$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 21, 2014

Super 8 State College

2 stars
1663 S Atherton St, State College, PA 16801
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
100 reviews
Great value

Booked at the last minute while traveling. Found the room quite large and clean, the bed... See full review

  • AllyM
  • Dec 30, 2013
nice stay

I had a nice stay hotel comfortable and close to the college See full review

  • jim father
  • May 7, 2013
Super 8 in State College PA is a great location to meet with friends, family or colleagues for business or pleasure. You can enjoy a concert at Bryce Jordan Center, a football game at Beaver Stadium or a Parents weekend at Penn State University. We are a central location between Philadelphia and Pittsburgh or Washington DC and Erie, PA contact us to host your family reunion, meeting or a college reunion. We feature 141 nicely appointed guest rooms with a choice of King, Queen and Double Beds, also available are suites and efficiency room types. In each room you will find Free High Speed Internet Access, Nintendo Play Station, Over 50 cable channels to choose from. All our guests enjoy Free Daily Newspaper, Free Super Start Plus Breakfast Daily, and Fitness Center. To accommodate your meeting or banquet needs we offer space to accommodate up to 125 guests in our Laurel Room, or 15 guests in our break-out rooms. A wide variety of audio-visual equipment and full catering service are available.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Security
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Cribs available

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Super 8 State College also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7853 -77.835
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Bryce Jordan Center: 1.9 mi
  • Beaver Stadium: 2.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (100)

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 State College

Overall score

3.5 / 5
14 out of 100
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

4
AllyM
Providence, RI
Dec 30, 2013

Great value

Booked at the last minute while traveling. Found the room quite large and clean, the bed super-comfortable, the staff very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

4
jim father
boston
May 7, 2013

nice stay

I had a nice stay hotel comfortable and close to the college

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

4
spechelle
Gwinn, Mi
Feb 28, 2013

Reunited

It was a wonderful time I had in state college,pa...i recommend this hotel to all that fly there or drive....Courteous people staff and the town buzzes with excitement in every nook and cranny....I really loved the veiw from the back of the hotel...stream,ducks,beaver,lots of birds and lots of white tail deer on the hill...it was gorgeous...even being at the hotel you didn't even have to travel far to eat or shop...and the concert at Bryce Stadium was awesome...BON JOVI ....of course...who else...was lucky to meet up with friends and i am moving back this trip to here this hotel was the most life changing ever...ty to all of the staff who made me stay quite comfy...to all of you..and Kim Young for welcoming home in a matter I didn't expect...with lots of warmth and friendship you are a great person to work there...they should be proud...you made me feel home again...ty girl...Michele

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

State College...Penn State University...dining,entertaining,murals on walls ,shops,everything at your finger tips...

Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

4
Overdust
Nashville, Tennessee
Dec 23, 2012

Good place to stay for a couple of days

Facilities in rooms are enough and in good condition. They provide free breakfast in 6:30 - 9:30. That is good. They provide free coffee anytime, of course, you have to get it from the coffee machine by yourself. That is wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

3
Vegas16
Sterling, Va
Nov 10, 2012

Would stay again for sure.

Very close to the campus. Staff was kind and helpful. Room was clean and bed was firm and comfortable. Will stay there again if and when I am up in State College.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Little Caesars pizza right across the street that does $5 large pizzas, good money saver!

Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

5
hahasungan
state college, PA
Aug 22, 2012

Smoking room 2night stay

there's restuarants around this hotel which makes a good stay. and one bus stop you can get on by walk. however, this location is few miles away from college.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

there's mcdonalds!! p.s. subways too

Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

3
chzcake01
Houston, TX
Jun 21, 2012

Good Hotel

Stayed here on a visit to Penn State. The hotel was within a 10 minute drive to the campus. Employees were friendly and the room was clean. The hotel was quiet and there were many restaurants along the same street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

4
Minnemum
Duluth, MN
Jun 7, 2011

Good value, comfortable motel

This is my third stay at this motel which is in a handy location to State College's main street, Atherton, shares a parking lot with Perkins, and is very close to other restaurants. Very near is a golf course, Penn State, shopping and historic Boalsburg. The motel's bed was very comfortable, breakfast was adequate, internet free, coffee, cookies and fruit available all day. I only have one problem: the bathroom floor was quite dirty and never got washed in a three-day stay, and I am kicking myself for letting it go by because the rest of the stay was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Perkins is across the parking lot and Clem's Barbecue is next door. Several more dining spots are within a two-block walk on Atherton.

Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
South Dakota
May 5, 2011

Everything I needed.

[...] at the front desk did a great job at making arrangements for me to get to and from the airport,though the shuttle was not running, even when I had to change my departure time 20 minutes after he had made the original arrangements. My room was clean and quiet. The breakfast was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Allentown, New Jersey
Mar 27, 2011

Bad Experience

The room's smoke detector battery was low and set off the "low battery" warning at 3:00 a.m. After listening to the ear-splitting chirping warning, I got on a chair and pulled the battery out of the thing and pressed some button on it to get it to stop. Then, when I went to take a shower in the morning, I realized that there was no shower head -- just a pipe coming out of the wall shooting a strong stream of water against the far end of the shower wall. I reported both to the front desk clerk when I checked out and she made note of them, but then "cheerily" sent me on my way. I will not stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top