$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 20, 2015

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

3 stars
View map of 1357 East College Avenue, State College, PA 16801

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
32 reviews
great tour of Penn State

I was looking for a place near the Bryce Jordan Center with a pool. My son and I were comfortable... See full review

  • Bonnie B.
  • Feb 22, 2015
great trip

the hotel met all expectations. The location is great. It is close to down town where all the... See full review

  • Valentina L.
  • Jan 9, 2015
Hotel is located near Penn State University and near downtown State College off of US322 and College Avenue. Complimentary hot breakfast is available each morning for our guests as well as complimentary High Speed Internet. All Guest Rooms have microwaves and refrigerators. Guests can unwind and relax in our indoor pool or whirlpool as well as stay fit in our on-site fitness center. Our hotel has guest rooms with 1 King Bed or 2 Queen Beds as well as Studio Suites and 1 Bedroom Suites. For your continued safety the hotel has sprinklers and smoke detectors in all areas.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Live entertainment
Night club
Golf
Driving range
Dining
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
Airline desk
Shops/Commercial services
Shopping mall
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Copy service
Currency exchange
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Brailled elevators
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Bryce Jordan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Beaver Stadium: 1.2 mi

Dining

The Tavern Restaurant
Downtown State College
Olde New York
2298 E. College Ave, which is 1 mile from hotel
Garfield's
At Nittany Mall, which is 2 miles from Hotel on Route 26
Rey Azteca
Mexican restaurant, which is 2 miles from hotel
The Diner
Famous for Grilled Sticky Rolls, Downtown State College, which is 1 mile from hotel
The Corner Room
Downtown State College
Breakfast Room
Located off the lobby

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 32
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bonnie B.
Business
Narberth
Feb 22, 2015

great tour of Penn State

I was looking for a place near the Bryce Jordan Center with a pool. My son and I were comfortable and it was very easy to get where we were going.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mthj
Business
Philadelphia
Jun 20, 2013

A nice hotel

Nothing fancy - but a clean nice hotel! I would be happy to stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveler73
Business
Pittsburgh
Jun 23, 2012

clean and professional

Excellent, friendly service. Beutiful indoor pool area. Wireless network was down, and that was an inconvenience. Otherwise, a nice place I will use again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RSKatDC
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Feb 11, 2012

Covenient to State College

This is a new property (as of February 2011) and in fact some final landscaping was in progress when I arrived. Nevertheless, the staff had their act together and they were quite efficient. One often worries that it takes time for a new operation to stabilize, but that was not the case here. The free breakfast was generous and even featured china and flatware rather than the usual paper and plastic utensils. Rooms were clean and comfortable, Internet connection worked fine. Overall, a good choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Zola's in downtown State College is excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chuck R
Business
Point Pleasant, NJ, USA
Feb 9, 2012

Great hotel!

I stay at many hotels and this one was great. New, clean and a great staff. Exercise room was very good and the indoor pool was awesome. I will make this hotel my home base when visiting State College in the future. Nice Job Comfort Inn Suites!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top