$51 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

Super 8 State College

2 stars
1663 S Atherton St, State College, PA 16801
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
110 reviews
Good Stay at Super 8 convient to Penn State

Great Experience, everyone very pleaseant and helpful. See full review

  • Scarp
  • Aug 25, 2014
Convenient place to stay for Penn State events

Staff was very helpful with personal info on historic downtown, restaurants and directions. Quiet... See full review

  • Brown eyed Gran
  • Dec 8, 2014
Super 8 in State College PA is a great location to meet with friends, family or colleagues for business or pleasure. You can enjoy a concert at Bryce Jordan Center, a football game at Beaver Stadium or a Parents weekend at Penn State University. We are a central location between Philadelphia and Pittsburgh or Washington DC and Erie, PA contact us to host your family reunion, meeting or a college reunion. We feature 141 nicely appointed guest rooms with a choice of King, Queen and Double Beds, also available are suites and efficiency room types. In each room you will find Free High Speed Internet Access, Nintendo Play Station, Over 50 cable channels to choose from. All our guests enjoy Free Daily Newspaper, Free Super Start Plus Breakfast Daily, and Fitness Center. To accommodate your meeting or banquet needs we offer space to accommodate up to 125 guests in our Laurel Room, or 15 guests in our break-out rooms. A wide variety of audio-visual equipment and full catering service are available.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Super 8 State College also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Security
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Cribs available

Nearby points of interest

  • Bryce Jordan Center: 1.9 mi
  • Beaver Stadium: 2.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (110)

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 State College

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
110 out of 110
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sammy
Business
iowa
May 13, 2012

Better than the higher stars in the area

The staff was fun and pleasant, not to mention helpful. There are several restaurants at walkable distance. Though they do have a complimentary breakfast downstairs. It is a continental, but nice if your in a rush anyway. The room was spotless, the bed was soft. The most I would wish for would be a mini fridge or microwave, neither available, but I still prefer this place to a lot of the more expensive ones with nastier people working there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Myers Dairy Ice Cream is just up the road. Awesome shakes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PSU Liz
Business
Lynnfield Ma
May 11, 2012

Trip I had to make

Okay...pretty much what I expected. Hotel could def use updating and a good cleaning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Home Delivery Pizza Pub

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rick6
Business
State College, PA, USA
Apr 19, 2012

Basic

Only stayed for 2 nights. While the room was nice, and the beds satisfactorily comfortable, breakfast was disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Houseplants
Business
Syracuse, NY, USA
Mar 20, 2012

You get what you pay for

The staff was very nice. The room was "non smoking" but you could still smell the smoke from the room next door. The tub had mold in in and the bed was lumpy. Didn't feel comfortable in the room. The elevator smelled of smoke and the stairway smelled worse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to Penn State

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carrolyn
Business
Rhode Island
Feb 12, 2012

It was to attend a funeral.

Our stay was just what we needed and the desk personnel were very helpful in aiding us to find our way around. The complimentary cookies were a real plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Penn state visitor
Business
NY
Jan 31, 2012

Good value for a short stay

Hotel was clean and comfortable. It was the cheapest around State College so we didn't expect much and was fine for a 2 night stay. The hot chocolate / mocha machine in the lobby was a nice touch coming in on a cold winter night. The lobby and breakfast area are pretty nice and spacious while the rooms are more dated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DannyT
Business
Ashland, PA, USA
Jan 29, 2012

Very nice hotel for the price

Had a great experience at this hotel. The staff was very friendly, the room was clean, the price was great and even better, the hotel is only 4 minutes from Beaver Stadium/Bryce Jordaon Center. It was very easy to get back and forth between the hotel and both sports locations as well as the rest of the Penn State campus. I will be sure to stay at this hotel the next time I visit State College.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PATRITCH
Business
Paragould, AR
Nov 26, 2011

Hotel

Room was spacious and staff was very helpful and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KrisLynn
Business
York, PA
Nov 14, 2011

Romantic Getaway

It was pretty good overall. There were are few small issues. We tried to order a movie - it ended up a whole big fiasco - the movie wouldnt work - nobody could figure out why - and then they wanted to move us (at mindnight) just to try to order a movie in a different room. The shower curtin in our room was gross - there was old dried u shaving cream from other people and it was moldy. The room could have used an overall good dusting. When i am paying to stay somwhere - I do expect my room to be spotless. However, other than that everything was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rosebuddy
Business
Pittsburgh PA
Oct 25, 2011

Super 8

I stayed one night while attending a conference. The most attractive thing about the hotel is the cookies available at the fron t desk and the fresh fruit and the coffee machine in the elevator lobby. It's nice that they offer tea in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Perkins is adjacent to the parking lot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top