$84 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2014 Check-out: Apr 28, 2014

Hampton Inn State College

3 stars
1101 East College Ave., State College, PA 16801
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
46 reviews
Perfect Concert Stay

Saw Bassnectar and had a wonderful time at the Bryce Jordan Center. The room was only half a mile... See full review

  • OrrangeMaN
  • Oct 15, 2013
Family visit.

The hotel was great. Very friendly staff. My room did not get attended to every day, but that was... See full review

  • Nance j d
  • Jan 7, 2014
go back to college...welcome to the Hampton Inn State College.Welcome to Happy Valley. Yes, there really is such a place, and our Hampton Inn® hotel in State College is right in the middle of it. You'll discover why State College put the mirth in Happy Valley when you visit us at the Hampton Inn hotel in State College. Just a mile from the campus of Penn State, our hotel is in walking distance from the Bryce Jordan Center and Beaver Stadium.And when you're ready for some shopping and dining, downtown is easily accessible. While you're staying with us at the Hampton Inn hotel in State College, don't miss the beauty of nearby Penn's Cave and Tussey Mountain Ski area. They're both just a short drive. So go back to college - come check into the Hampton Inn hotel in State College.services & amenitiesHere at the Hampton Inn State College, we're passionate about taking good care of you. That's why we offer a broad range of services and amenities to make your stay exceptional.Whether you're planning a corporate meeting or need accommodations for a family reunion or your child's sporting group, we're delighted to offer you easy planning and booking tools to make the process quick and organized. * Meetings & Events * Local restaurant guide

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hampton Inn State College also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.8065 -77.8398
Nearby airports
State College, (SCE), 4.00, MI, S;

Nearby points of interest

  • Bryce Jordan Center: 0.8 mi
  • Beaver Stadium: 0.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (46)

Ratings and reviews for Hampton Inn State College

Overall score

4 / 5
46 out of 46
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampton Inn State College

Reviewer score

4
Nance j d
Lanesboro MA
Jan 7, 2014

Family visit.

The hotel was great. Very friendly staff. My room did not get attended to every day, but that was partially my fault. I put the do not disturb sign and they did not get back to it, even after I had left for the day. Breakfast good, but scrambled eggs need work-setting too long, the bottom had hardened a bit. Otherwise, experience was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hampton Inn State College

Reviewer score

5
OrrangeMaN
Virginia Beach,VA
Oct 15, 2013

Perfect Concert Stay

Saw Bassnectar and had a wonderful time at the Bryce Jordan Center. The room was only half a mile from the venue, had a great time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Hampton Inn State College

Reviewer score

3
Maoman
Nashville
Aug 26, 2013

Avoid Exit Door

assigned to a room on the first floor not far from an exit door. could hear to door close which made sleeping very difficult from around 6 AM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hampton Inn State College

Reviewer score

1
Mike from Cali
Atascadero, CA
Aug 26, 2013

Would not recommend for non smokers!

Made reservation for non smoking room and was put in a room that smelled as if someone had smoked in there for weeks. Hotel staff said it was a non smoking room. Hotel was full so we had to spend one night in that room. They had told us they used an ionizer in the room that afternoon so obviously they knew there was a smoking issue with the room. The next day, the manager and head housekeeper said it was a non smoking room and they had no knowledge of an ionizer being used in that room. We were moved to another room on a different floor, and although better, this room smelled like smoke also. The curtains reeked of smoke. We were highly dissatisfied with the entire 4 night stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Hampton Inn State College

Reviewer score

4
Michelle Leon
Swarthmore, PA
Jul 8, 2013

Great for a visit to Penn State

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good, the pool was nice and the room was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hampton Inn State College

Reviewer score

3
SDKD Newtown
newtown, pa
Mar 26, 2013

Needs some work

Overall, not a bad experience. But the building could use a makeover generally. Had an issue with the shower in our room. First, instead of a traditional shower head, there was a hand held one that barely put out any water. It was mounted on a sliding track and there was no way to secure it from sliding to the bottom of the track or keep it from coming off the top of the track. Tried to jury rig it to get it to say but no luck. Very frustrating. The building and rooms are pretty beat up and need an updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Hampton Inn State College

Reviewer score

5
RJASr
Frederick, MD
May 14, 2012

As expected

Everything was as expected. Hot breakfast was a real treat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hampton Inn State College

Reviewer score

1
Bethy15401
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Sep 27, 2011

Not a typical Hampton Inn

I booked a non-smoking room, but when i went to check in they said they did not have any available. The room was tiny! There was water damage on the roof,the toilet was dirty,when i called front desk the girl was very rude and appeared to be eating something. I was in a hurry to book for the game and wish i would have researched the hotels better,because i would not have stayed there esp. for what they charged!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Corner Room has the best sandwiches!

Review of Hampton Inn State College

Reviewer score

4
Kongo
Fort Wayne, Indian
Sep 6, 2011

Hampton In on College Av

Best location for a PSU football game in State College!!! The only downer....our room had one double bed. Most couples are used to sleeping on Kings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hampton Inn State College

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Business
Alexandria, VA
Jul 6, 2011

Hampton Inn State College

N/A

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top