$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott State College

3 stars
View map of 1730 University Drive, 1730 University drive, State College, PA 16801

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
10 reviews
Great weekend in Happy Valley

Great hotel for a weekend stay in Happy Valley. Great breakfast, clean pool, and very nice staff.... See full review

  • Penn State super fan
  • Sep 8, 2014
Courtyard Marriott, State College, PA

This hotel was very clean, quiet and in a great location with a couple of restraunts nearby (Ruby... See full review

  • ashamburg[@]
  • Jun 10, 2009
Among State College hotels, Courtyard by Marriott State College is the freshest stay for all travelers. Featuring modernized rooms, the Courtyard lobby and Bistro offers spaces to connect, unwind, and eat. Start your morning right at this State College hotel with breakfast and Starbucks, then stop back again at the end of the day for dinner and a cocktail. Stay connected in our lobby or Business Center featuring free Wi-Fi. Unwind in our indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center. Perfectly situated in Happy Valley, this State College hotel near Penn State University, Bryce Jordan Center and Beaver Stadium is close to many area businesses and attractions. Relax in our spacious guest rooms, featuring refreshed decor, FREE High Speed Internet and Wi-Fi, a large well-lit work area and 32" LCD flat screen TV. Sleep comfortably Marriott's newest custom bedding with thick mattresses and fluffy pillows. When choosing State College hotels, come and be reintroduced to Courtyard's unique experience.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott State College also booked these hotels.

★★★
$92
4.2 / 5 18 reviews
★★★
$82
4.1 / 5 39 reviews
★★★
$99
4.1 / 5 51 reviews
★★★
$84
4.2 / 5 20 reviews
★★
$55
3.2 / 5 109 reviews
★★
$93
4.1 / 5 19 reviews

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Water skiing
Picnic area/tables
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Bryce Jordan Center: 1.9 mi
  • Beaver Stadium: 2.1 mi

Dining

The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.®
Your food and beverage destination for refreshing breakfast choices in the morning, and a variety of dinner, beer and wine options in the evening. The Bistro also offers specialty beverages made with Starbucks® coffee to help you get a jump on the day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott State College

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 10
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.3

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott State College

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Timeforchiropractor
Couples
Stroudsburg, PA
Jan 19, 2010

Not what I expected

Check in was fine, I used a debit card for incidentals, and they hold $40.00 to "make sure the card works," when most others charge $1.00. I know they hold the $40.00 for incidental charges, but why not just tell me that, not lie and tell me they do it "to make sure the card works." The bed is uncomfortable, my back still hurts 4 days later. The room has no microwave and no refrigerator in it. Also, the coffee maker is on the bathroom sink..why? And even if I did make coffee, there is no milk or sugar in the room, and even if there was milk, theres no refrigerator to keep it in. The water bottle on the desk in the room with a sign on it that says Ill be charged $3.00 if I drink it is tacky. I checked out early Sunday morning because I couldnt sleep, and I had to wake up the front desk employee..isnt he supposed to be watching the door? I will not be returning to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Courtyard by Marriott State College

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dan kraynek
Business
Chambersburg, pa
May 15, 2014

business trip

The staff was very friendly but I felt it was over priced. Very clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott State College

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ping0891
Business
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Oct 21, 2011

Decent Business Stay

I had a fine time. Zippy was very helpful and a delight to deal with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott State College

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Don Traveler
Business
Washington DC
Aug 8, 2012

Good value

I went up for work and it was great. Great location and very pleasant. I would recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott State College

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Glenn n Jill
Couples
Lebanon, PA
Feb 27, 2013

Nice place

The room with the jacuzzi is the right call when booking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sakira, a little Japanese place, had great sushi and was beautiful inside, and just across the street.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott State College

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Pittsburgh, pa
Jan 1, 2011

Worth what you pay

Went down for New Years and the staff was busy but still very helpful. The price was very reasonable and the room was exactly what we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

We took a cab down to the saloon for the New Years celebration and had a great time. The cab was under ten dollars so it kept the cost down being so close.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott State College

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
New Jersey
Apr 5, 2010

Quiet and close enough to Penn State

The hotel is a 5 minute drive from the Penn State campus, but was easy to get to. Rooms were spotless, and very quiet. Beds were extremely comfortable. Large screen TV was nice. Nothing to complain about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Courtyard by Marriott State College

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Delaware County, PA
Mar 20, 2011

More than comfortable

the hotel was conveniently located. the staff was courteous and friendly. the room was clean, comfortable and had all the amenities that you would need (mini fridge, coffee maker, ironing board) the hotel had free coffee in the lobby (24 hrs), they had a great dinette for breakfast, hot snacks, wine and beer, a small store, an indoor pool, hot tub and exercise room. This is a great place! Much more than expected

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

purchase your own water, soda, snacks. There is bottled water avail in your room, but its $2.50/bottle

Review of Courtyard by Marriott State College

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ashamburg[@]
Business
Johnstown, CO
Jun 10, 2009

Courtyard Marriott, State College, PA

This hotel was very clean, quiet and in a great location with a couple of restraunts nearby (Ruby Tuesday's, Perkins and a steak house which i cannot remember the name of)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott State College

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Penn State super fan
Family
Stroudsburg, PA
Sep 8, 2014

Great weekend in Happy Valley

Great hotel for a weekend stay in Happy Valley. Great breakfast, clean pool, and very nice staff. I'd definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top