$114 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 13, 2015 Check-out: Aug 14, 2015

The Penn Stater Conference Center and Hotel

3 stars
View map of 215 Innovation Blvd, State College, PA 16803

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Penn Stater Conference Center and Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
61 out of 61
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Penn Stater Conference Center and Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
STONE Harbor
Business
greensburg, pa
Aug 16, 2012

Business Trip

Room was quiet and clean, similar to other business hotels of medium cost and amenities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Penn Stater Conference Center and Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Angelica parent
Business
New York
Aug 14, 2012

OK place, lousy service

In a two-day stay, the room was not done on day two, despite the fact that I verbally requested it at the front desk. Clean towels were dropped but the dirty cups and glasses were left untouched from the previous day. The coffee available in the room was bad and was unable to get a decent cup of coffee at the restaurant (stops serving breakfast at 10:00 a.m.) unless you order lunch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Penn Stater Conference Center and Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Franeicy
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 13, 2012

Don't recommend

Due to airlines delays; and three hours of driving I arrived at the hotel on Saturday at 3:30 a.m. instead of Friday. The room on the second floor was horrible. The bed spread and sheets were dirty, carpet too dirty to clean. It should be trashed. In addition, the room smelled musty and the curtains were rip and hanging. The place was horrible. The couch was filty. My dog would not sit on it. The Second room I received on the 5th floor was much better. The hotel had plenty of empty rooms. The front desk staff was informative and very nice. however, there was one extremely rude lady. Our room was never cleaned or restocked. I had an interesting conversation with the Manager during check out because she insisted on charging me for Friday even though I had Not checked into the hotel until Saturday. I departed realizing that even the hotel business was slow; and paid for a Friday night that I spent in the airport. Funny, the manager agreed to reduce 25% off of Friday's bill. She was nice, the location was nice, but I was held up. It is definitely a one Star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

downtown.

Review of The Penn Stater Conference Center and Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
luv2invest
Business
Odenton, MD
Jul 30, 2012

Needs Some Improvement

This hotel's decor is dated. The dark colors make an appearance of decreased cleanliness. The maid made the bed with the bedspread tucked around and under the pillow which is also a cleanliness issue, unless the bedspreads are cleaned between clients. Most other hotels have stopped using bedspreads for this reason. When we came back from a day trip, the only thing done was the bed made as before. The ice chest was not emptied, the towels were not tidied-up, we did not get clean glasses in the bathroom - it appeared that they did not do anything in the bathroom at all. I travel a lot and i can say that for 3 starts, I would have expected more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Penn Stater Conference Center and Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PSUROON
Business
middletown, NJ
Jul 16, 2012

Outstanding

Room spacious and clean. Great bed and pillows. AC was perfect...Free shuttle!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Free shuttle downtown

Review of The Penn Stater Conference Center and Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Penn State Dad
Business
S.I. NY
Jun 2, 2012

Son's orientation at Penn State

Hotel's location for a day at Penn State was perfect, hotel provided transportation to the HUB and picked us up anywhere within the campus. The staff was so helpful with all of our questions about the campus. Would recommend this hotel to anybody going to Penn State.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Corner Room in state college had great burgers, on Thursdays it is half price on all burgers

Review of The Penn Stater Conference Center and Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ducky312
Business
North Myrtle Beach, SC, USA
Apr 24, 2012

Best hotel in State College

I only really have one complaint and that was that the floor I was staying on was under construction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Legends in the hotel was amazing

Review of The Penn Stater Conference Center and Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lizd
Business
Buffalo, NY, USA
Apr 10, 2012

Campus Visit

The Penn Stater was perfect for our recent campus visit. We arrived late on Thurs for our Friday tours so we didn'[t get to use their facilities but everything was very attractive from the surounding garden areas to the conference areas. All the staff went beyond expected seervice. At check-in the front desk staff actually came around to the front to go over the campus map and noted a good walking tour for us and what buildings to check out. We ordered room service 10min before closing and they were curtious and prompt. The shuttle staff was great, also pointing outplaces on campus and picking us up within 5 min of calling sending out a special shuttle. The staff made a mistake on the room charges when i checked in but the the staff quickly corrected it when i pointed it out at check out. All in all a great stay and i would deffinitly try to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Room service was good but i'd avoid the black and blue chips. Not as good as they sound.

Review of The Penn Stater Conference Center and Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steve2
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Apr 3, 2012

Nice Place to stay

One of the best places to stay in State College. Good laocation and very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Waffle House for breakfast.

Review of The Penn Stater Conference Center and Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LaurieG
Business
Madison, CT
Apr 2, 2012

Fair and Adequate

The staff is friendly and helpful. However the rooms need to be updated - especially the bedding. The bathroom amenities are outdated too. Please upgrade!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Cosmo's at the bar are great!

Back to menu Return to top