$142 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Crowne Plaza READING

3 stars
1741 PAPERMILL ROAD, READING, PA 19610
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
14 reviews
Perfect Stay!

Loved this hotel!! The Goodnights lounge was poppin on a Thursday night and the Steak and Wine... See full review

  • JBells
  • Mar 25, 2014
Food

Some of the best hotel food I have eaten. Friendly wait staff. See full review

  • Pepinog
  • Jul 3, 2013
Enjoy Largest Meeting Space Among Reading, PA Hotels In an area of culture and history, where you can find many museums, outlet shops and country roads, you're sure to have an enjoyable stay. There are many Reading, PA hotels, but our friendly staff and excellent amenities help make your trip more memorable. The Crowne Plaza® Reading hotel is able to handle large events such as banquets and weddings thanks to our spacious meeting rooms totaling 14,000 sq ft, and perks like a Crowne Meetings Director and Daily Meeting Debrief. Our hotel in Reading, PA is close to Reading Hospital, several colleges and companies such as JC Ehrlich, Uni-Chains, First Energy and Carpenter Technology. Hotels in Reading and Wyomissing, PA have the benefit of being near many cultural, historic and fun attractions. You can learn about local railroads at the Reading Railroad Heritage Museum, see the city below from the iconic Pagoda and taste your way along the Berks County Wine Trail. Our hotel in Reading, PA is also located in the "Original Outlet Capital of the World," so quench your thirst for shopping at the outlet stores dotting the county. After a long day, we're sure you'll want to rest and relax. We make that easy with an indoor pool, a Fitness Center, Prime Steak & Wine, Goodnites Lounge and Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage® Program. So when you're searching for hotels in Reading and Wyomissing, PA, think Crowne Plaza® Reading.

Hotel Map

40.3473 -75.9697
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 70.10, MI, NW;
Area description
Suburban, suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza READING also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Live entertainment
Children's activities
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player

Dining

Prime Steak and Wine
Entrees include USDA PRIME grade steaks, seafood from sustainable sources, and locally grown fresh produce. The wine list is eclectic, offering traditional favorites and modern blends. We finish it off with exclusive desserts that you are sure to enjoy.
Plaza Azteca
Plaza Azteca Mexican Restaurant takes pride in serving our guests the most authentic Mexican food along with a wonderful dining experience!
Goodnites Lounge and Nightclub
Make any night good at Goodnites. One of the area’s most popular nightclubs, there’s always something special happening. From Wednesday with Disco DJ Bob, Caliente Hot Thurdays Night and every Fridays & Saturday Dance Parties with the hottest local DJs,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (14)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza READING

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 14
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza READING

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cathy Sandoval
Business
hamilton, ohio
Jun 18, 2012

Great place to stay

Very nice hotel. I really enjoyed my stay. There were parties on the patio both nights with free food and drinks. The pool was wonderful and warm. I would not think twice about where to stay in Reading, PA. The staff were very nice to us. The breakfast is wonderful, also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza READING

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JBells
Phila, PA
Mar 25, 2014

Perfect Stay!

Loved this hotel!! The Goodnights lounge was poppin on a Thursday night and the Steak and Wine place was delish, so was the breakfast. The hotel is close to a mall, so lots to do in the area if you're bored. The staff was super friendly but not all up in your face or business and they ACTUALLY give you a robe with your room. I've been to plenty of hotels that say they give you a robe but never actually give you one, so this was a little surprising for me. lol. Overall just a great experience at this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Crowne Plaza READING

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pepinog
Business
PA
Jul 3, 2013

Food

Some of the best hotel food I have eaten. Friendly wait staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat at the hotel!

Review of Crowne Plaza READING

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RivVen
Business
NEW YORK CITY
Aug 7, 2012

Great place

I stayed with my wife we had a very nice time . All was clean, very nice pleasant staff and the pool was awsome. Just need a little work on the price . But other then that is was perfect. The price do keep them Low Life ppl away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza READING

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mama123
Business
parkville, md
Jul 20, 2012

best weekend ever

the hotel was great. the pool was great. the food was great. my room was spacious. i was able to get a good night's sleep, for the bed was most comfortable. I plan to stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza READING

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jkleaszr
Business
Darien,Il.
Jul 11, 2012

“Extremely disappointed with current hotel management.....”

I had a business trip recently in Reading Pennsylvania and was scheduled to stay at the Crowne Plaza in Wyomissing for five days. The hotel service and amenities were average but what really disappointed me was how I was essentially ignored by the general manager when my vehicle was involved in a 'hit and run' on the very first night I was there. After finding out that they had absolutely no cameras in the parking lot or premises, I wanted to speak with him. I contacted the front desk and asked that they give him my information regarding the damage to my property (and mountain bike as well). They did so on a Wednesday evening but I never heard from him before I left (on Friday). It was only after two additional attempts by email that he contacted me and instead of attempting to discuss the matter, he chose to forward my email directly to their in-house lawyer in Miami claiming that he could not help me. The area where the hotel is situated has its share of various crimes as I later found out during my investigation. As well, it is only situated four miles away from a high crime rate area (Reading, Pennsylvania) as is indicated by any simple search. In all, the business trip cost me directly $800 (for deductible and bike damage) and indirectly roughly $3,800 plus the hit that I will more than likely be taking on my car insurance due to nobody else being found liable. This I feel is directly related to the hotel not having any cameras in the parking area to provide a higher level of security and protection of one’s personal property. I would not recommend staying at the Crowne Plaza with current management (as of 6/30/12). If anything befalls you outside of the norm, management will ignore any and all requests to speak or deal with you on this matter. He will refer you immediately to their lawyer. I might recommend checking out the Courtyard by Marriott (also in Reading) as an alternative place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza READING

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cathy Sandoval
Business
hamilton, ohio
Jun 18, 2012

Great place to stay

Very nice hotel. I really enjoyed my stay. There were parties on the patio both nights with free food and drinks. The pool was wonderful and warm. I would not think twice about where to stay in Reading, PA. The staff were very nice to us. The breakfast is wonderful, also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza READING

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Delran, NJ
Mar 20, 2011

Reading in Reading

We stayed for one night to visit friends and family. We had no complaints and would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

There's a nightclub inside the hotel called goodnites and it was radically, bodaciously awesome!

Review of Crowne Plaza READING

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
casemum
western penna
Mar 15, 2011

ok, price jump

Had stayed there before at reasonable rate. The hotel was nice but there was quite a price jump. Too many others to stay at that are comparable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Crowne Plaza READING

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
western pa
Nov 28, 2010

great hotel

Our first room had a "clunk" when the heater turned on so they changed our room and gave us a free breakfast voucher. The breakfast buffet was beyond wonderful. Our room was clean and very roomy and they were also pet friendly. The hotel is within walking distance to the shopping malls and restaurants. We will now stay there for every trip to Reading.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Crowne Plaza READING

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
three nights in pergatory
Business
reading pa
Oct 25, 2010

the ordinary

room ok, but not as good as many crown plaza's i've stayed at. Parking was terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search