$172 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 11, 2014 Check-out: Jul 13, 2014

The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

4 stars
1000 Penn Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15222
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
66 reviews
luke bryan

Perfect!!! Loved it and was so nice! Would stay again See full review

  • kris6555
  • Jun 23, 2014
Baseball week-end

The Westin proved exceptionally clean and convenient for our week-end to catch the Pirates play at... See full review

  • old pirate fan
  • Sep 3, 2013
Sleek hotel where every room has a view of downtown Pittsburgh

No hotel offers easier access to the David L. Lawrence Convention Center than the Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh -- thanks to a skywalk that connects the two buildings. The hotel also has an impressive amount of meeting space of its own, and all rooms feature plush Westin Heavenly Beds. Guests who need to get to downtown destinations can catch a ride in the complimentary shuttle.

Highlights
  • Complimentary shuttle to downtown business and cultural destinations
  • Free Wi-Fi access
  • Connected to David L. Lawrence Convention Center
  • 8,000-square-foot fitness center
Rooms

All 616 rooms feature the Westin Heavenly Bed, a specially designed, 13-inch Simmons mattress with pillow top and motion-sensitive construction to minimize movement when one partner rolls over. The in-room coffeemaker comes with Starbucks coffee. Westin Workout Rooms are special guest room with private workout equipment. These larger rooms include either a Tomahawk stationery bicycle or LifeFitness treadmill.

Features

For travelers doing business at the David L. Lawrence Convention Center, no other hotel offers the convenience of the Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh -- the two buildings are connected by a skywalk. Visitors doing business elsewhere in Pittsburgh can get to and from their meetings via a complimentary downtown shuttle.

 

The hotel is smoke free and offers free Wi-Fi in public spaces and guest rooms. The fitness center offers 8,000 square feet of workout space with Nautilus equipment and an indoor pool. Runners can hop on a treadmills or consult with the running concierge for a map of Pittsburgh outdoor running routes. Special Westin Workout Room guest rooms come with in-room exercise equipment.

 

Guests have multiple dining options including Penn City Grille and Panini and Pizza. Seafood lovers will enjoy the Original Fish Market, which serves lunch and dinner, and is highly regarded for its sushi and oysters.

Transportation
  • Complimentary shuttle to downtown destinations Monday through Friday
  • Pittsburgh Amtrak Station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Allegheny County Airport (13 mi/21 km)
  • Pittsburgh International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
Nearby attractions
  • David L. Lawrence Convention Center (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • The Strip (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • PNC Park, home to the Pittsburgh Pirates (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
Business
  • Connects by skywalk to adjacent David L. Lawrence Convention Center
  • 23 meeting rooms
  • 34,000 square feet of meeting space

The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh Rooms

Tradtional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Sauna
Steam bath
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.4445 -79.9956
Nearby airports
Pittsburgh International Airport, (PIT), 18.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Mellon Arena: 0.3 mi
  • Consol Energy Center: 0.5 mi
  • PNC Park: 0.5 mi
  • Heinz Field: 1.1 mi
  • Petersen Events Center: 1.8 mi
  • Langley Gymnasium: 2,144.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (66)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr. Clair Duke
Marion NY
Jul 11, 2012

Baseball weekend.....

My son and I stayed in the Westin Convention Center....The staff was great.When we arrived at noon our room was ready for us to check in.The room was spotless.Everything about the room was perfect....I can't say enough good things.The location was even better.We could walk to the game,it was a nice area so we got to take in some nice places.We hope to return for more games in the future and this hotel will surely get our business.......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cranberry, PA
Jan 10, 2010

Very Loud, Not restful and Unclean

The housekeeping staff were very loud while cleaning and began at 8 am...they also knocked at our door at 8:15 am and for the next 3 hours were extremely loud. It was as if our door was open the entire time. There was hair in the bathroom (not ours!) and the bed sheets were dirty!! Needless to say we were exhausted and had only slept 5 hours due to noise level. We had also called prior to our arrival and the staff did not know anything about their parking. We had asked if it was underground and they had said they imagined it was covered!?! Ends up there was undergroung parking with direct elevator access into the hotel, however it would have been helpful to know that in advance due to weather.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Marriott less than a block away...great food. We had lunch there the next day and will be staying there next time!

Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsburgh, PA
May 6, 2010

Nice hotel, very poor customer relations

I've been staying at this hotel since it was first established as the Vista probably 25 years ago. And through all the different hotels that have been at this location (Omni/Doubletree/Westin), I can say I've never had a bad experience here, until this last time. The room wasn't as clean as I'd like, or that I'm used to at this hotel, but it wasn't that big of a deal. The real problem was with the staff and their inability to either inform me of the impending noise come 7:30am on Saturday morning, or to take some sort of empathy to what was occuring. When I arrived asked the person at check-in how late I could stay in the room because I was not going to be getting to sleep until 4am or so. She told me checkout is at Noon. Indeed, I did not get back to hotel room until 4am and went to sleep. 3 and a half hours later, at 7:30am, horns began blaring and a person on a PA system began shouting at a crowd. I wasn't sure how long this would last, so I waited about an hour. When it continued I went down to the front desk to inquire. The woman there told me the Pittsburgh Marathon was on Sunday and this was some pre-race preparations of some sort. I asked how long it would go on and she said into the afternoon. When I asked for a discount on the room, she told me it was not a hotel event and there was nothing she could do. I told her there was, she could discount the room. She said she could not do that. I asked to speak with a manager. She said she was the manager. I asked again for a discount on the room since I paid over $200 for a room and I was not getting a quiet room in which to rest. Not only did she flatly refuse, she acted like I had no right to ask such a thing. She never apologized or showed any caring for my situation. She said I should have read the email they sent out about upcoming events around the hotel. This was a lie as I never received an email. She seemed irritated that I was bothering her. Some little gesture of caring would have been fine. How a hotel can employ someone with so little regard for their paying guests is beyond me. I will not ever go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sonoma Grill has good food, wine and beer.

Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsburgh, PA
May 6, 2010

Nice hotel, very poor customer relations

I've been staying at this hotel since it was first established as the Vista probably 25 years ago. And through all the different hotels that have been at this location (Omni/Doubletree/Westin), I can say I've never had a bad experience here, until this last time. The room wasn't as clean as I'd like, or that I'm used to at this hotel, but it wasn't that big of a deal. The real problem was with the staff and their inability to either inform me of the impending noise come 7:30am on Saturday morning, or to take some sort of empathy to what was occuring. When I arrived asked the person at check-in how late I could stay in the room because I was not going to be getting to sleep until 4am or so. She told me checkout is at Noon. Indeed, I did not get back to hotel room until 4am and went to sleep. 3 and a half hours later, at 7:30am, horns began blaring and a person on a PA system began shouting at a crowd. I wasn't sure how long this would last, so I waited about an hour. When it continued I went down to the front desk to inquire. The woman there told me the Pittsburgh Marathon was on Sunday and this was some pre-race preparations of some sort. I asked how long it would go on and she said into the afternoon. When I asked for a discount on the room, she told me it was not a hotel event and there was nothing she could do. I told her there was, she could discount the room. She said she could not do that. I asked to speak with a manager. She said she was the manager. I asked again for a discount on the room since I paid over $200 for a room and I was not getting a quiet room in which to rest. Not only did she flatly refuse, she acted like I had no right to ask such a thing. She never apologized or showed any caring for my situation. She said I should have read the email they sent out about upcoming events around the hotel. This was a lie as I never received an email. She seemed irritated that I was bothering her. Some little gesture of caring would have been fine. How a hotel can employ someone with so little regard for their paying guests is beyond me. I will not ever go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sonoma Grill has good food, wine and beer.

Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 10, 2007

My review of The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh

I was somewhat dissatisfied with my room in this hotel. One thing I think I can say is that there was blood on the wall outside of the bathroom which I found to be very offending. The room also smelled of smoke when it was to be a smoke free room. For the price I had to pay because all other area hotels were booked, I was very unhappy with the value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Albany, OH
Jul 30, 2008

For a Westin propoerty ...

For a Westin propoerty this did not feel any better than a lower-star option. Rooms were very basic and felt tired. The staff appeared to be doing the least to keep their commitments to their customers; not particularly welcoming although it would be hard to characterize them as unfriendly. More expected from Westin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 10, 2007

My review of The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh

I was somewhat dissatisfied with my room in this hotel. One thing I think I can say is that there was blood on the wall outside of the bathroom which I found to be very offending. The room also smelled of smoke when it was to be a smoke free room. For the price I had to pay because all other area hotels were booked, I was very unhappy with the value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Albany, OH
Jul 30, 2008

For a Westin propoerty ...

For a Westin propoerty this did not feel any better than a lower-star option. Rooms were very basic and felt tired. The staff appeared to be doing the least to keep their commitments to their customers; not particularly welcoming although it would be hard to characterize them as unfriendly. More expected from Westin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami, FL
Jul 12, 2010

Westin

The hotel is nice, service is great. But no free wireless internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JNNP
Ann Arbor, MI
Sep 23, 2013

solid choice in Pittsburgh

Perfectly fine, clean room, good location in downtown Pittsburgh, friendly staff. Certainly the cost is a price-gauge on a big sports weekend but that's supply and demand. One complaint is not enough elevators - very hard to get downstairs at busy times and had to walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami, Florida
Jul 17, 2010

Westin Convention Center

The hotel is great! Its is perfectly located in the downtown. The restaurant downstairs was amazing!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Fresh Market Restaurant Amazing Lobster Pasta.

Back to menu Return to top