Rsrt and Conf Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Psu Fudgie
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Average Stay

I have stayed in several hotels in State College and wanted to give Toftrees a shot since it was updated. The room was clean, but the place did not have an elevator. The bed was uncomfortable. The hot breakfast was not that good. Why does Orbitz take your credit card if Toftrees does not take payment for it. Better have your card with you. Now I have to make sure I was not billed twice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Toftrees Rsrt and Conf Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phila., PA
Feb 21, 2011

adequate

Close to University Park, fair price, clean. We had trouble regulating the heat in our room (either completely off or constantly blowing) and the TV remote did not work. We did not use any of the hotel amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Toftrees Rsrt and Conf Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Fran Bay Area, CA
Jul 31, 2011

Not so good

Visited on business. The hotel is a bit outdated. If you will be arriving late, get food elsewhere- the restaurant and bar closes at 9.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Toftrees Rsrt and Conf Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nittany7881
Business
Northern New Jersey
Sep 8, 2014

Solid, but dated

Staff was very professional and friendly. Although rooms and common areas were re-done several years ago, the walls, carpeting, bedding, etc., seem like they are in need of another refresh. Unused and unkept tennis courts should be fixed or removed. Cost is what you expect for a Penn State football weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Toftrees Rsrt and Conf Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Svadhyaya
Business
Miami, Florida
Nov 3, 2014

Pretty Good...

Pretty good for what it is. Location is great. And fairly reasonable. Probably between a 2 and 3 star but closer to a 3.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top