$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 31, 2015 Check-out: Feb 1, 2015

The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

4 stars
1000 Penn Avenue, 1000 Penn Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15222
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
43 reviews
great night out

Staff was so great hotel was awesome had a great view from our room the shower and bed was great... See full review

  • Shawn C.
  • Jan 5, 2015
luke bryan

Perfect!!! Loved it and was so nice! Would stay again See full review

  • kris6555
  • Jun 23, 2014
Sleek hotel where every room has a view of downtown Pittsburgh

No hotel offers easier access to the David L. Lawrence Convention Center than the Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh -- thanks to a skywalk that connects the two buildings. The hotel also has an impressive amount of meeting space of its own, and all rooms feature plush Westin Heavenly Beds. Guests who need to get to downtown destinations can catch a ride in the complimentary shuttle.

Highlights
  • Complimentary shuttle to downtown business and cultural destinations
  • Free Wi-Fi access
  • Connected to David L. Lawrence Convention Center
  • 8,000-square-foot fitness center
Rooms

All 616 rooms feature the Westin Heavenly Bed, a specially designed, 13-inch Simmons mattress with pillow top and motion-sensitive construction to minimize movement when one partner rolls over. The in-room coffeemaker comes with Starbucks coffee. Westin Workout Rooms are special guest room with private workout equipment. These larger rooms include either a Tomahawk stationery bicycle or LifeFitness treadmill.

Features

For travelers doing business at the David L. Lawrence Convention Center, no other hotel offers the convenience of the Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh -- the two buildings are connected by a skywalk. Visitors doing business elsewhere in Pittsburgh can get to and from their meetings via a complimentary downtown shuttle.

 

The hotel is smoke free and offers free Wi-Fi in public spaces and guest rooms. The fitness center offers 8,000 square feet of workout space with Nautilus equipment and an indoor pool. Runners can hop on a treadmills or consult with the running concierge for a map of Pittsburgh outdoor running routes. Special Westin Workout Room guest rooms come with in-room exercise equipment.

 

Guests have multiple dining options including Penn City Grille and Panini and Pizza. Seafood lovers will enjoy the Original Fish Market, which serves lunch and dinner, and is highly regarded for its sushi and oysters.

Transportation
  • Complimentary shuttle to downtown destinations Monday through Friday
  • Pittsburgh Amtrak Station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Allegheny County Airport (13 mi/21 km)
  • Pittsburgh International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
Nearby attractions
  • David L. Lawrence Convention Center (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • The Strip (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • PNC Park, home to the Pittsburgh Pirates (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
Business
  • Connects by skywalk to adjacent David L. Lawrence Convention Center
  • 23 meeting rooms
  • 34,000 square feet of meeting space

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Steam bath
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Doorman
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Brailled elevators
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Mellon Arena: 0.3 mi
  • Consol Energy Center: 0.5 mi
  • PNC Park: 0.5 mi
  • Heinz Field: 1.1 mi
  • Petersen Events Center: 1.8 mi
  • Langley Gymnasium: 2,144.8 mi

Dining

Penn City Grille
Penn City Grille features revitalizing dishes made from healthy ingredients rich in nutrients, antioxidants and appetizing flavors, to start your day feeling excellent.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (43)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 43
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 12, 2007

Friendly

Room was comfortable and within walking distance to local attractions. The food was excellent and prices were well within the prices for that area. Portions were not over whelming but filling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Two large Pittsburgh parks across Clemente bridge as well as some excellent dining within 5minutes driving distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
trk in nyc
Business
nyc
Aug 27, 2011

ok for pittsburgh

i would have enjoyed a more cordial welcome...room was drab

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

gym was ok

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisville, KY
Jul 27, 2009

Absolutely splendid!

Wonderful! The linens were soft and fresh, the room smelled clean and we had a perfect view of the city! They accomodated our request to stay on the top floor, which was amazing. We were within walking distance of Station Square, The Strip District and the original Primanti Brothers restaurant. If the room would have had a fridge, I would have zero complaints!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Take a walk (about 2 miles) or have your hotel shuttle you to Station Square -- restaurants, shopping, entertainment... not to mention a beautiful boardwalk to take pictures of yourself and scenery!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Davia
Business
Williamsport, PA
Apr 25, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

We were in Pittsburgh to attend a show at the Console Center. The hotel was within walking distance which was very convenient. No complaints about the hotel. Staff was attentive and very friendly. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

August Henry's Restaurnant arond the corner on Penn Ave. was excellent! Shopping on the Strip is also a lot of fun. Pittsburgh is a wonderful, clean, friendly city!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, ga
Jan 9, 2011

Lovely city stay

The hotel is in a perfect location. Plenty of good restaurants and bars to walk to. Plus we were going to a game at the Consol which was only a ten minute walk from the hotel. The bed is very nice and comfortable as well and the conservatively decorated rooms were a pleasure to stay in. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sharp Edge. Amazing Belgium bar.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Nov 22, 2009

Elegant

We were in town for our anniversary, so we wanted something quiet and relaxing. The room was very nice and clean, exactly as pictured and we felt very comfortable. We had a great view of the city. We did have a couple of issues, mainly out of control of the hotel. Our neighbors were quite noisy, waking us up around 2-3am, but thankfully it didn't last for long. Secondly, the parking is an issue if you don't prepare for it. There is a garage below the hotel, but it's separate from the hotel. 24 hr parking for $20! They do have less rates for less than 24 hr, but for 2hr, it's $8.00 and goes up. You can valet your car for $22. If you are visiting different parts of the city, you can take a cab if you don't want to drive. Also, the 24/7 free shuttle service was also not available that evening. The parking was definitely something I did not expect, but overall we really enjoyed our stay. Just plan on spending at least $40 in parking (valet tipping/cab/parking lot rates/etc) every day you are there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelling Tyler
Business
Buffalo, NY
Nov 28, 2009

First-Class.... some negatives though

I stayed overnight on a weekend trip to Pittsburgh. It was a great room, spotlessly clean with an incredible view of the city's skyline and hills beyond. The bed was quite comfy and the bathroom was just right. On the negative side, a bunch of kids' hockey teams were staying at the hotel and instead of being in their rooms with their parents, were running around the halls of the hotel late at night and early in the morning. Walls were thin so I could hear every time the cleaning lady put the vacuum on. Also, parking was ridiculous. Twenty a day to park in a lot on a SATURDAY. Lack of off-street or on-street parking force guests to overpay for a ramp under the hotel. Almost eight bucks for a jack-and-coke at the hotel's bar. I would recommend this to families or football fans that need a place close to the stadiums/arena. For couples vacationing, I would suggest someplace near Squirrel Hill or Oakland-area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the baseball and football stadiums. Slightly longer for the hockey arena.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Beach Florida
Dec 8, 2010

Very fine hotel

The stay was very professional and aside from the bone-chilling cold weather, my staff was fine. Good location and up to date technical facility.How do I get a copy of the hotel bill? They did not give me one when I checked out saying that it's billed to [...]....not sure I understood that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Food in the hotel was great and equally great restaurants within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, NY
Mar 7, 2011

very good

We went to the Benedum Center. The hotel service was very good and the hotel room was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sara lab tech
Business
Johnstown,PA
Jun 23, 2014

Concert

Very nice, convenient location. Clean, friendly workers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to many attractions

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top