$51 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 1, 2015 Check-out: Feb 2, 2015

Super 8 State College

2 stars
1663 S Atherton St, State College, PA 16801
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
110 reviews
Good Stay at Super 8 convient to Penn State

Great Experience, everyone very pleaseant and helpful. See full review

  • Scarp
  • Aug 25, 2014
Convenient place to stay for Penn State events

Staff was very helpful with personal info on historic downtown, restaurants and directions. Quiet... See full review

  • Brown eyed Gran
  • Dec 8, 2014
Super 8 in State College PA is a great location to meet with friends, family or colleagues for business or pleasure. You can enjoy a concert at Bryce Jordan Center, a football game at Beaver Stadium or a Parents weekend at Penn State University. We are a central location between Philadelphia and Pittsburgh or Washington DC and Erie, PA contact us to host your family reunion, meeting or a college reunion. We feature 141 nicely appointed guest rooms with a choice of King, Queen and Double Beds, also available are suites and efficiency room types. In each room you will find Free High Speed Internet Access, Nintendo Play Station, Over 50 cable channels to choose from. All our guests enjoy Free Daily Newspaper, Free Super Start Plus Breakfast Daily, and Fitness Center. To accommodate your meeting or banquet needs we offer space to accommodate up to 125 guests in our Laurel Room, or 15 guests in our break-out rooms. A wide variety of audio-visual equipment and full catering service are available.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Super 8 State College also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Security
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Cribs available

Nearby points of interest

  • Bryce Jordan Center: 1.9 mi
  • Beaver Stadium: 2.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (110)

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 State College

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 110
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Empty pockets for the nex
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Apr 15, 2014

Penn State Digs

My daughter was invited to meet with some PSU faculty and perform with a school musical choir and on the following day to sit in on several classes. I was looking for a basic "flop house" but not a "hole". The accommodations were excellent for the price. Clean, free breakfast, friendly and attentive staff. 2 miles from the campus right off the main road to the campus. I would stay here again and recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Exxon station about 1-2 miles south of the hotel on Atherton had gas for $0.10 less than most other gas stations in the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rob1313
Business
State college, Pa
Feb 27, 2013

Out of town visit

The evening staff person very short with questions, Room was water stained on ceiling and fixtures, flooring in bathroom coming up in the corners. Would not recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dreams74
Business
Clifton,NJ
Jan 8, 2013

Nice hotel...

We had fun.room was really clean and neat. It's dark too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jackrabbit Speed
Business
Franklin, PA
Nov 9, 2012

Work Commuter

The room was great and was clean. One of my thoughts has always been that a hotel can make giant strides by investing in their continental breakfast. Your options are packaged food or cereal, which leave you hungry by about 10 AM. Going a little extra in this facet I think would put the hotel head or heels as the best value in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Get a cab

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JTCat
Business
Columbia, SC
Aug 15, 2012

A reasonable motel

It has two sessions, old and new. We stayed in the old session, the room is clean but the hallway looks a bit aged. They offered free latte/expresso etc in the lobby which I liked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PSU Liz
Business
Lynnfield Ma
May 15, 2012

Trip I had to Take

Decent hotel stay, it was what I expected for the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Home Delivery Pizza

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PSU Liz
Business
Lynnfield Ma
May 11, 2012

Trip I had to make

Okay...pretty much what I expected. Hotel could def use updating and a good cleaning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Home Delivery Pizza Pub

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rosebuddy
Business
Pittsburgh PA
Oct 25, 2011

Super 8

I stayed one night while attending a conference. The most attractive thing about the hotel is the cookies available at the fron t desk and the fresh fruit and the coffee machine in the elevator lobby. It's nice that they offer tea in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Perkins is adjacent to the parking lot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cleveland Traveler
Business
Cleveland, OH, USA
Oct 18, 2011

Great Staff, poor decor/amenities

This hotel badly needs redecorating and basic things like carpet replacement and heating unit replacement. The shower surround was awful--peeling away from the walls from condensation. The staff was wonderful -- very helpful and friendly. Too bad they don't have a better place to "sell." Got a great rate via Orbitz--guess you get what you pay for. Location is not near the downtown State College area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Socialite San
Business
Michigan
Sep 6, 2011

Great place to stay!

I have stayed here twice so far, and will again when it's on my route. The facilities are well kept, the location is convenient. There are a variety of restaurants within walking distance. This could be the best Super 8 location I've ever visited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top