$76 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 21, 2014 Check-out: Nov 24, 2014

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

3 stars
1357 East College Avenue, State College, PA 16801
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
30 reviews
very pleased

After My GPS had "dropped" me in downtown and informed me I had arrived the staff talked us back to... See full review

  • occasionally trav
  • Sep 11, 2014
Great place for low fee!

I used this hotel for my wife and I to stay for a volleyball tournament at PSU. The place was... See full review

  • Volleyball Parent
  • Feb 11, 2014
Hotel is located near Penn State University and near downtown State College off of US322 and College Avenue. Complimentary hot breakfast is available each morning for our guests as well as complimentary High Speed Internet. All Guest Rooms have microwaves and refrigerators. Guests can unwind and relax in our indoor pool or whirlpool as well as stay fit in our on-site fitness center. Our hotel has guest rooms with 1 King Bed or 2 Queen Beds as well as Studio Suites and 1 Bedroom Suites. For your continued safety the hotel has sprinklers and smoke detectors in all areas.

Hotel Map

40.8095 -77.8351
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
UNIVERSITY PARK ARPT, (SCE), 5.00, MI, SW; HARRISBURG INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT, (MDT), 100.00, MI, SE;
Area description
City Center, This hotel is located near the city.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Live entertainment
Night club
Golf
Driving range
Dining
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
Airline desk
Shops/Commercial services
Shopping mall
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Copy service
Currency exchange
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Brailled elevators
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Bryce Jordan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Beaver Stadium: 1.1 mi

Dining

The Tavern Restaurant
Downtown State College
Olde New York
2298 E. College Ave, which is 1 mile from hotel
Garfield's
At Nittany Mall, which is 2 miles from Hotel on Route 26
Rey Azteca
Mexican restaurant, which is 2 miles from hotel
The Diner
Famous for Grilled Sticky Rolls, Downtown State College, which is 1 mile from hotel
The Corner Room
Downtown State College
Breakfast Room
Located off the lobby

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (30)

Ratings and reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DMDB
Business
CT
Nov 4, 2012

Such a nice place to stay

The staff are friendly and helpful. It's clean and quiet- all I really look for in a hotel at this level. It'll be our "go to" hotel in State College. It's a pleasure to stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
D Lewis
Business
Bernardston, MA
Dec 29, 2012

Convenient and Clean

We stayed for a couple of days for Penn State Graduation. The front desk was great, a new location so everything was clean, fresh and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
010101
Business
Malvern, PA
Mar 26, 2013

Pleasant

Hotel was clean, convenient and affordable. We enjoyed the free coffee, cookies and breakfast. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weary parents
Business
State College PA
Mar 25, 2013

college visit

Location and convenience of hotel was excellent! Complimentary breakfast was perfect way to start the day. Hotel staff was very helpful with directions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Avoid Damon's Grill! Steak ordered for dinner tasted and looked like it was boiled instead of grilled and most of the meal arrived lukewarm. This was well before the dinner rush on a Friday night!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PSU Softball Dad
Business
Yorba Linda, California
Apr 2, 2013

Spending time with our daughter at PSU

Great value and close to the campus. We had to stay an extra day and they gave us the same low rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Debhappy2b
Business
Beaver, PA
May 3, 2013

Close to Penn State

The hotel was clean, friendly staff, and very close to Penn State. Perfect for my needs. Home made cookies were a nice touch. I did not eat the free breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Piesmom
Business
New York
May 2, 2013

What a surprise for the price!

Came for PSU move out! Stressful enough, but this new hotel is clean, comfortable and quiet!!! Great breakfast! Coffee and cookies in lobby all the time!! Pleasant stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

PSU parents! This is a great deal AND great location!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Water1
Business
Ocean Springs, Ms
May 13, 2013

Southern Hospitality up north!!

A very good experience beginning with a welcoming front desk staff on to a very clean and comfortable room. The bed was probably the MOST comfortable bed I have ever slept on in a hotel. The breakfast had a large variety of items and was very tasty. I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a quality inn located in State College.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mthj
Business
Philadelphia
Jun 20, 2013

A nice hotel

Nothing fancy - but a clean nice hotel! I would be happy to stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
perryman
Business
Scranton, PA
Jun 14, 2013

Pleasant Stay

We stayed one night- the room was nice- pool and hot tub were great and the staff was awesome- so accomodating and helpful!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top