$172 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

4 stars
View map of 1000 Penn Avenue, 1000 Penn Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15222

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
42 reviews
great night out

Staff was so great hotel was awesome had a great view from our room the shower and bed was great... See full review

  • Shawn C.
  • Jan 5, 2015
luke bryan

Perfect!!! Loved it and was so nice! Would stay again See full review

  • kris6555
  • Jun 23, 2014

No hotel offers easier access to the David L. Lawrence Convention Center than the Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh -- thanks to a skywalk that connects the two buildings. The hotel also has an impressive amount of meeting space of its own, and all rooms feature plush Westin Heavenly Beds. Guests who need to get to downtown destinations can catch a ride in the complimentary shuttle.

Rooms

All 616 rooms feature the Westin Heavenly Bed, a specially designed, 13-inch Simmons mattress with pillow top and motion-sensitive construction to minimize movement when one partner rolls over. The in-room coffeemaker comes with Starbucks coffee. Westin Workout Rooms are special guest room with private workout equipment. These larger rooms include either a Tomahawk stationery bicycle or LifeFitness treadmill.

Property features

For travelers doing business at the David L. Lawrence Convention Center, no other hotel offers the convenience of the Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh -- the two buildings are connected by a skywalk. Visitors doing business elsewhere in Pittsburgh can get to and from their meetings via a complimentary downtown shuttle.

 

The hotel is smoke free and offers free Wi-Fi in public spaces and guest rooms. The fitness center offers 8,000 square feet of workout space with Nautilus equipment and an indoor pool. Runners can hop on a treadmills or consult with the running concierge for a map of Pittsburgh outdoor running routes. Special Westin Workout Room guest rooms come with in-room exercise equipment.

 

Diners at The Westin Convention Center can relish delicious culinary specialties at Pen City Grille and Bill's Bar & Burger. 

Highlights
  • Complimentary shuttle to downtown business and cultural destinations
  • Free Wi-Fi access
  • Connected to David L. Lawrence Convention Center
  • 8,000-square-foot fitness center
Nearby attractions
  • David L. Lawrence Convention Center (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • The Strip (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • PNC Park, home to the Pittsburgh Pirates (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
Business
  • Connects by skywalk to adjacent David L. Lawrence Convention Center
  • 23 meeting rooms
  • 34,000 square feet of meeting space
Transportation
  • Complimentary shuttle to downtown destinations Monday through Friday
  • Pittsburgh Amtrak Station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Allegheny County Airport (13 mi/21 km)
  • Pittsburgh International Airport (18 mi/29 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh also booked these hotels.

★★★
$138
3.7 / 5 189 reviews
★★★★★
$193
4.7 / 5 41 reviews
★★★
$189
4.3 / 5 40 reviews
★★★
$196
3.9 / 5 57 reviews
★★★
$147
3.7 / 5 121 reviews
★★★
$177
4.3 / 5 29 reviews

The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Steam bath
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Doorman
Currency exchange
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Brailled elevators
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Mellon Arena: 0.3 mi
  • Consol Energy Center: 0.5 mi
  • PNC Park: 0.5 mi
  • Heinz Field: 1.1 mi
  • Petersen Events Center: 1.8 mi
  • Langley Gymnasium: 2,144.8 mi

Dining

Penn City Grille
Penn City Grille features revitalizing dishes made from healthy ingredients that are rich in nutrients, antioxidants, and appetizing flavors, to help you start your day feeling excellent.
Bill's Bar & Burger
Known for its mouthwatering, classic burgers and comfort foods, Bill’s Bar & Burger began in New York in 2009. Locals, convention attendees, and families alike will appreciate this low-key destination with a casual ambience.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Pittsburgh, PA
May 6, 2010

