$172 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

4 stars
View map of 1000 Penn Avenue, 1000 Penn Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15222

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Chiltons
Couples
Virginia
Jan 13, 2010

Fabulous Hotel, Great Location

This particular Westin is amazing. The rooms were spacious and well decorated. The bedding-amazing and the mattresses SO COMFORTABLE. We spent New Years Eve at this location. Within walking distance to just about everything. If you don't want to walt the hotel offers shuttle service to Station Square and other locations. The hotels restaurant "The Original Fish Market"....was supurb! Great food, atmosphere. We will indeed be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The Rivers Casino offers shuttle pickup and return to the Westin. In addition the hotel itself offers complimentary shuttle service to Station Square which is great for nightlife,dancing,dining and shopping.

Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelling Tyler
Couples
Buffalo, NY
Nov 28, 2009

First-Class.... some negatives though

I stayed overnight on a weekend trip to Pittsburgh. It was a great room, spotlessly clean with an incredible view of the city's skyline and hills beyond. The bed was quite comfy and the bathroom was just right. On the negative side, a bunch of kids' hockey teams were staying at the hotel and instead of being in their rooms with their parents, were running around the halls of the hotel late at night and early in the morning. Walls were thin so I could hear every time the cleaning lady put the vacuum on. Also, parking was ridiculous. Twenty a day to park in a lot on a SATURDAY. Lack of off-street or on-street parking force guests to overpay for a ramp under the hotel. Almost eight bucks for a jack-and-coke at the hotel's bar. I would recommend this to families or football fans that need a place close to the stadiums/arena. For couples vacationing, I would suggest someplace near Squirrel Hill or Oakland-area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the baseball and football stadiums. Slightly longer for the hockey arena.

Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Ohio
Nov 22, 2009

Elegant

We were in town for our anniversary, so we wanted something quiet and relaxing. The room was very nice and clean, exactly as pictured and we felt very comfortable. We had a great view of the city. We did have a couple of issues, mainly out of control of the hotel. Our neighbors were quite noisy, waking us up around 2-3am, but thankfully it didn't last for long. Secondly, the parking is an issue if you don't prepare for it. There is a garage below the hotel, but it's separate from the hotel. 24 hr parking for $20! They do have less rates for less than 24 hr, but for 2hr, it's $8.00 and goes up. You can valet your car for $22. If you are visiting different parts of the city, you can take a cab if you don't want to drive. Also, the 24/7 free shuttle service was also not available that evening. The parking was definitely something I did not expect, but overall we really enjoyed our stay. Just plan on spending at least $40 in parking (valet tipping/cab/parking lot rates/etc) every day you are there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Orange County, CA
Oct 7, 2009

Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Stayed here for the Steelers/Chargers Sunday Night Football game. This is the second time I've stayed here and have enjoyed both experiences. The front desk is always super friendly and helpful and you have to love it when workers have fan apparel on. Rooms are always nice and spacious, very clean. The door doesn't seem to block out noise very well, but that's probably to be expected from any door really. Love the showers they have here with the dual shower heads (one positioned above the other), makes taking a shower very enjoyable. Location is a little bit off the way from the heart of downtown, but easy short walk to anywhere, including the Strip District.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Hyde Park next to PNC Park offers great steaks at great prices ($39 for 22oz ribeye!)

Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Buffalo, NY
Oct 6, 2009

Wonderful Birthday Getaway!

This was our 2nd time at this hotel. We came back because of the positive experience. We walked to and from Heinz Field for a Steelers game. Perfect location and super staff. We'll be back again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Louisville, KY
Jul 27, 2009

Absolutely splendid!

Wonderful! The linens were soft and fresh, the room smelled clean and we had a perfect view of the city! They accomodated our request to stay on the top floor, which was amazing. We were within walking distance of Station Square, The Strip District and the original Primanti Brothers restaurant. If the room would have had a fridge, I would have zero complaints!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Take a walk (about 2 miles) or have your hotel shuttle you to Station Square -- restaurants, shopping, entertainment... not to mention a beautiful boardwalk to take pictures of yourself and scenery!

Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Dec 8, 2008

good location

only problem was no hot water in the morning other then that wasvery pleased

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

great place to stay if attending a steeler game!

Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Albany, OH
Jul 30, 2008

For a Westin propoerty ...

For a Westin propoerty this did not feel any better than a lower-star option. Rooms were very basic and felt tired. The staff appeared to be doing the least to keep their commitments to their customers; not particularly welcoming although it would be hard to characterize them as unfriendly. More expected from Westin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Durham/Raleigh, NC
Sep 24, 2007

great loc. to everything.

love loc. of hotel, shuttle service exspecually employee driver was a very pleasant person and very freindly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

great nightlife within walking distance.

Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
USA
Sep 23, 2007

Great

The Westin Convention Center offered us conveniance to our destination, very nice amenities, fine dining and great service. I was most impressed with the total overall atmosphere of this stay and will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

41st Restaurant

Back to menu Return to top