$104 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 24, 2014 Check-out: Jul 25, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites

3 stars
115 Premiere Drive, State College, PA 16801-7329
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
28 reviews
great place to stay at State College

very nice rooms view is wonderful of the mountains See full review

  • Little Creep
  • May 20, 2014
Great location!

Right by the movie theater on Premiere drive, as well as the mall and other places (My favorite is... See full review

  • Spicy Rabbit
  • Dec 2, 2013
The Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites offers everything you are looking for when traveling to Happy Valley. The Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites is conveniently located near three major highways including I-99, I-80 and US-322. This hotel is the closest hotel to Bellefonte, also only three miles from Penn State University and the beautiful downtown State College. If you are here for one of the major events State College offers, we are only two exits away from Beaver Stadium, Bryce Jordan Center, Mt. Nittany Medical Center and the brand new Pegula Ice Arena. During your stay with the only Green Certified hotel in State College, you will feel welcome by the friendly, caring staff. The BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites offers 79 beautifully appointed guest rooms, each featuring stylish decor, free Wi-Fi, cable TV, microwave and refrigerator. Also included is a complimentary hot breakfast with sausage, eggs, waffles and more! Guests at this State College hotel are also invited to take advantage of an array of upscale hotel amenities, from an indoor heated swimming pool and hot tub to a 24-hour fitness center.

BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,PILLOWTOP BED,32IN LCD TV,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,PILLOWTOP BED,32IN LCD TV,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,PILLOWTOP BED,LCD TV,MICRFG,SOFABED,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,PILLOWTOP BED,LCD TV,MICRFG,SOFABED,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,WALK IN SHOWER,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,WALK SHWR,SOFBD,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,WALK IN SHOWER,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Boating
Driving range
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.8394 -77.8024
Area served
Snow Shoe, Lock Haven, Huntingdon, Centre Hall, Port Matilda, Pine Grove Mills, Howard, New York City,, Altoona, Philadelphia, Pittsburgh, Boalsburg, Millheim, Baltimore,, Warriors Mark, Allentown, Clearfield, Spruce Creek, Lewistown, Phillipsburg
Nearby airports
(SCE), 8.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Expressway

Nearby points of interest

  • Beaver Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • Bryce Jordan Center: 3.5 mi

Dining

Damon's Bar and Grill
4.00 mile(s) from Damon's Bar and Grill, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner, featuring world famous barbeque
Zola New World Bistro
14.00 mile(s) from Zola New World Bistro, full service, Continental, open for: dinner
Allen Street Grill
14.00 mile(s) from Allen Street Grill, bar/lounge, International, open for: lunch, dinner, nightly entertainment, located above the Corner Room
Garfield's
0.50 mile(s) from Garfield's, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Outback Steakhouse
14.00 mile(s) from Outback Steakhouse, full service, Steak House, open for: dinner
Red Horse Tavern
8.00 mile(s) from Red Horse Tavern, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner
McDonald's®
2.00 mile(s) from McDonald's®, fast food, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner
Perkins
15.00 mile(s) from Perkins, full service, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner
Jim's Italian Cuisine
8.00 mile(s) from Jim's Italian Cuisine, full service, Italian, open for: lunch, dinner
Dino's Pizza
0.50 mile(s) from Dino's Pizza, fast food, Italian, open for: lunch, dinner, great pizza, in the Nittany Mall

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (28)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 28
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Exton, PA
Apr 26, 2010

Nice Hotel

For one thing, the room wasn't ready when we checked in. We had to wait at least an hour for the room. Not the way to build a business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Exton, PA
Apr 26, 2010

Nice Hotel

For one thing, the room wasn't ready when we checked in. We had to wait at least an hour for the room. Not the way to build a business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 21, 2011