Nice hotel, very poor customer relations

I've been staying at this hotel since it was first established as the Vista probably 25 years ago. And through all the different hotels that have been at this location (Omni/Doubletree/Westin), I can say I've never had a bad experience here, until this last time. The room wasn't as clean as I'd like, or that I'm used to at this hotel, but it wasn't that big of a deal. The real problem was with the staff and their inability to either inform me of the impending noise come 7:30am on Saturday morning, or to take some sort of empathy to what was occuring. When I arrived asked the person at check-in how late I could stay in the room because I was not going to be getting to sleep until 4am or so. She told me checkout is at Noon. Indeed, I did not get back to hotel room until 4am and went to sleep. 3 and a half hours later, at 7:30am, horns began blaring and a person on a PA system began shouting at a crowd. I wasn't sure how long this would last, so I waited about an hour. When it continued I went down to the front desk to inquire. The woman there told me the Pittsburgh Marathon was on Sunday and this was some pre-race preparations of some sort. I asked how long it would go on and she said into the afternoon. When I asked for a discount on the room, she told me it was not a hotel event and there was nothing she could do. I told her there was, she could discount the room. She said she could not do that. I asked to speak with a manager. She said she was the manager. I asked again for a discount on the room since I paid over $200 for a room and I was not getting a quiet room in which to rest. Not only did she flatly refuse, she acted like I had no right to ask such a thing. She never apologized or showed any caring for my situation. She said I should have read the email they sent out about upcoming events around the hotel. This was a lie as I never received an email. She seemed irritated that I was bothering her. Some little gesture of caring would have been fine. How a hotel can employ someone with so little regard for their paying guests is beyond me. I will not ever go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sonoma Grill has good food, wine and beer.

Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Albany, OH
Jul 30, 2008

For a Westin propoerty ...

For a Westin propoerty this did not feel any better than a lower-star option. Rooms were very basic and felt tired. The staff appeared to be doing the least to keep their commitments to their customers; not particularly welcoming although it would be hard to characterize them as unfriendly. More expected from Westin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Jun 10, 2007

My review of The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh

I was somewhat dissatisfied with my room in this hotel. One thing I think I can say is that there was blood on the wall outside of the bathroom which I found to be very offending. The room also smelled of smoke when it was to be a smoke free room. For the price I had to pay because all other area hotels were booked, I was very unhappy with the value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brian G.
Couples
Altoona, PA
Nov 20, 2011

Weekend Getway

Stayed for a weekend getway. Parking under the hotel is not included in on the price of the hotel. For the price, not that great. Stay at any other chain hotels (Comfort Inn, Holiday Inn) with the same ammenities for a much better value. Nothing special here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sightsee-er
Couples
NY
Jul 7, 2012

Ok, not what I expected

For the price, I was expecting a lot more. The location is great if you are on business or in town to see a ball game. It is a short walk to PNC park and Heinz Field. One slightly annoying feature is that you must use your room key to turn on the lights...which is fine until your husband leaves the room with the key while you are in the bathroom. Rooms are clean and relatively comfortable but I wouldn't call this a "good value." Parking is not included but there is a self park lot under the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Check out the Carnegie Science Center across from Heinz Field. Definitely a must see!

Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Asax
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 13, 2012

Nice but not spectacular

The Westin is in a great location and looks really nice. But overall it was a little blah. The other thing that was annoying was that the room was about 86 degrees when I walked into it. That's right 86! It was like a sauna! Other than that, it was okay. It would have been nice to have free wi-fi, but for one night it was good enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JNNP
Friends
Ann Arbor, MI
Sep 23, 2013

solid choice in Pittsburgh

Perfectly fine, clean room, good location in downtown Pittsburgh, friendly staff. Certainly the cost is a price-gauge on a big sports weekend but that's supply and demand. One complaint is not enough elevators - very hard to get downstairs at busy times and had to walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Miami, Florida
Jul 17, 2010

Westin Convention Center

The hotel is great! Its is perfectly located in the downtown. The restaurant downstairs was amazing!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: In Hotel

Fresh Market Restaurant Amazing Lobster Pasta.

Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Miami, FL
Jul 12, 2010

Westin

The hotel is nice, service is great. But no free wireless internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Chicago, IL.
Jul 11, 2010

Westin Pburgh

No turndown. Internet connection basically useless. Helpful valet staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sonoma Grill. Fantastic food.

Back to menu Return to top