$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 4, 2015 Check-out: Jun 5, 2015

Super 8 State College

2 stars
View map of 1663 S Atherton St, State College, PA 16801

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 State College

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
114 out of 114
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JTCat
Business
Columbia, SC
Aug 15, 2012

A reasonable motel

It has two sessions, old and new. We stayed in the old session, the room is clean but the hallway looks a bit aged. They offered free latte/expresso etc in the lobby which I liked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sightsee-er
Business
NY
Jul 7, 2012

Stop along the way

The hotel was average, needs some updating. There was a problem with our reservation at check in by the staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Complimentary breakfast

Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chzcake01
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 21, 2012

Good Hotel

Stayed here on a visit to Penn State. The hotel was within a 10 minute drive to the campus. Employees were friendly and the room was clean. The hotel was quiet and there were many restaurants along the same street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PSU Liz
Business
Lynnfield Ma
May 15, 2012

Trip I had to Take

Decent hotel stay, it was what I expected for the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Home Delivery Pizza

Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sammy
Business
iowa
May 13, 2012

Better than the higher stars in the area

The staff was fun and pleasant, not to mention helpful. There are several restaurants at walkable distance. Though they do have a complimentary breakfast downstairs. It is a continental, but nice if your in a rush anyway. The room was spotless, the bed was soft. The most I would wish for would be a mini fridge or microwave, neither available, but I still prefer this place to a lot of the more expensive ones with nastier people working there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Myers Dairy Ice Cream is just up the road. Awesome shakes.

Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PSU Liz
Business
Lynnfield Ma
May 11, 2012

Trip I had to make

Okay...pretty much what I expected. Hotel could def use updating and a good cleaning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Home Delivery Pizza Pub

Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rick6
Business
State College, PA, USA
Apr 19, 2012

Basic

Only stayed for 2 nights. While the room was nice, and the beds satisfactorily comfortable, breakfast was disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Houseplants
Business
Syracuse, NY, USA
Mar 20, 2012

You get what you pay for

The staff was very nice. The room was "non smoking" but you could still smell the smoke from the room next door. The tub had mold in in and the bed was lumpy. Didn't feel comfortable in the room. The elevator smelled of smoke and the stairway smelled worse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to Penn State

Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carrolyn
Business
Rhode Island
Feb 12, 2012

It was to attend a funeral.

Our stay was just what we needed and the desk personnel were very helpful in aiding us to find our way around. The complimentary cookies were a real plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Penn state visitor
Business
NY
Jan 31, 2012

Good value for a short stay

Hotel was clean and comfortable. It was the cheapest around State College so we didn't expect much and was fine for a 2 night stay. The hot chocolate / mocha machine in the lobby was a nice touch coming in on a cold winter night. The lobby and breakfast area are pretty nice and spacious while the rooms are more dated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top