$55 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

Super 8 State College

2 stars
1663 S Atherton St, State College, PA 16801
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
160 reviews
Good stay

It is very convenient to visit Penn State University. See full review

  • Conscientious
  • Jul 4, 2014
Great value

Booked at the last minute while traveling. Found the room quite large and clean, the bed... See full review

  • AllyM
  • Dec 30, 2013
Super 8 in State College PA is a great location to meet with friends, family or colleagues for business or pleasure. You can enjoy a concert at Bryce Jordan Center, a football game at Beaver Stadium or a Parents weekend at Penn State University. We are a central location between Philadelphia and Pittsburgh or Washington DC and Erie, PA contact us to host your family reunion, meeting or a college reunion. We feature 141 nicely appointed guest rooms with a choice of King, Queen and Double Beds, also available are suites and efficiency room types. In each room you will find Free High Speed Internet Access, Nintendo Play Station, Over 50 cable channels to choose from. All our guests enjoy Free Daily Newspaper, Free Super Start Plus Breakfast Daily, and Fitness Center. To accommodate your meeting or banquet needs we offer space to accommodate up to 125 guests in our Laurel Room, or 15 guests in our break-out rooms. A wide variety of audio-visual equipment and full catering service are available.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Security
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Cribs available

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Super 8 State College also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7853 -77.835
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Bryce Jordan Center: 1.9 mi
  • Beaver Stadium: 2.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (160)

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 State College

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
160 out of 160
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Allentown, New Jersey
Mar 27, 2011

Bad Experience

The room's smoke detector battery was low and set off the "low battery" warning at 3:00 a.m. After listening to the ear-splitting chirping warning, I got on a chair and pulled the battery out of the thing and pressed some button on it to get it to stop. Then, when I went to take a shower in the morning, I realized that there was no shower head -- just a pipe coming out of the wall shooting a strong stream of water against the far end of the shower wall. I reported both to the front desk clerk when I checked out and she made note of them, but then "cheerily" sent me on my way. I will not stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Allentown, New Jersey
Mar 27, 2011

Bad Experience

The room's smoke detector battery was low and set off the "low battery" warning at 3:00 a.m. After listening to the ear-splitting chirping warning, I got on a chair and pulled the battery out of the thing and pressed some button on it to get it to stop. Then, when I went to take a shower in the morning, I realized that there was no shower head -- just a pipe coming out of the wall shooting a strong stream of water against the far end of the shower wall. I reported both to the front desk clerk when I checked out and she made note of them, but then "cheerily" sent me on my way. I will not stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bradford PA
Mar 6, 2011

GREAT RATES AND A GOOD HOTEL

We stayed for a high school function that took place at Penn State. The hotel staff was very friendly, our room was clean( heater needed a little work, appeared old and ran loud) but for the price and for a close place to stay, it served the purpose. Nothing fancy just a clean comfortable place to stay for a quick trip. We would stay again if we needed to travel to State College.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of great places to eat close to the hotel

Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bradford PA
Mar 6, 2011

GREAT RATES AND A GOOD HOTEL

We stayed for a high school function that took place at Penn State. The hotel staff was very friendly, our room was clean( heater needed a little work, appeared old and ran loud) but for the price and for a close place to stay, it served the purpose. Nothing fancy just a clean comfortable place to stay for a quick trip. We would stay again if we needed to travel to State College.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of great places to eat close to the hotel

Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rosellita
Allentown,PA
Feb 6, 2011

Only good enough to stay for one night

The hotel wasn't terrible, but it definitely was not up to my standards. I reserved for a non-smoking room but the whole floor I was on smelled like cigarettes including the room I stayed in. The door didn't shut properly. Also the remote control didn't work and when i went down to the lobby to ask for batteries they didn't have any. The lady gave me another remote, but it didn't even work. The room was very outdated all the way from the flooring to the curtains and the bedspread.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rosellita
Allentown,PA
Feb 6, 2011

Only good enough to stay for one night

The hotel wasn't terrible, but it definitely was not up to my standards. I reserved for a non-smoking room but the whole floor I was on smelled like cigarettes including the room I stayed in. The door didn't shut properly. Also the remote control didn't work and when i went down to the lobby to ask for batteries they didn't have any. The lady gave me another remote, but it didn't even work. The room was very outdated all the way from the flooring to the curtains and the bedspread.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NY, NY
Dec 16, 2010

Nice Hotel and Staff

I needed a reasonable hotel at good rate and this was perfect. The location is accessible to many points in State College. All in all everything was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Minutes from downtown and actually to get across to N. Atherton it was less than ten minutes to drive.

Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NY, NY
Dec 16, 2010

Nice Hotel and Staff

I needed a reasonable hotel at good rate and this was perfect. The location is accessible to many points in State College. All in all everything was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Minutes from downtown and actually to get across to N. Atherton it was less than ten minutes to drive.

Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Unhappy in Happy Valley
Johnstown, PA
Nov 15, 2010

not up to standard

The room needed some work. The shower curtain was ready to fall down. The shower drain was very slow.I was showering in standing water. One of the lamps was not working.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Unhappy in Happy Valley
Johnstown, PA
Nov 15, 2010

not up to standard

The room needed some work. The shower curtain was ready to fall down. The shower drain was very slow.I was showering in standing water. One of the lamps was not working.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top