$55 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 22, 2014

Econo Lodge Scranton

2 stars
1175 Kane St., Scranton, PA 18505
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
34 reviews
Excellent!

We traveled eight hours to get to the hotel, not really knowing what to expect when we got there. ... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 27, 2009
Excellent!

We traveled eight hours to get to the hotel, not really knowing what to expect when we got there. ... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 27, 2009
Perfect for leisure and business travelers alike, the Econo Lodge of Scranton offers real value. The hotel is located off Interstate 81 near Montage/Sno Mountain. Hotel features free continental breakfast, free high-speed Internet access, seasonal outdoor pool, well-appointed guest rooms, and friendly service. Innumerable attractions, including Sno Mountain Ski Area, the shoppes at Montage, PNC Stadium, and the Toyota Pavilion are nearby, as are the areas business parks. Come visit us today. Pet charge: 6.00/night per pet. Pet limit: 2 pets per room.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
In room movies
Sofa bed
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Econo Lodge Scranton also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.3739 -75.6787
Nearby airports
Scrantn/Wlks-Barre Intl Arpt, (AVP), 7.00, MI, S; Harrisburg Int'l. Arpt., (MDT), 135.00, MI, S; Newark Int'l Airport, (EWR), 125.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center, Ski/Stadium

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (34)

Ratings and reviews for Econo Lodge Scranton

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 34
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.2
Value:
2.7

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Econo Lodge Scranton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 28, 2007

not a very good stay

The Econo-Lodge Scranton is a very tired and unsatisfactory place to stay. The room was musty and the entire place seemed like a hold-over from the 70's. The deluxe continental breakfast consisted of shrink-wrapped honey buns and orange juice. Not at all what we expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Econo Lodge Scranton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
johnstown pa
Apr 20, 2011

Dont take off your shoes!

Dirty! Even wore my shoes to the bathroom. Did not dare look under the bed. Bedspread had cigarette burns.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Econo Lodge Scranton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 28, 2007

not a very good stay

The Econo-Lodge Scranton is a very tired and unsatisfactory place to stay. The room was musty and the entire place seemed like a hold-over from the 70's. The deluxe continental breakfast consisted of shrink-wrapped honey buns and orange juice. Not at all what we expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Econo Lodge Scranton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsburgh, PA
Feb 1, 2010

Worst Traveling Experience of my Life

This was the most disgusting hotel I have ever seen. The floors were covered with dirt. The sheets were not only stained but also had visible dirt and hair. The bed frame was bigger than the bed so it had a collection of dirt and hair accumulated in it. The walls were covered with stains and holes. The one lamp shade was covered with some [*] looking stains. The bathroom had mold all over the shower and the mirror was covered with dirt and film. We had to go out and get chlorox and papertowels just to clean off the filmy substance or whatever kind of crud was on the toilet seat. There was even dirt and a q-tip in the toilet that they didn't even bother to flush. In the morning we were walking to the lobby and stepped on an open [*]! And when we first checked in, we were given a room key for a room that was already occupied!! We went to get in the room and there was a guy in it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Econo Lodge Scranton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
xoxoxoxoxoxoxxoxo
New Castle, PA
Sep 27, 2013

Roach Motel

There were cock roaches in our rooms, they got into our clothing and suit cases. I had to empty my luggage outside and shake all of our clothing. I will NEVER stay at that place again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Econo Lodge Scranton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Martin Card
Titusville, Fl
Mar 27, 2011

my stay

The hotel was very dirty and it stunk badly. They were not ready for me to check in at 3:30. The building looks like it needs to be redone before it falls down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Its not far off the highway but beware of the roads to get to it.

Review of Econo Lodge Scranton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lindleyrose
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 8, 2010

buyer beware

We were only looking for a one-night stay while in town for a concert, so I selected the best priced hotel closest to the venue. Really, though, the 2 hour drive home would have been a much better option. As soon as you walk in the door at this hotel, the smell just smacks you in the face...it's like 30 years of cafeteria food and bleach all wrapped up into one nauseating scent. We originally walked into the wrong side of the building while looking for our room because the people at the front desk that I spoke to, both on the phone and then in person at check in, were difficult to understand. There were whole sections of the hotel blocked off/locked up because of what seemed like random construction projects, yet some closets and storage rooms were left wide open by the service and maid staff - think twice before bringing young children! They also advertise a "continental breakfast", and I know what those are typically like at budget hotels so I wasn't expecting much...but this was worse. All I wanted was a cup of orange juice and it tasted like it was mostly water. The bedding was worn out, the beds were uncomfortable, staff in the halls were unfriendly, etc. I wish I had read reviews on more hotels in the area and selected differently, so I wanted other people to think twice before choosing this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Econo Lodge Scranton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lindleyrose
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 8, 2010

buyer beware

We were only looking for a one-night stay while in town for a concert, so I selected the best priced hotel closest to the venue. Really, though, the 2 hour drive home would have been a much better option. As soon as you walk in the door at this hotel, the smell just smacks you in the face...it's like 30 years of cafeteria food and bleach all wrapped up into one nauseating scent. We originally walked into the wrong side of the building while looking for our room because the people at the front desk that I spoke to, both on the phone and then in person at check in, were difficult to understand. There were whole sections of the hotel blocked off/locked up because of what seemed like random construction projects, yet some closets and storage rooms were left wide open by the service and maid staff - think twice before bringing young children! They also advertise a "continental breakfast", and I know what those are typically like at budget hotels so I wasn't expecting much...but this was worse. All I wanted was a cup of orange juice and it tasted like it was mostly water. The bedding was worn out, the beds were uncomfortable, staff in the halls were unfriendly, etc. I wish I had read reviews on more hotels in the area and selected differently, so I wanted other people to think twice before choosing this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Econo Lodge Scranton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
johnstown pa
Apr 20, 2011

Dont take off your shoes!

Dirty! Even wore my shoes to the bathroom. Did not dare look under the bed. Bedspread had cigarette burns.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Econo Lodge Scranton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsburgh, PA
Feb 1, 2010

Worst Traveling Experience of my Life

This was the most disgusting hotel I have ever seen. The floors were covered with dirt. The sheets were not only stained but also had visible dirt and hair. The bed frame was bigger than the bed so it had a collection of dirt and hair accumulated in it. The walls were covered with stains and holes. The one lamp shade was covered with some [*] looking stains. The bathroom had mold all over the shower and the mirror was covered with dirt and film. We had to go out and get chlorox and papertowels just to clean off the filmy substance or whatever kind of crud was on the toilet seat. There was even dirt and a q-tip in the toilet that they didn't even bother to flush. In the morning we were walking to the lobby and stepped on an open [*]! And when we first checked in, we were given a room key for a room that was already occupied!! We went to get in the room and there was a guy in it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top