$52 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 19, 2014 Check-out: Oct 20, 2014

Super 8 State College

2 stars
1663 S Atherton St, State College, PA 16801
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
105 reviews
Good Stay at Super 8 convient to Penn State

Great Experience, everyone very pleaseant and helpful. See full review

  • Scarp
  • Aug 25, 2014
Good stay

It is very convenient to visit Penn State University. See full review

  • Conscientious
  • Jul 4, 2014
Super 8 in State College PA is a great location to meet with friends, family or colleagues for business or pleasure. You can enjoy a concert at Bryce Jordan Center, a football game at Beaver Stadium or a Parents weekend at Penn State University. We are a central location between Philadelphia and Pittsburgh or Washington DC and Erie, PA contact us to host your family reunion, meeting or a college reunion. We feature 141 nicely appointed guest rooms with a choice of King, Queen and Double Beds, also available are suites and efficiency room types. In each room you will find Free High Speed Internet Access, Nintendo Play Station, Over 50 cable channels to choose from. All our guests enjoy Free Daily Newspaper, Free Super Start Plus Breakfast Daily, and Fitness Center. To accommodate your meeting or banquet needs we offer space to accommodate up to 125 guests in our Laurel Room, or 15 guests in our break-out rooms. A wide variety of audio-visual equipment and full catering service are available.

Hotel Map

40.7853 -77.835
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Super 8 State College also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Security
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Cribs available

Nearby points of interest

  • Bryce Jordan Center: 1.9 mi
  • Beaver Stadium: 2.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (105)

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 State College

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
105 out of 105
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Penn state visitor
NY
Jan 31, 2012

Good value for a short stay

Hotel was clean and comfortable. It was the cheapest around State College so we didn't expect much and was fine for a 2 night stay. The hot chocolate / mocha machine in the lobby was a nice touch coming in on a cold winter night. The lobby and breakfast area are pretty nice and spacious while the rooms are more dated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DannyT
Ashland, PA, USA
Jan 29, 2012

Very nice hotel for the price

Had a great experience at this hotel. The staff was very friendly, the room was clean, the price was great and even better, the hotel is only 4 minutes from Beaver Stadium/Bryce Jordaon Center. It was very easy to get back and forth between the hotel and both sports locations as well as the rest of the Penn State campus. I will be sure to stay at this hotel the next time I visit State College.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PATRITCH
Paragould, AR
Nov 26, 2011

Hotel

Room was spacious and staff was very helpful and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KrisLynn
York, PA
Nov 14, 2011

Romantic Getaway

It was pretty good overall. There were are few small issues. We tried to order a movie - it ended up a whole big fiasco - the movie wouldnt work - nobody could figure out why - and then they wanted to move us (at mindnight) just to try to order a movie in a different room. The shower curtin in our room was gross - there was old dried u shaving cream from other people and it was moldy. The room could have used an overall good dusting. When i am paying to stay somwhere - I do expect my room to be spotless. However, other than that everything was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rosebuddy
Business
Pittsburgh PA
Oct 25, 2011

Super 8

I stayed one night while attending a conference. The most attractive thing about the hotel is the cookies available at the fron t desk and the fresh fruit and the coffee machine in the elevator lobby. It's nice that they offer tea in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Perkins is adjacent to the parking lot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cleveland Traveler
Business
Cleveland, OH, USA
Oct 18, 2011

Great Staff, poor decor/amenities

This hotel badly needs redecorating and basic things like carpet replacement and heating unit replacement. The shower surround was awful--peeling away from the walls from condensation. The staff was wonderful -- very helpful and friendly. Too bad they don't have a better place to "sell." Got a great rate via Orbitz--guess you get what you pay for. Location is not near the downtown State College area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mjfn
Downingtown, PA 19335, USA
Oct 17, 2011

Average hotel in a good location

The staff was helpful. The location is good for a football weekend. It's a straight shot up University drive to the stadium. It's an average hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Peanuts
Tucson, Az.
Oct 16, 2011

We were there to visit family that lives in State College.

All went well at hotel. Convenient to restaurants and where relatives live. Enjoyed seeing Penn State College.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nearby restaurants and drug stores.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SueG
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Great Trip

Quiet, staff are pleasant, price is good, location is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Perkins out front.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 State College

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Socialite San
Business
Michigan
Sep 6, 2011

Great place to stay!

I have stayed here twice so far, and will again when it's on my route. The facilities are well kept, the location is convenient. There are a variety of restaurants within walking distance. This could be the best Super 8 location I've ever visited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search