$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 19, 2014 Check-out: Sep 20, 2014

The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

4 stars
1000 Penn Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15222
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
42 reviews
luke bryan

Perfect!!! Loved it and was so nice! Would stay again See full review

  • kris6555
  • Jun 23, 2014
Baseball week-end

The Westin proved exceptionally clean and convenient for our week-end to catch the Pirates play at... See full review

  • old pirate fan
  • Sep 3, 2013
Sleek hotel where every room has a view of downtown Pittsburgh

No hotel offers easier access to the David L. Lawrence Convention Center than the Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh -- thanks to a skywalk that connects the two buildings. The hotel also has an impressive amount of meeting space of its own, and all rooms feature plush Westin Heavenly Beds. Guests who need to get to downtown destinations can catch a ride in the complimentary shuttle.

Highlights
  • Complimentary shuttle to downtown business and cultural destinations
  • Free Wi-Fi access
  • Connected to David L. Lawrence Convention Center
  • 8,000-square-foot fitness center
Rooms

All 616 rooms feature the Westin Heavenly Bed, a specially designed, 13-inch Simmons mattress with pillow top and motion-sensitive construction to minimize movement when one partner rolls over. The in-room coffeemaker comes with Starbucks coffee. Westin Workout Rooms are special guest room with private workout equipment. These larger rooms include either a Tomahawk stationery bicycle or LifeFitness treadmill.

Features

For travelers doing business at the David L. Lawrence Convention Center, no other hotel offers the convenience of the Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh -- the two buildings are connected by a skywalk. Visitors doing business elsewhere in Pittsburgh can get to and from their meetings via a complimentary downtown shuttle.

 

The hotel is smoke free and offers free Wi-Fi in public spaces and guest rooms. The fitness center offers 8,000 square feet of workout space with Nautilus equipment and an indoor pool. Runners can hop on a treadmills or consult with the running concierge for a map of Pittsburgh outdoor running routes. Special Westin Workout Room guest rooms come with in-room exercise equipment.

 

Guests have multiple dining options including Penn City Grille and Panini and Pizza. Seafood lovers will enjoy the Original Fish Market, which serves lunch and dinner, and is highly regarded for its sushi and oysters.

Transportation
  • Complimentary shuttle to downtown destinations Monday through Friday
  • Pittsburgh Amtrak Station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Allegheny County Airport (13 mi/21 km)
  • Pittsburgh International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
Nearby attractions
  • David L. Lawrence Convention Center (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • The Strip (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • PNC Park, home to the Pittsburgh Pirates (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
Business
  • Connects by skywalk to adjacent David L. Lawrence Convention Center
  • 23 meeting rooms
  • 34,000 square feet of meeting space

Hotel Map

40.4445 -79.9956
Nearby airports
Pittsburgh International Airport, (PIT), 18.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh Rooms

Tradtional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Sauna
Steam bath
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Mellon Arena: 0.3 mi
  • Consol Energy Center: 0.5 mi
  • PNC Park: 0.5 mi
  • Heinz Field: 1.1 mi
  • Petersen Events Center: 1.8 mi
  • Langley Gymnasium: 2,144.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (42)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cranberry, PA
Jan 10, 2010

Very Loud, Not restful and Unclean

The housekeeping staff were very loud while cleaning and began at 8 am...they also knocked at our door at 8:15 am and for the next 3 hours were extremely loud. It was as if our door was open the entire time. There was hair in the bathroom (not ours!) and the bed sheets were dirty!! Needless to say we were exhausted and had only slept 5 hours due to noise level. We had also called prior to our arrival and the staff did not know anything about their parking. We had asked if it was underground and they had said they imagined it was covered!?! Ends up there was undergroung parking with direct elevator access into the hotel, however it would have been helpful to know that in advance due to weather.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Marriott less than a block away...great food. We had lunch there the next day and will be staying there next time!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelling Tyler
Buffalo, NY
Nov 28, 2009

