$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 20, 2014 Check-out: Nov 21, 2014

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

3 stars
1357 East College Avenue, State College, PA 16801
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
30 reviews
very pleased

After My GPS had "dropped" me in downtown and informed me I had arrived the staff talked us back to... See full review

  • occasionally trav
  • Sep 11, 2014
Great place for low fee!

I used this hotel for my wife and I to stay for a volleyball tournament at PSU. The place was... See full review

  • Volleyball Parent
  • Feb 11, 2014
Hotel is located near Penn State University and near downtown State College off of US322 and College Avenue. Complimentary hot breakfast is available each morning for our guests as well as complimentary High Speed Internet. All Guest Rooms have microwaves and refrigerators. Guests can unwind and relax in our indoor pool or whirlpool as well as stay fit in our on-site fitness center. Our hotel has guest rooms with 1 King Bed or 2 Queen Beds as well as Studio Suites and 1 Bedroom Suites. For your continued safety the hotel has sprinklers and smoke detectors in all areas.

Hotel Map

40.8095 -77.8351
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
UNIVERSITY PARK ARPT, (SCE), 5.00, MI, SW; HARRISBURG INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT, (MDT), 100.00, MI, SE;
Area description
City Center, This hotel is located near the city.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Live entertainment
Night club
Golf
Driving range
Dining
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
Airline desk
Shops/Commercial services
Shopping mall
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Copy service
Currency exchange
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Brailled elevators
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Bryce Jordan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Beaver Stadium: 1.1 mi

Dining

The Tavern Restaurant
Downtown State College
Olde New York
2298 E. College Ave, which is 1 mile from hotel
Garfield's
At Nittany Mall, which is 2 miles from Hotel on Route 26
Rey Azteca
Mexican restaurant, which is 2 miles from hotel
The Diner
Famous for Grilled Sticky Rolls, Downtown State College, which is 1 mile from hotel
The Corner Room
Downtown State College
Breakfast Room
Located off the lobby

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (30)

Ratings and reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
occasionally trav
Business
zachary, Louisiana
Sep 11, 2014

very pleased

After My GPS had "dropped" me in downtown and informed me I had arrived the staff talked us back to the hotel. The room was super and far exceeded my expectations. For the price it cannot be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JimFootball
Business
New York, NY
Jun 19, 2014

College visit

Dropped my child off at college and needed a place to stay for the night. Everything was great about this hotel, especially the breakfast. Great location and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hazbro
Business
Pennsylvania
Apr 7, 2014

Very Nice Hotel

No worries when booking this hotel. Good luck getting an available room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Caroline M.
Business
Boston, Massachusetts
Mar 30, 2014

On the road, passing through PA

I booked this hotel while on the road based upon good reviews (and also, I read that it was built within the past 5 years, which sounded good to me. Don't quote me on the exact year it was built though). Here are a few reasons to stay here: 1. Staff - Friendly. The man at the front desk recommended a great restaurant just up the street. 2. Location - Being that we were travelers, the location was ideal for us. The hotel is right off the highway, with a gas station and Dunkin right across the street. Perfect combination to fuel up your car and your coffee addiction. 10 minutes from Penn State, which was fun to drive through. Also, very close to Happy Valley Brewing restaurant (so if you're tired, and looking for a good bite or drink, go here!). 3. Room - The room was standard, but all around nice and spacious. No complaints. 4. Amenities - There is complimentary coffee/tea, apples, bananas, and homemade cookies (I know they are homemade because I saw a staff member taking cookies out of the oven in the morning). There is a pool and fitness area, although we were not there long enough to enjoy either of these. 5. Complimentary breakfast - this was the selling point for us. We didn't have time to find a sit-down breakfast, but we wanted something good for the road. This was great! Hot/cold cereal, toppings for oatmeal, toast/pastries/muffins, small hot buffet with eggs, bacon and sausage, apples/bananas, fresh fruit salad, etc. There was also a waffle making station. Seriously good waffles (and I'm pretty picky). Considering this is complimentary within the cost of the room, I was highly impressed. If I were traveling through PA again, I would certainly stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Volleyball Parent
Business
York, PA
Feb 11, 2014

Great place for low fee!

I used this hotel for my wife and I to stay for a volleyball tournament at PSU. The place was quiet, comfy, and close to the campus. Nice hot breakfast and friendly staff made it a great stay. I will look for this chain when I travel now.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Nittany mall is only a short drive from this hotel on 26.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mthj
Business
Philadelphia
Jun 20, 2013

A nice hotel

Nothing fancy - but a clean nice hotel! I would be happy to stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
perryman
Business
Scranton, PA
Jun 14, 2013

Pleasant Stay

We stayed one night- the room was nice- pool and hot tub were great and the staff was awesome- so accomodating and helpful!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NNNN1
Business
22101
May 13, 2013

*****

Great for parents and PSU student going to summer seesion

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Water1
Business
Ocean Springs, Ms
May 13, 2013

Southern Hospitality up north!!

A very good experience beginning with a welcoming front desk staff on to a very clean and comfortable room. The bed was probably the MOST comfortable bed I have ever slept on in a hotel. The breakfast had a large variety of items and was very tasty. I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a quality inn located in State College.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
S. Hankins
Business
Georgia
May 6, 2013

Great Family Getaway

Each and every stay at the Comfort Inn & Suites prove to be a pleasant and enjoyable experience. The staff is friendly as well as professional. The rooms are nicely furnished and very clean. An option to purchase noon and evening meals would complete the package.. 5 stars to the staff at the Country Inn & Suites in State College Pa. S. Hankins

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top