$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 31, 2014 Check-out: Jan 1, 2015

Hampton Inn State College

3 stars
1101 East College Ave., State College, PA 16801
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
51 reviews
Excellent hotel

Very Clean rooms, Good amenities, Nice breakfast, Perfect location See full review

  • Vinod S
  • Sep 1, 2014
Great overnight stop

We stopped here overnight on a trip and had a great experience. Our room was spacious (a plus when... See full review

  • PA Road Tripper
  • Jul 14, 2014
go back to college...welcome to the Hampton Inn State College.Welcome to Happy Valley. Yes, there really is such a place, and our Hampton Inn® hotel in State College is right in the middle of it. You'll discover why State College put the mirth in Happy Valley when you visit us at the Hampton Inn hotel in State College. Just a mile from the campus of Penn State, our hotel is in walking distance from the Bryce Jordan Center and Beaver Stadium.And when you're ready for some shopping and dining, downtown is easily accessible. While you're staying with us at the Hampton Inn hotel in State College, don't miss the beauty of nearby Penn's Cave and Tussey Mountain Ski area. They're both just a short drive. So go back to college - come check into the Hampton Inn hotel in State College.services & amenitiesHere at the Hampton Inn State College, we're passionate about taking good care of you. That's why we offer a broad range of services and amenities to make your stay exceptional.Whether you're planning a corporate meeting or need accommodations for a family reunion or your child's sporting group, we're delighted to offer you easy planning and booking tools to make the process quick and organized. * Meetings & Events * Local restaurant guide

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hampton Inn State College also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Bryce Jordan Center: 0.8 mi
  • Beaver Stadium: 0.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (51)

Ratings and reviews for Hampton Inn State College

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 51
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampton Inn State College

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Momma June
Business
Bridgeport, WV
Dec 21, 2009

Nephew's graduation

Fine hotel, good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn State College

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PSUfan2011
Business
Boone, NC
Nov 4, 2009

Quiet Stay

It wasn't as good as other Hampton Inn's that I've been to, but it was still a very good experience overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn State College

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sunderland, MA
Oct 30, 2009

Hampton Inn - Excellent as Usual

Check-in was quick and easy. Close to Penn State. The room was sparkling and spotless. Comfy bed, free wi-fi and free breakfast made our short stay great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn State College

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ays5004
Business
West Palm Beach, FL
Oct 19, 2009

Penn State - Minnesota Game

The hotel was closed due to a power outage. They were very helpful in finding us another room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn State College

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CCN
Business
Lynnwood, WA
Oct 5, 2009

Quiet place to unwind

I stayed here for four nights during a business trip to Penn State. It was just about perfect for what I needed for this trip, though the breakfast selections quickly got old. The staff was helpful, the rooms were clean, and the beds were comfortable. The wireless internet worked reasonably well. It's a good location for Penn State, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn State College

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PSUSuperFan
Business
Bucks County, Pennsylvania
Sep 20, 2009

Hampton Inn State College PSU Football

We stayed here the night before a Penn State football game. The location was excellent! It was about a mile walk from the hotel to Beaver Stadium. We were allowed to leave our car in the hotel parking lot during the game which was a BIG plus. After the game, we walked around the stores on College Avenue and had dinner. We then picked up our car and headed home. The hotel offers a decent breakfast in the morning. It was extremely easy to check in and out of the hotel. Our only complant would be that our room was located near a stairwell so there was a lot of noise during the night/early morning. But I am sure if you have a different room location, that won't be an issue. Overall, an excellent place to stay for a Penn State football game. We will definetly stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn State College

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Edwardsville PA
Aug 17, 2009

Hotel Review

Everything was fine

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn State College

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LCC
Business
Erie PA
Aug 2, 2009

Never been so disappointed

This was the worst hotel stay I've had. In fact I checkout 15 minutes after we checked in. Thanks to a screw up for Orbitz, our requested standard double turned into a single. The hotel was unwilling to adjust the room because we had booked with Orbitz. So, before we saw the room, we were told we could have a roll away at no additional cost. The room was a not only a small single with no room for a cot, but it was also a handicapped room, which meant a handicapped accessable bathroom -- rails on the toilet and a 'wheelchair accessable shower'. (Also we had three housekeeping charts outside the room which was just off the lobby.) There was no way we were going to keep that room. In fact, we should have been given the option on whether or not we wanted a handicapped room. It was as if because we had book through Orbitz, which the front desk staff said was the worse booking agent, we were treated like second class guests. I will not book with Orbitz again or stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn State College

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
York, PA
Jun 12, 2009

Good experience

I would stay here again. Great location just off the road into State College. Comfortable room and friendly staff, as you would expect from Hampton Inn. In my case, the lobby computer was disconnected from the Internet when I tried to use it, and the hot breakfast choices could use some variety, something healthier. Otherwise, a reliable hotel for business travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn State College

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Smethport PA
Jun 12, 2009

Hampton Inn State College

Unfornately I had to cancel my reservation. I was involved in an accident on the way there and was not able to continue with my trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top