First-Class.... some negatives though

I stayed overnight on a weekend trip to Pittsburgh. It was a great room, spotlessly clean with an incredible view of the city's skyline and hills beyond. The bed was quite comfy and the bathroom was just right. On the negative side, a bunch of kids' hockey teams were staying at the hotel and instead of being in their rooms with their parents, were running around the halls of the hotel late at night and early in the morning. Walls were thin so I could hear every time the cleaning lady put the vacuum on. Also, parking was ridiculous. Twenty a day to park in a lot on a SATURDAY. Lack of off-street or on-street parking force guests to overpay for a ramp under the hotel. Almost eight bucks for a jack-and-coke at the hotel's bar. I would recommend this to families or football fans that need a place close to the stadiums/arena. For couples vacationing, I would suggest someplace near Squirrel Hill or Oakland-area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the baseball and football stadiums. Slightly longer for the hockey arena.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ohio
Nov 22, 2009

Elegant

We were in town for our anniversary, so we wanted something quiet and relaxing. The room was very nice and clean, exactly as pictured and we felt very comfortable. We had a great view of the city. We did have a couple of issues, mainly out of control of the hotel. Our neighbors were quite noisy, waking us up around 2-3am, but thankfully it didn't last for long. Secondly, the parking is an issue if you don't prepare for it. There is a garage below the hotel, but it's separate from the hotel. 24 hr parking for $20! They do have less rates for less than 24 hr, but for 2hr, it's $8.00 and goes up. You can valet your car for $22. If you are visiting different parts of the city, you can take a cab if you don't want to drive. Also, the 24/7 free shuttle service was also not available that evening. The parking was definitely something I did not expect, but overall we really enjoyed our stay. Just plan on spending at least $40 in parking (valet tipping/cab/parking lot rates/etc) every day you are there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orange County, CA
Oct 7, 2009

Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Stayed here for the Steelers/Chargers Sunday Night Football game. This is the second time I've stayed here and have enjoyed both experiences. The front desk is always super friendly and helpful and you have to love it when workers have fan apparel on. Rooms are always nice and spacious, very clean. The door doesn't seem to block out noise very well, but that's probably to be expected from any door really. Love the showers they have here with the dual shower heads (one positioned above the other), makes taking a shower very enjoyable. Location is a little bit off the way from the heart of downtown, but easy short walk to anywhere, including the Strip District.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Hyde Park next to PNC Park offers great steaks at great prices ($39 for 22oz ribeye!)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Buffalo, NY
Oct 6, 2009

Wonderful Birthday Getaway!

This was our 2nd time at this hotel. We came back because of the positive experience. We walked to and from Heinz Field for a Steelers game. Perfect location and super staff. We'll be back again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Louisville, KY
Jul 27, 2009

Absolutely splendid!

Wonderful! The linens were soft and fresh, the room smelled clean and we had a perfect view of the city! They accomodated our request to stay on the top floor, which was amazing. We were within walking distance of Station Square, The Strip District and the original Primanti Brothers restaurant. If the room would have had a fridge, I would have zero complaints!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Take a walk (about 2 miles) or have your hotel shuttle you to Station Square -- restaurants, shopping, entertainment... not to mention a beautiful boardwalk to take pictures of yourself and scenery!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Dec 8, 2008

good location

only problem was no hot water in the morning other then that wasvery pleased

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

great place to stay if attending a steeler game!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Albany, OH
Jul 30, 2008

For a Westin propoerty ...

For a Westin propoerty this did not feel any better than a lower-star option. Rooms were very basic and felt tired. The staff appeared to be doing the least to keep their commitments to their customers; not particularly welcoming although it would be hard to characterize them as unfriendly. More expected from Westin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Durham/Raleigh, NC
Sep 24, 2007

great loc. to everything.

love loc. of hotel, shuttle service exspecually employee driver was a very pleasant person and very freindly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

great nightlife within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 23, 2007

Great

The Westin Convention Center offered us conveniance to our destination, very nice amenities, fine dining and great service. I was most impressed with the total overall atmosphere of this stay and will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

41st Restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search