Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

3 stars
1357 East College Avenue, State College, PA 16801
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
31 reviews
Great business value

We stayed here for a conference we attended. The room was clean and fresh. Location was great, less... See full review

  • PicklePro
  • Mar 29, 2014
Great place for low fee!

I used this hotel for my wife and I to stay for a volleyball tournament at PSU. The place was... See full review

  • Volleyball Parent
  • Feb 11, 2014
Hotel is located near Penn State University and near downtown State College off of US322 and College Avenue. Complimentary hot breakfast is available each morning for our guests as well as complimentary High Speed Internet. All Guest Rooms have microwaves and refrigerators. Guests can unwind and relax in our indoor pool or whirlpool as well as stay fit in our on-site fitness center. Our hotel has guest rooms with 1 King Bed or 2 Queen Beds as well as Studio Suites and 1 Bedroom Suites. For your continued safety the hotel has sprinklers and smoke detectors in all areas.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Live entertainment
Night club
Golf
Driving range
Dining
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
Airline desk
Shops/Commercial services
Shopping mall
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Copy service
Currency exchange
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Brailled elevators
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Hotel Map

40.8095 -77.8351
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
UNIVERSITY PARK ARPT, (SCE), 5.00, MI, SW; HARRISBURG INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT, (MDT), 100.00, MI, SE;
Area description
City Center, This hotel is located near the city.

Nearby points of interest

  • Bryce Jordan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Beaver Stadium: 1.1 mi

Dining

The Tavern Restaurant
Downtown State College
Olde New York
2298 E. College Ave, which is 1 mile from hotel
Garfield's
At Nittany Mall, which is 2 miles from Hotel on Route 26
Rey Azteca
Mexican restaurant, which is 2 miles from hotel
The Diner
Famous for Grilled Sticky Rolls, Downtown State College, which is 1 mile from hotel
The Corner Room
Downtown State College
Breakfast Room
Located off the lobby

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (31)

Ratings and reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 31
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
UnHappy Valley
PA
Mar 4, 2013

UnHappy Valley Visit

Due to a no cancellation policy as advertised we were stuck at the Hotel for the night.CI&S was not willing to even consider changing our date. Our unscheduled morning wake up call at 6:00am consisted of constant banging on doors and screaming by obnoxious chaperones and their offspring.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Keep driving past the country inn and suites!!!

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Caroline M.
Boston, Massachusetts
Mar 30, 2014

On the road, passing through PA

I booked this hotel while on the road based upon good reviews (and also, I read that it was built within the past 5 years, which sounded good to me. Don't quote me on the exact year it was built though). Here are a few reasons to stay here: 1. Staff - Friendly. The man at the front desk recommended a great restaurant just up the street. 2. Location - Being that we were travelers, the location was ideal for us. The hotel is right off the highway, with a gas station and Dunkin right across the street. Perfect combination to fuel up your car and your coffee addiction. 10 minutes from Penn State, which was fun to drive through. Also, very close to Happy Valley Brewing restaurant (so if you're tired, and looking for a good bite or drink, go here!). 3. Room - The room was standard, but all around nice and spacious. No complaints. 4. Amenities - There is complimentary coffee/tea, apples, bananas, and homemade cookies (I know they are homemade because I saw a staff member taking cookies out of the oven in the morning). There is a pool and fitness area, although we were not there long enough to enjoy either of these. 5. Complimentary breakfast - this was the selling point for us. We didn't have time to find a sit-down breakfast, but we wanted something good for the road. This was great! Hot/cold cereal, toppings for oatmeal, toast/pastries/muffins, small hot buffet with eggs, bacon and sausage, apples/bananas, fresh fruit salad, etc. There was also a waffle making station. Seriously good waffles (and I'm pretty picky). Considering this is complimentary within the cost of the room, I was highly impressed. If I were traveling through PA again, I would certainly stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hazbro
Pennsylvania
Apr 7, 2014

Very Nice Hotel

No worries when booking this hotel. Good luck getting an available room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RSKatDC
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Feb 11, 2012

Covenient to State College

This is a new property (as of February 2011) and in fact some final landscaping was in progress when I arrived. Nevertheless, the staff had their act together and they were quite efficient. One often worries that it takes time for a new operation to stabilize, but that was not the case here. The free breakfast was generous and even featured china and flatware rather than the usual paper and plastic utensils. Rooms were clean and comfortable, Internet connection worked fine. Overall, a good choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Zola's in downtown State College is excellent.

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rural artist
Pennsylvania, USA
Apr 30, 2012

Clean amenities, Great location

Stayed for a Penn State event, very clean amenities, friendly staff and close proximity to the university campus

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveler73
Business
Pittsburgh
Jun 23, 2012

clean and professional

Excellent, friendly service. Beutiful indoor pool area. Wireless network was down, and that was an inconvenience. Otherwise, a nice place I will use again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PSU Mike
Villanova, PA
Sep 17, 2012

Great College Football Weekend

This is a new hotel and they are clearly going the extra mile. I typically stay in town for Penn State Football games. This hotel is about 1.5 miles out of town, near Hickey's. On the positive side, they give you free breakfast and it is probably not that much farther of a walk to the stadium than from my normal hotel, the Atherton, on the other side of town. Also, the hotel was probably about $300 bucks less for the weekend. While the location clearly isn't quite as good, the hotel really makes up for it by offering free rides to town in their shuttle van, though due to traffic, they won't take you to the stadium or pick you up. We didn't want to get stuck in all the traffic, so we got a ride to town, walked to the stadium and then actually walked back to the hotel. It is an easy walk, twenty minutes or so, but a bit dangerous, as there isn't a sidewalk the whole way. The hotel also offers a shuttle to and from the game for $10/person round trip. The hotel has a pool; something a lot of the state college hotels don't have, and this was a big plus with my kids. Because the hotel is new, it is really clean and updated. Some of the State College hotels can be run down from too many weekends of football partying! Because it is a bit out of town, there is ample parking, another big plus. Like other hotels in this category (Hampton Inn, Hilton Garden Inn), there isn't any hotel food or beverage service, beyond the breakfast. If you are looking for a hotel bar to hang out in after the game, this isn't your place! On the down side, beyond the Dunkin Donuts right outside the hotel, there isn't much in terms of restaurants/bars within easy walking distance of the hotel. All in all, this hotel was a great value. They did everything they could to make up for competitive disadvantages versus other hotels and the staff was super friendly and helpful. Despite the location out of town, I'd definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TBH Class of 85
Wilkes-Barre, PA
Sep 24, 2012

Great football weekend

Hotel is very clean and new. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast buffet was good with variety of food and drink. We would definitely stay there again. It is one of the nicest hotels in State College.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EHub
Northerstern PA
Nov 3, 2012

concert getaway

Convenient location to downtown restaurants and to Penn State venues. Lobby and guest rooms attractive and comfortable. Very good breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
garywerk
Los Angeles
Oct 30, 2012

Great new Hotel convenient to Penn State

Had an excellent stay on a football weekend. Premium price for football weekend, but that's to be expected. Hotel is new, comfortable beds and pillows, flat screen TV, refrigerator in room, nice pool, free breakfast. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top