$74 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 12, 2014 Check-out: Dec 13, 2014

Candlewood Suites READING

2 stars
55 South 3rd Avenue, Reading, PA 19611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
19 reviews
Just passing through

It was very clean and offered great services such as a gym, laundry facilities, the the ability to... See full review

  • Passing through newlyweds
  • Aug 26, 2014
Concert overnite stay

Hotel was perfect, close to restaurants, our concert venue was 5 min away, staff friendly and... See full review

  • Jazz Allstar Concert Goer
  • Apr 7, 2014
Guests Love Hotel's Location in West Reading, PA Nestled in the serene countryside of Pennsylvania's Dutch Country, Reading is an eclectic and vibrant city. The Candlewood Suites® Reading hotel offers an ideal location on the west side of town, making it a convenient choice for both business and leisure travelers. We've got everything you need for a productive business trip in Reading, PA. The hotel's 24-hour Business Center is there for support, and each suite includes free Wi-Fi access and a spacious work area. Additionally, the hotel is moments from top companies like Carpenter Technology and Penske Truck Leasing, as well as the Reading Hospital & Medical Center. From shopping to art and history, there is something of interest to captivate everyone in Reading, PA. The hotel's situated right along Penn Ave, where you'll find dozens of unique shops, restaurants and spas. You can watch the Reading Phillies play at nearby First Energy Stadium or explore the galleries at Goggleworks Center for the Arts, which is less a mile from the hotel in Reading, PA. Whether you're here for a short trip or an extended stay, we provide everything you need for a carefree trip, including a 24-hour Fitness Center, underground parking and free guest laundry facilities. In need of a quick bite to eat or forget to pack a necessity? The Candlewood Cupboard sells value-priced items. Make your reservations today for a memorable stay at our hotel in Reading, PA.

Hotel Map

40.3346 -75.9439
Nearby airports
Harrisburg Intl., (MDT), 50.00, MI; Philadelphia Intl., (PHL), 60.00, MI; Lehigh Valley / Allentown - ABE, (ABE), 43.00, MI;
Area description
Suburban, suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Candlewood Suites READING also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Kitchen
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

Brewers Bar and Grill
Located just a few steps from our Candlewood Suites parking lot, Brewers is a fun, sports bar type atmosphere with great food and and an onsite beer mart! Great menu including salads, sandwiches, steaks and more.
3rd and Spruce Cafe
Offering a casual atmosphere with daily food and drink specials. Our kitchen is open 7 days a week until midnight.
Bistro 614
Gourmet quality food, with fine wines and attentive service, all while creating a dining experience that is upscale yet relaxed and casual. French Bistro inspired theme, menu with a wide range of choices, organic desserts, seasonal outdoor dining, sidewa
GNA Ristorante and Pizzeria
Full service restaurant bar, dine in or take out, patio seating during spring, summer, and fall. Italian cuisine ranging from entrees to pizza to sandwiches. Variety of choices.
Say Cheese
Artisan cheese shop and a full service, 72 seat restaurant featuring unique grilled cheeses, soups, salads, sandwiches, bites and cheese plates. Currently does not serve alcohol, but you can bring your own bottle.
Go Fish Seafood and Sushi Bar
Freshly prepared sushi and seafood dishes. Restaurant uses products that come from sustainable and organic resources. Located behind the restaurant is a fresh fish and seafood market. Dine in or take out, seasonal outdoor seating available, and you can
West Reading Diner
Open 24 hours, serving a large variety of menu items at a very reasonable cost. Diner is located a block from the hotel.
The Ugly Oyster
The oldest pub in Berks County! A traditional Guiness Irish Pub offering a warm, inviting atmosphere and great food! The seating, decor, and other appointments of the pub were hand crafted and assembled in England and then transported right here to Read
Judy's on Cherry
What was once a farmers market is now Judys on Cherry, a beautifully renovated, Mediterranean inspired fine dining restaurant in the heart of downtown Reading. At Judys you will bask in the warm glow of vaulted wooden ceilings, gorgeous appointments and r

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (19)

Ratings and reviews for Candlewood Suites READING

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 19
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Candlewood Suites READING

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Long time biz traveler
Business
West Palm Beach
Oct 2, 2014

good stay

Very convenient to my work location, as well as everything in the surrounding area. Internet was slow at times; staff said they had the same issue with their business connection. I don't download movies, but I have to use the internet extensively while on business travel, so this was an annoyance. I'll stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites READING

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Passing through newlyweds
Business
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Aug 26, 2014

Just passing through

It was very clean and offered great services such as a gym, laundry facilities, the the ability to rent board games, movies, and kitchen appliances. The staff was also very friendly and answered any questions we had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The brewers bar and grill across the street is a great and easy way to find food and drink without having to drive there. It's a one minute walk from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites READING

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bkgmfish
Business
Bel Air, Maryland
Jun 16, 2014

one night stay

We stayed overnight after a wedding. Staff was courteous, hotel was nice. Only downfall was that we had specifically requested a non-smoking room on the online site but all non-smoking rooms were gone. The hotel said that this travel online company over sells rooms quite often.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites READING

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jazz Allstar Concert Goer
Business
Pittsburgh, Pa
Apr 7, 2014

Concert overnite stay

Hotel was perfect, close to restaurants, our concert venue was 5 min away, staff friendly and helpful, very clean and comfortable. even the little" store " was great for a midnite snack! Would definitely stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Italian restaurant up the street is FANTASTIC!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites READING

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lori Weekender
Business
Jenkintown, PA
Mar 3, 2014

Always nice at Candlewood

Candlewood is always a nice stay. We had a 3rd person and chose it because the rooms are so roomy, even with a cot, we had plenty of space. Wish they served breakfast, but there is a full kitchen in the room which is handy. Staff was very friendly and accommodating

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites READING

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Astounded number 80
Business
Maryland
Sep 14, 2013

No Breakfast

We paid more than we realized was necessary. We got a similar room nearby for $10 less than your "bargain price". We were incredulous to find that the hotel did not provide breakfast ( breakfast at the other motel was fabulous).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites READING

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Missbnt
Business
BC Canada
May 28, 2013

Not bad

The description on the website made it out that the room would have a full kitchen.... Didn't have a oven... They don't clean the room everyday... Some of the front desk people are great while others are bad.... Couldn't connect to the Internet on my laptop wireless and wired didn't work... Could only connect on phone and iPad... Phoned the number they supplied for help... But was after hours so no help... And got charged for the phone call lol... Other than that wasn't bad good location and the room was nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites READING

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Big Harry
Business
Thornton Co.
May 16, 2013

Great time at Candlewood

The hotel was clean and the people were very nice always asking us if we needed anything. We will definitely go back when we visit Reading Pa. again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

lots of Italiam eateries

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites READING

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Skipick2
Business
Herndon, VA
May 2, 2013

Great location and excellent value.

Spacious, clean room, with full size refrigerator, microwave, two burner stove, desk and comfortable chair. Little store with microwavable food for meals, snacks, drinks, etc. was nice. Didn't use the gym, but it looked to be better equipped than average. Nice, safe location. Bar/restaurant next door and another one a couple blocks away were convenient and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites READING

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mrsmaz
Business
San Francisco
Oct 15, 2012

Great value

This hotel is meant for extended stays, but I spent two nights there to attend a wedding nearby. The rooms are comfortable and clean, and the kitchen is a nice feature. The bathroom in my room was huge. There is tons of parking. My only complaint is that people come in late at night from the bar next door and are loud, but maybe that was just because my room was by the elevator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go see the pagoda. It makes no sense that Reading has a pagoda.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top