$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

3 stars
View map of 1357 East College Avenue, State College, PA 16801

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Reading, PA
Sep 24, 2012

Great Hotel Experience

Brand new beautiful hotel. Price was heavy, but it was a Penn State Football weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Beaver Stadium

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hazbro
Business
Pennsylvania
Apr 7, 2014

Very Nice Hotel

No worries when booking this hotel. Good luck getting an available room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Caroline M.
Business
Boston, Massachusetts
Mar 30, 2014

On the road, passing through PA

I booked this hotel while on the road based upon good reviews (and also, I read that it was built within the past 5 years, which sounded good to me. Don't quote me on the exact year it was built though). Here are a few reasons to stay here: 1. Staff - Friendly. The man at the front desk recommended a great restaurant just up the street. 2. Location - Being that we were travelers, the location was ideal for us. The hotel is right off the highway, with a gas station and Dunkin right across the street. Perfect combination to fuel up your car and your coffee addiction. 10 minutes from Penn State, which was fun to drive through. Also, very close to Happy Valley Brewing restaurant (so if you're tired, and looking for a good bite or drink, go here!). 3. Room - The room was standard, but all around nice and spacious. No complaints. 4. Amenities - There is complimentary coffee/tea, apples, bananas, and homemade cookies (I know they are homemade because I saw a staff member taking cookies out of the oven in the morning). There is a pool and fitness area, although we were not there long enough to enjoy either of these. 5. Complimentary breakfast - this was the selling point for us. We didn't have time to find a sit-down breakfast, but we wanted something good for the road. This was great! Hot/cold cereal, toppings for oatmeal, toast/pastries/muffins, small hot buffet with eggs, bacon and sausage, apples/bananas, fresh fruit salad, etc. There was also a waffle making station. Seriously good waffles (and I'm pretty picky). Considering this is complimentary within the cost of the room, I was highly impressed. If I were traveling through PA again, I would certainly stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Volleyball Parent
Business
York, PA
Feb 11, 2014

Great place for low fee!

I used this hotel for my wife and I to stay for a volleyball tournament at PSU. The place was quiet, comfy, and close to the campus. Nice hot breakfast and friendly staff made it a great stay. I will look for this chain when I travel now.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Nittany mall is only a short drive from this hotel on 26.

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
perryman
Business
Scranton, PA
Jun 14, 2013

Pleasant Stay

We stayed one night- the room was nice- pool and hot tub were great and the staff was awesome- so accomodating and helpful!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NNNN1
Business
22101
May 13, 2013

*****

Great for parents and PSU student going to summer seesion

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Water1
Business
Ocean Springs, Ms
May 13, 2013

Southern Hospitality up north!!

A very good experience beginning with a welcoming front desk staff on to a very clean and comfortable room. The bed was probably the MOST comfortable bed I have ever slept on in a hotel. The breakfast had a large variety of items and was very tasty. I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a quality inn located in State College.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
S. Hankins
Business
Georgia
May 6, 2013

Great Family Getaway

Each and every stay at the Comfort Inn & Suites prove to be a pleasant and enjoyable experience. The staff is friendly as well as professional. The rooms are nicely furnished and very clean. An option to purchase noon and evening meals would complete the package.. 5 stars to the staff at the Country Inn & Suites in State College Pa. S. Hankins

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Debhappy2b
Business
Beaver, PA
May 3, 2013

Close to Penn State

The hotel was clean, friendly staff, and very close to Penn State. Perfect for my needs. Home made cookies were a nice touch. I did not eat the free breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Piesmom
Business
New York
May 2, 2013

What a surprise for the price!

Came for PSU move out! Stressful enough, but this new hotel is clean, comfortable and quiet!!! Great breakfast! Coffee and cookies in lobby all the time!! Pleasant stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

PSU parents! This is a great deal AND great location!

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Little Batman
Business
Pittsburgh Pa
Apr 15, 2013

Penn State weekend

Everything was perfect!! Hotel was convenient to everything and everyone was really nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top