Problems with the details

This is the second time I've stayed at the Best Western University Park and unlike my first visit where all was good, this time there was a number of minor snags. None of these was signicant, but taken together, it started to get annoying and should not be happening in a major chain such as Best Western. For example, the battery on the alarm clock was dead. While it could be reset manually and would operate fine on normal electrical power, the hotel has one of those systems common to European properties that requires a room key to be inserted for the power to come on. So when I removed the key card when going out, the clock lost power and reverted to the dreaded flashing 12:00 display. Despite two requests that it be fixed, nothing was done. Second, the housekeeping staff missed a few small details when cleaning up. Third, the complimentary breakfast was completely out of milk early on my second morning. According to the person responsible, there had been no delivery that day. I suggested perhaps a run to the nearest food mart could have solved the problem easily enough (about a block away), but apaprently that didn't occur to them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is located to a multi-screen movie theatre showing first run titles.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 21, 2011

Problems with the details

This is the second time I've stayed at the Best Western University Park and unlike my first visit where all was good, this time there was a number of minor snags. None of these was signicant, but taken together, it started to get annoying and should not be happening in a major chain such as Best Western. For example, the battery on the alarm clock was dead. While it could be reset manually and would operate fine on normal electrical power, the hotel has one of those systems common to European properties that requires a room key to be inserted for the power to come on. So when I removed the key card when going out, the clock lost power and reverted to the dreaded flashing 12:00 display. Despite two requests that it be fixed, nothing was done. Second, the housekeeping staff missed a few small details when cleaning up. Third, the complimentary breakfast was completely out of milk early on my second morning. According to the person responsible, there had been no delivery that day. I suggested perhaps a run to the nearest food mart could have solved the problem easily enough (about a block away), but apaprently that didn't occur to them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is located to a multi-screen movie theatre showing first run titles.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
whycantisigninusethesame
binghamton ny
Aug 27, 2012

New Hotel

Brand new hotel. OMG paper thin walls! can hear EVERYTHING on both sides and upstairs. I have a reservation here for later this year and I am going to cancel and change hotels. Its a new hotel, don't they have good cheaper soundproofing technology these days? I won't be surprised if this place is falling apart in a few years.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Movie theater right next door.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JJTK
New Jersey
May 6, 2013

Graduation weekend

Visited the area for Penn State Graduation. Motel is only 4 miles from campus. Motel was well maintained and the staff was pleasant and accommodating. The breakfast included with the room was great, so many items to choose from. I would definitely stay at this motel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Penn State Mama
York, Pennsylvania
Jul 24, 2012

Nice place for an overnight stay

Our stay was overall very nice and the room was a great value. The free breakfast was surprisingly good, and the waffle maker made it all the better. It's located conveniently close to the Penn State campus and is a good pace to stay if you're visiting with your son/daughter. The room itself was pretty nice, besides the dirty sheets on one of the beds that we had to change ourselves. Other than that, though, no problems with the hotel and we will plan on coming back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Penn State campus is just a short drive away. Be sure to stop by the creamery!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NJ mom with kids
New Jersey
May 29, 2012

Close to University

The hotel was about an 5-10 minute drive from the University but very close to movies and shopping. Breakfast included scrambled eggs, potatoes, sausage, oatmeal, waffles, breads and pasteries. Tea, coffee, juice, and milk available all day. Staff was friendly. Room was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
SCS MI
Aug 1, 2011

Camp Woodward

Nice-suited our needs on our way to take the boys to BMX camp in Woodward PA

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Drive around to check out local restaurants before you eat

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spicy Rabbit
Baltimore, Maryland
Dec 2, 2013

Great location!

Right by the movie theater on Premiere drive, as well as the mall and other places (My favorite is the bookstore and a certain new york style restaurant). I've actually stayed here twice, and this is my favorite place to stay whenever I'm in State College to visit my girlfriend. It's nicer to stay here than just about anywhere downtown. Anyhow, the hotel is great and has all the amenities. We had a big room all to ourselves for the whole weekend, and plenty of places to visit. We didn't stay for breakfast but I saw they had it available as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Olde New York

Back to menu Return to top