The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

4 stars
View map of 1000 Penn Avenue, 1000 Penn Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15222

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jamison, PA
Apr 11, 2011

Good stay, great location

Was there for high school fundraiser. Just stayed one night. Very convenient as fundraiser was at hotel. Did find mildew smell in bathroom, think it was shower curtain. There was empty champagne bottle in mini fridge. Room was very comfortable and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Enjoyable atmosphere at bar in hotel and breakfaast was fabulous next morning. Breakfast quesadilla was scrumptous

Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gym mom3
Business
Chicago, Il
Aug 25, 2014

Work trip

Lackluster accommodations but great location. Staff seemed to lack knowledge of area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ten Penny is a great indoor/ outdoor bar type restaurant with great service.

Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bed Bug Infestation
Business
Sharon, PA, USA
Jan 11, 2012

Overall: "Very Good Stuff"

Overall, the hotel was clean, accommodating, and very close to all downtown attractions. Valet parking was also reasonable with unlimited retrievals of your vehicle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bed Bug Infestation
Business
Sharon, PA, USA
Jan 11, 2012

Overall: "Very Good Stuff"

Overall, the hotel was clean, accommodating, and very close to all downtown attractions. Valet parking was also reasonable with unlimited retrievals of your vehicle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
troy boy12
Business
temple, pa
Jul 30, 2012

awesome getaway

I enjoyed the whole hotel experience. Paying for parking should be included the price of the room. $20 for 24 hours. Come On!!! The room was comfortable, the staff was friendly and helpful. And we walked to our concert. Got to love it!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

you can walk to the strip, down to the park and shopping everywhere. location, location,location.

Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AnneMcD
Business
Latrobe, PA 15650, USA
Jan 1, 2013

Great location!

My husband and I stayed here for New Year's Eve 2012, and we attended the First Night festivities in the city. The Westin was a great choice since we were only a few blocks from the cultural district. The room was very nice and I thought the bed was very comfortable(my husband thought it was too soft). I know it's the city, but I wish you didn't have to pay extra to park. I highly recommend the hotel and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

August Henry's City Saloon was only a block away, and their fish sandwich was HUGE! The prices were reasonable and the food was good!

Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hockey Fan Ken
Business
USA
Apr 1, 2013

Weekend Getaway.

Great Hotel and close to everything for Sporting Events.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tommy1990
Business
Winston-Salem, NC
Nov 18, 2013

Perfect Spot for Football/Baseball Visitors

The Westin in downtown Pittsburgh worked very well for us as visiting football fans for a weekend. The lobby is nice, and the staff were very patient, informative, and helpful. My room was clean and was kept very clean. The location is perfect in regards to the sports venues. It is in a nice spot of town and only about a 15 minute walk to the stadium across the bridge. Enjoyed our stay, as well as the Original Fish Market Restaurant located inside. Would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Look for other parking if you have the time/energy. Otherwise it is $20 a day under the hotel.

Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Nov 22, 2009

Elegant

We were in town for our anniversary, so we wanted something quiet and relaxing. The room was very nice and clean, exactly as pictured and we felt very comfortable. We had a great view of the city. We did have a couple of issues, mainly out of control of the hotel. Our neighbors were quite noisy, waking us up around 2-3am, but thankfully it didn't last for long. Secondly, the parking is an issue if you don't prepare for it. There is a garage below the hotel, but it's separate from the hotel. 24 hr parking for $20! They do have less rates for less than 24 hr, but for 2hr, it's $8.00 and goes up. You can valet your car for $22. If you are visiting different parts of the city, you can take a cab if you don't want to drive. Also, the 24/7 free shuttle service was also not available that evening. The parking was definitely something I did not expect, but overall we really enjoyed our stay. Just plan on spending at least $40 in parking (valet tipping/cab/parking lot rates/etc) every day you are there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelling Tyler
Business
Buffalo, NY
Nov 28, 2009

First-Class.... some negatives though

I stayed overnight on a weekend trip to Pittsburgh. It was a great room, spotlessly clean with an incredible view of the city's skyline and hills beyond. The bed was quite comfy and the bathroom was just right. On the negative side, a bunch of kids' hockey teams were staying at the hotel and instead of being in their rooms with their parents, were running around the halls of the hotel late at night and early in the morning. Walls were thin so I could hear every time the cleaning lady put the vacuum on. Also, parking was ridiculous. Twenty a day to park in a lot on a SATURDAY. Lack of off-street or on-street parking force guests to overpay for a ramp under the hotel. Almost eight bucks for a jack-and-coke at the hotel's bar. I would recommend this to families or football fans that need a place close to the stadiums/arena. For couples vacationing, I would suggest someplace near Squirrel Hill or Oakland-area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the baseball and football stadiums. Slightly longer for the hockey arena.

Back to menu Return to top