$77 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

3 stars
1357 East College Avenue, State College, PA 16801
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
29 reviews
Great place for low fee!

I used this hotel for my wife and I to stay for a volleyball tournament at PSU. The place was... See full review

  • Volleyball Parent
  • Feb 11, 2014
*****

Great for parents and PSU student going to summer seesion See full review

  • NNNN1
  • May 13, 2013
Hotel is located near Penn State University and near downtown State College off of US322 and College Avenue. Complimentary hot breakfast is available each morning for our guests as well as complimentary High Speed Internet. All Guest Rooms have microwaves and refrigerators. Guests can unwind and relax in our indoor pool or whirlpool as well as stay fit in our on-site fitness center. Our hotel has guest rooms with 1 King Bed or 2 Queen Beds as well as Studio Suites and 1 Bedroom Suites. For your continued safety the hotel has sprinklers and smoke detectors in all areas.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Live entertainment
Night club
Golf
Driving range
Dining
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
Airline desk
Shops/Commercial services
Shopping mall
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Copy service
Currency exchange
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Brailled elevators
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Hotel Map

40.8095 -77.8351
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
UNIVERSITY PARK ARPT, (SCE), 5.00, MI, SW; HARRISBURG INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT, (MDT), 100.00, MI, SE;
Area description
City Center, This hotel is located near the city.

Nearby points of interest

  • Bryce Jordan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Beaver Stadium: 1.1 mi

Dining

The Tavern Restaurant
Downtown State College
Olde New York
2298 E. College Ave, which is 1 mile from hotel
Garfield's
At Nittany Mall, which is 2 miles from Hotel on Route 26
Rey Azteca
Mexican restaurant, which is 2 miles from hotel
The Diner
Famous for Grilled Sticky Rolls, Downtown State College, which is 1 mile from hotel
The Corner Room
Downtown State College
Breakfast Room
Located off the lobby

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (29)

Ratings and reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 29
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Debhappy2b
Beaver, PA
May 3, 2013

Close to Penn State

The hotel was clean, friendly staff, and very close to Penn State. Perfect for my needs. Home made cookies were a nice touch. I did not eat the free breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hazbro
Pennsylvania
Apr 7, 2014

Very Nice Hotel

No worries when booking this hotel. Good luck getting an available room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Caroline M.
Boston, Massachusetts
Mar 30, 2014

On the road, passing through PA

I booked this hotel while on the road based upon good reviews (and also, I read that it was built within the past 5 years, which sounded good to me. Don't quote me on the exact year it was built though). Here are a few reasons to stay here: 1. Staff - Friendly. The man at the front desk recommended a great restaurant just up the street. 2. Location - Being that we were travelers, the location was ideal for us. The hotel is right off the highway, with a gas station and Dunkin right across the street. Perfect combination to fuel up your car and your coffee addiction. 10 minutes from Penn State, which was fun to drive through. Also, very close to Happy Valley Brewing restaurant (so if you're tired, and looking for a good bite or drink, go here!). 3. Room - The room was standard, but all around nice and spacious. No complaints. 4. Amenities - There is complimentary coffee/tea, apples, bananas, and homemade cookies (I know they are homemade because I saw a staff member taking cookies out of the oven in the morning). There is a pool and fitness area, although we were not there long enough to enjoy either of these. 5. Complimentary breakfast - this was the selling point for us. We didn't have time to find a sit-down breakfast, but we wanted something good for the road. This was great! Hot/cold cereal, toppings for oatmeal, toast/pastries/muffins, small hot buffet with eggs, bacon and sausage, apples/bananas, fresh fruit salad, etc. There was also a waffle making station. Seriously good waffles (and I'm pretty picky). Considering this is complimentary within the cost of the room, I was highly impressed. If I were traveling through PA again, I would certainly stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weary parents
State College PA
Mar 25, 2013

college visit

Location and convenience of hotel was excellent! Complimentary breakfast was perfect way to start the day. Hotel staff was very helpful with directions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Avoid Damon's Grill! Steak ordered for dinner tasted and looked like it was boiled instead of grilled and most of the meal arrived lukewarm. This was well before the dinner rush on a Friday night!

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Piesmom
New York
May 2, 2013

What a surprise for the price!

Came for PSU move out! Stressful enough, but this new hotel is clean, comfortable and quiet!!! Great breakfast! Coffee and cookies in lobby all the time!! Pleasant stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

PSU parents! This is a great deal AND great location!

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
perryman
Scranton, PA
Jun 14, 2013

Pleasant Stay

We stayed one night- the room was nice- pool and hot tub were great and the staff was awesome- so accomodating and helpful!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
010101
Malvern, PA
Mar 26, 2013

Pleasant

Hotel was clean, convenient and affordable. We enjoyed the free coffee, cookies and breakfast. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JimFootball
New York, NY
Jun 19, 2014

College visit

Dropped my child off at college and needed a place to stay for the night. Everything was great about this hotel, especially the breakfast. Great location and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
garywerk
Los Angeles
Oct 30, 2012

Great new Hotel convenient to Penn State

Had an excellent stay on a football weekend. Premium price for football weekend, but that's to be expected. Hotel is new, comfortable beds and pillows, flat screen TV, refrigerator in room, nice pool, free breakfast. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveler73
Business
Pittsburgh
Jun 23, 2012

clean and professional

Excellent, friendly service. Beutiful indoor pool area. Wireless network was down, and that was an inconvenience. Otherwise, a nice place I will use again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top