$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Toftrees Rsrt and Conf Center

3 stars
One Country Club Lane, State College, PA 16801
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
48 reviews
Very nice stay, beautiful setting

This was a great stay for a reasonable price. It was a short, overnight trip so I did not check out... See full review

  • GiovannaS
  • Oct 6, 2014
Great Value Option

It's not the fanciest hotel in the world (I didn't expect it to be), but it's a great value for... See full review

  • psualum0607
  • Aug 28, 2014
Central Pa's only Resort destination is surrounded by 1500 acres of rolling forested hills and the Toftrees planned community. Our on site 18 hole championship golf course is rated four stars by Golf Digest. Conference and banquet facilities for up to 300. 106 upscale guest rooms, 4 lighted tennis courts, sand volleyball, fitness center and par course. Located in the Central Pennsylvania town of State College

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Toftrees Rsrt and Conf Center also booked these hotels.

Toftrees Rsrt and Conf Center Rooms

Deluxe queen room smoking
Deluxe queen room w/newspaper/coffee maker/desk/27 inch TV/voice mail/warmly decorated in earth tones/max occupancy 2
Deluxe Double Room Smoking
Deluxe double room smoking/w/free newspaper/coffee maker/work desk/27 inch TV/voice mail/warmly decorated in earthtones/max occupancy 4
Deluxe queen room non smoking
Deluxe queen room non smoking/newspaper/coffee maker/27 in TV voice mail/warmly decorated in earthtones.
Deluxe double room non smoking
Deluxe double room non smoking/newspaper/coffee maker/27 inch TV/voice mail/warmly decorated in earthtones.
room
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper

Nearby points of interest

  • Beaver Stadium: 2.5 mi
  • Bryce Jordan Center: 2.6 mi

Dining

Down Under Steak House
Steaks, seafood, pasta, salads and sandwiches Lunch and dinner
LaPapillon
LaPapillon Breakfast and Sunday brunch Casual attire
Halfway House and 19th Hole
Golf Course on site Sandwiches, snacks and bar service

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for Toftrees Rsrt and Conf Center

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Toftrees Rsrt and Conf Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Svadhyaya
Business
Miami, Florida
Nov 3, 2014

Pretty Good...

Pretty good for what it is. Location is great. And fairly reasonable. Probably between a 2 and 3 star but closer to a 3.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Toftrees Rsrt and Conf Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GiovannaS
Business
Pennsylvania
Oct 6, 2014

Very nice stay, beautiful setting

This was a great stay for a reasonable price. It was a short, overnight trip so I did not check out any of the amenities or extras. The room was clean and comfortable. I rated it a mark lower on the room comfort as I did not care for the closet location in the bathroom and I am not a fan of the tiny, tabletop ironing boards but other than that, it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Toftrees Rsrt and Conf Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nittany7881
Business
Northern New Jersey
Sep 8, 2014

Solid, but dated

Staff was very professional and friendly. Although rooms and common areas were re-done several years ago, the walls, carpeting, bedding, etc., seem like they are in need of another refresh. Unused and unkept tennis courts should be fixed or removed. Cost is what you expect for a Penn State football weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Toftrees Rsrt and Conf Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
psualum0607
Business
Virginia
Aug 28, 2014

Great Value Option

It's not the fanciest hotel in the world (I didn't expect it to be), but it's a great value for State College. It's actually a Marriott but just not blatantly named that way. Bed was comfortable, room was clean and well kept. My only real complaint was the AC wasn't automatic, so if you turned it on cool and set the fan level it ran constantly instead of maintaining a set temperature in the room. If you need walking distance to campus this place is not appropriate, but for those who are wiling to drive a little and get a good value, it's great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Waffle Shop on North Atherton!!! There are three in State College, but the one on North Atherton is the best. Have cash and be ready to wait in a line (especially on the weekend and especially, especially on game weekends)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Toftrees Rsrt and Conf Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mick2.012
Business
PA
Apr 22, 2014

getaway

I got a great price or 2 nights for an annual get together with old friends. This year a friend's son was graduating from Penn State and a round at Toftrees was gifted to him. Good golf, nice staff. My only negatives: the room initially smelled like b.o.; needed Fabreezing and there were cobwebs on the ceiling. Come on, let's clean it up. I stopped staying at cheaper hotels because of smelly rooms. Otherwise great place. Have stayed before without issue, will again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Toftrees Rsrt and Conf Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lipbaum
Business
philadelphia, pa
Apr 13, 2014

Good Stay!

The staff was amazingly warm and friendly. Rooms are clean and spacious. Very large bathroom. Convenient to the University.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Toftrees Rsrt and Conf Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JIGMom
Business
Maryland
Mar 31, 2014

Not what was promised

The hotel was fine but I specifically ordered and paid for a room with a microwave and fridge and the room I was given, Rm 145, did not have the microwave and fridge, as promised . I have special dietary and medical needs and this was a major inconvenience. It is a good thing I had my own cooler with me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Toftrees Rsrt and Conf Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Al and Chris
Business
State College, PA
Jan 20, 2014

Nice Hotel

Everything went fine with our stay with just one problem, We were in town for the wedding and the iron didn't work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Toftrees Rsrt and Conf Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chrisdubz
Business
Bloomsburg PA
Jul 25, 2012

Don't put ash trays next to exits if you are non-smoking hotel.

We scheduled a last visit trip to see the Arts Fest and finding no options available in town decided to try Toftrees. We spent little time in the hotel itself, but had no real complaints concerning the room. As we were packing up the car to leave we had to walk past a member of the help staff smoking right outside the entrance. He was positioned so you'd get a good wiff of smoke on your way in and out of the building. Besides being incredibly rude, his behavior actually appeared to be against hotel policy as there were signs at every door proclaiming that smoking was not allowed. Of course then again I don't know how you'd expect anyone to take them seriously when you have large ashtrays placed right beneath them. Luckily my wife had already taken our 4 month old son to the car before he decided to take up his perch. I told the staff who asked that I call management the next day. I figured that this review might get a little more attention than an office call and I really don't see the benefit of telling a manager that they should be handling the obvious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Toftrees Rsrt and Conf Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Like it DISWAY
Business
Northern VA
Jul 12, 2012

A night at Toftrees

Overall, the room was clean and a nice place to stay. I would recommend staying there. The balcony was a good feature. Ours overlooked a secluded pathway on the backside of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Ale House is very close to the hotel. There is often entertainment at the bar/restaurant, and the food is very good. If you want to take a good Belgian beer brewed in an abbey back to the hotel, you just need to get one from the 6 pack fridge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top