$82 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

3 stars
View map of 1357 East College Avenue, State College, PA 16801

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
37 reviews
Visited Penn State

This hotel was wonderful. It was clean, comfortable and the breakfast was fabulous. See full review

  • Frederick M.
  • Jul 6, 2015
Penn State Visit

This hotel was wonderful. It was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was fabulous. See full review

  • Frederick M.
  • Jul 6, 2015
Hotel is located near Penn State University and near downtown State College off of US322 and College Avenue. Complimentary hot breakfast is available each morning for our guests as well as complimentary High Speed Internet. All Guest Rooms have microwaves and refrigerators. Guests can unwind and relax in our indoor pool or whirlpool as well as stay fit in our on-site fitness center. Our hotel has guest rooms with 1 King Bed or 2 Queen Beds as well as Studio Suites and 1 Bedroom Suites. For your continued safety the hotel has sprinklers and smoke detectors in all areas. We are a 100 percent smoke free facility.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA also booked these hotels.

★★★
$82
4.1 / 5 39 reviews
★★★
$92
4.2 / 5 18 reviews
★★
$93
4.1 / 5 19 reviews
★★★
$84
4.2 / 5 20 reviews
★★★
$99
4.1 / 5 51 reviews
★★
$55
3.2 / 5 109 reviews

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Live entertainment
Night club
Golf
Driving range
Dining
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
Airline desk
Shops/Commercial services
Shopping mall
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Copy service
Currency exchange
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Brailled elevators
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Safe
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Bryce Jordan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Beaver Stadium: 1.2 mi

Dining

The Tavern Restaurant
Downtown State College
Olde New York
2298 E. College Ave, which is 1 mile from hotel
Garfield's
At Nittany Mall, which is 2 miles from Hotel on Route 26
Rey Azteca
Mexican restaurant, which is 2 miles from hotel
The Diner
Famous for Grilled Sticky Rolls, Downtown State College, which is 1 mile from hotel
The Corner Room
Downtown State College
Breakfast Room
Located off the lobby Must wear shoes
Happy Valley Brewing Company
137 Elmwood Street 814-234-4406 .2 miles from the hotel Kitchen open until 11pm Sun-Thur, Midnight Friday and Staurday
Otto's Pub and Brewery
2235 North Atherton Street 814-867-6886

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Reading, PA
Sep 24, 2012

Great Hotel Experience

Brand new beautiful hotel. Price was heavy, but it was a Penn State Football weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Beaver Stadium

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frederick M.
Family
N/A
Jul 6, 2015

Visited Penn State

This hotel was wonderful. It was clean, comfortable and the breakfast was fabulous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frederick M.
Family
N/A
Jul 6, 2015

Penn State Visit

This hotel was wonderful. It was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was fabulous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
flush hammer
Family
pittsburgh
Jul 6, 2015

College Exploring Trip

Not Very friendly front desk. Kind of felt tricked into spending $20 more for a slightly larger room. Higher Star levels are MUCH more accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Patricia L.
Couples
Avon
Jun 16, 2015

Loved the turtle watch!

We have stayed at the country inn more than once because of it's comfortable rooms and great breakfast. This time we were on the alert for the hatching turtles which made the trip even more exciting! Will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jaime
Single
Carmel
Jun 9, 2015

Great place to stop

Stopped here for one night as I was driving from the east coast to the midwest. I had a nice room that was spacious, quiet, and clean. There was breakfast in the morning and was close to many restaurants and shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
lehi
May 16, 2015

Lee Industries Visit

A Great Experience in a perfect location, with great amenities and friendly service. Would recommend this to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bonnie B.
Business
Narberth
Feb 22, 2015

great tour of Penn State

I was looking for a place near the Bryce Jordan Center with a pool. My son and I were comfortable and it was very easy to get where we were going.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Valentina L.
Single
N/A
Jan 9, 2015

great trip

the hotel met all expectations. The location is great. It is close to down town where all the action happens. I would recommend it to anyone. Complimentary food was good. The room was clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
occasionally trav
Family
zachary, Louisiana
Sep 11, 2014

very pleased

After My GPS had "dropped" me in downtown and informed me I had arrived the staff talked us back to the hotel. The room was super and far exceeded my expectations. For the price it cannot be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JimFootball
Family
New York, NY
Jun 19, 2014

College visit

Dropped my child off at college and needed a place to stay for the night. Everything was great about this hotel, especially the breakfast. Great location and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top